We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to next year!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Harborside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, Vermont
1 review
“Looking forward to next year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed at the Harborside Inn last month and were pleasantly surprised. Our room was recently renovated and reminded us of a New England bed and breakfast. We had a room overlooking the harbor and were able to see the sunrise. The online pictures don't do the resort justice. The staff was very accommodating and helpful; and housekeeping did a great job supplying and cleaning our room. It is the best location on the island - close to shops, the bike path and walking distance to many beaches. We're looking forward to going back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VT_Travels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
WEBSTER
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited The Harborside and Martha's Vineyard immediately after the off season began. It was quiet and the weather was still great, but it seemed as if many of the resturants and shops just couldn't wait to close. We were disappointed by some of the closings but on the other hand got some wonderful deals because things were closing. The Harborside has a community kitchen and we really enjoyed being part of the commaraderie of making and eating our dinner among the other guests. We enjoyed a couple of nice bike rides while there on some of the many bike paths on the island. Although staff said the pool was still open it did not see to be. The whole island was very clean and very polite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent Island, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Several couples chose to stay at the Harborside Inn in a recent trip. The hotel is comprised of several of the historic buildings and houses that for the most part have an outside access to the views of the pool, beautiful harbor and small marina. Our room was very clean and accommodating except for the bathroom. The bathroom was not more than a small closet with a nice shower and the other essentials. To open and close the door was frustrating and a challenge for space. No place to set your bathroom belongings. Drawback for this hotel is there are no elevators so be prepared to encounter a lot of stairs to reach your room unless you are on the ground floor and even then you have 3 or 4 steps to reach your room.

Room Tip: When requesting a harbor view room, confirm you have a direct view. Our room was supposedly harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StrandedCurbside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right at the heart of Edgartown overlooking the harbor. The rooms are clean. You expect to pay a premium for location but for the quality and service this was crazy. The decor looks like a 1970s Holiday Inn. The bed and pillow level of quality and comfort wouldn't have passed at a Red Roof Inn or La Quintas, I am serious. The staff was distracted and unhelpful. When we asked where to eat they handed us a Chamber of Commerce pamphlet and went back to chatting about their romantic relationships. A small upgrade in basic bed/furniture quality and a slight interest in the customer would make a huge difference (the place was almost deserted so they weren't overwhelmed). Just a little care and attention would make the value and experience a positive rather than a feeling like you have been scammed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Batch B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Location was really wonderful, right in the thick of Edgartown, so you can walk every where and also have easy access to the bike trail to Oak Bluffs. Rooms are certainly dated and in need of a renovation for the prices they charge. But in all, it was fine for a last minute booking. Kids love the pool, which was the ultimate draw.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MABlissful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been staying at the Harborside for over 25 years. The location on the harbor is perfect. It is also on the quiet side of Water Street (South). The rooms are always clean and well appointed. This place is very quiet with the exception of the noise coming from the Atlantic Restaurant next door. The pool and courtyard we clean and well-kept at all times. The courtyard offers outdoor grilling. For the best room, choose one with a deck or patio facing the harbor. Suite 510 has a king sized bed, fridge, and a fabulous patio right on the harbor's edge. The staff here is always friendly, accommodating, and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Try to get either room 501 or 509 for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Io79032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations based on their website. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the staff was very helpful. The perfect location was a plus. Our room had a balcony with a great view of the harbor. We highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wesley Hotel
Wesley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing