We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshares for rent....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Save Saved
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harborside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Uxbridge, Massachusetts,USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Timeshares for rent....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A timeshare property owned and managed by the owners, the Harborside is a fun and unique place. The setting is fabulous, right on the harbor(boat slips possible), and in the middle of Edgartown. The rooms are small, recently renovated, with little but modern bathrooms, but the property is spacious for being in the middle of town. There is a building with multiple kitchens for you to prepare your own meals.There is a dining room with a water view. There is a pool area with a heated pool, a grilling area with outside seating. I have stayed here twice and enjoyed it both times.

Room Tip: There are motel-like rooms, and rooms in the old sea captain houses. Some have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
YORK PA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We exchanged a 2-bedroom Marriott condo for a room with a very small bathroom. The worst part was it faced a narrow street which had a Pub short steps from our bedroom window. Smokers gathered outside the entrance and each evening the music seemed to get louder.
If you stay in Captains Abel or Prada rooms, facing the street, just know it will be noisy.

The room was recently renovated and the furnishings were fine but the room is small and the bathroom, while it had a nice shower, was hard to move around in. We did a lot of improvising. They have a large common area with tables and lots of kitchen facilities e.g. many refrigerators, stoves, all utensils, etc. You can certainly cook a large meal for a family or just keep breakfast foods, which is what we did. This was a new concept for us but I liked it.

We love Martha's Vineyard and will go back again but stay at one of the many lovely B&B's. As it was we left a day early. BTW, we asked about exchanging our room for another unit - as there were other units available - but were told it would be an extra $280/night.

Room Tip: Unless you are not bothered by noise, don't take a room facing the street. The rating of "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What a great spot. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Location was fabulous with lots of restaurants within walking distance and staff recommendations were great.
The room was spotless and had a great view of harbor even though it was a studio we dis well with the free coffee available downstairs every morning.
Common kitchen gave us an opportunity to talk with friendly owners and traders like us. We got some great recommendations for future travel from them. Everyone was outgoing and so nice.
No Elevator would be a problem and off site parking without valet service might limit others but we enjoyed the twice a day walk up and down the short flights of stairs and the 1/4 mile to the sufficient lot for cars. Would do this again.

Room Tip: trade early and if you are fit take the 2nd floor accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Harborside Inn last month and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was recently renovated and reminded us of a New England bed and breakfast. We had a room overlooking the harbor and were able to see the sunrise. The online pictures don't do the resort justice. The staff was very accommodating and helpful; and housekeeping did a great job supplying and cleaning our room. It is the best location on the island - close to shops, the bike path and walking distance to many beaches. We're looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEBSTER
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visited The Harborside and Martha's Vineyard immediately after the off season began. It was quiet and the weather was still great, but it seemed as if many of the resturants and shops just couldn't wait to close. We were disappointed by some of the closings but on the other hand got some wonderful deals because things were closing. The Harborside has a community kitchen and we really enjoyed being part of the commaraderie of making and eating our dinner among the other guests. We enjoyed a couple of nice bike rides while there on some of the many bike paths on the island. Although staff said the pool was still open it did not see to be. The whole island was very clean and very polite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Island, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Several couples chose to stay at the Harborside Inn in a recent trip. The hotel is comprised of several of the historic buildings and houses that for the most part have an outside access to the views of the pool, beautiful harbor and small marina. Our room was very clean and accommodating except for the bathroom. The bathroom was not more than a small closet with a nice shower and the other essentials. To open and close the door was frustrating and a challenge for space. No place to set your bathroom belongings. Drawback for this hotel is there are no elevators so be prepared to encounter a lot of stairs to reach your room unless you are on the ground floor and even then you have 3 or 4 steps to reach your room.

Room Tip: When requesting a harbor view room, confirm you have a direct view. Our room was supposedly harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right at the heart of Edgartown overlooking the harbor. The rooms are clean. You expect to pay a premium for location but for the quality and service this was crazy. The decor looks like a 1970s Holiday Inn. The bed and pillow level of quality and comfort wouldn't have passed at a Red Roof Inn or La Quintas, I am serious. The staff was distracted and unhelpful. When we asked where to eat they handed us a Chamber of Commerce pamphlet and went back to chatting about their romantic relationships. A small upgrade in basic bed/furniture quality and a slight interest in the customer would make a huge difference (the place was almost deserted so they weren't overwhelmed). Just a little care and attention would make the value and experience a positive rather than a feeling like you have been scammed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.