We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Save Saved
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harborside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Spur of the moment trip to MV and spent one night here recently. There are several charming federal period homes which house the hotel rooms. Our room was clean, bright, nicely decorated except for the cheap, rough blankets on the bed. Little on the small side but the view overlooking the harbor from the balcony was beautiful. Can't beat the location! Walked to everything and the best part was the bus stop which is only 2 blocks away and the buses can take you anywhere on the island. The South beach was a 10 minute, $1.00 ride!
Coffee in the lobby and a nice veranda to sit on and a comfortable sitting area. The front desk staff were friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. We did feel left out of the kitchen dining area and salivated as we walked by while they were inside eating steak, corn on the cob, etc.
Gas grills were in courtyard but not sure if they're available to non time sharing guests.
My biggest complaint was the price but we were desperate. Expensive and can't say it was worth paying close to $400. for the room. Even though it was pricey, would stay here again in this building the (Milton building) but would curtail the numbers of night spent here because of the price. Would recommend that you not go in the building adjacent to the Atlantic restaurant as their kitchen exhaust vents were going all night.

Room Tip: Milton building or one of the federal buildings along the main street. Avoid building close to Atla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    22
    11
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This "hotel" (really a timeshare resort) is in a great spot with a wonderful view of the harbor and less that one block to downtown Edgartown. Lots of however qualifiers...I should have seen the red flag go up when I called the hotel for a last minute reservation for the 4th of July weekend, asked if they would hold a room for me for an hour while I tried to work out car/ferry reservations, they said they would, I called back 1/2 hour later, and the person who then answered said they didn't have any knowledge of my previous call and hadn't held any room, and the only room available was significantly more $$ than I had been told previously. (and accused me of mixing up their hotel with another close by, the Harborview, which I didn't, having checked my phone log) When I finally booked our reservation, I requested a cot in our room, when I checked in I was told the cot was there but fire code was that only two people could be in the room. This information would have been helpful to set my expectations when I asked for the cot...When we saw the room it was evident why the fire code was such--there was barely space to pass from one side of the room to the other. Management is invisible or seems to want to be--fairly simple questions were met with "I'll check with my manager", and then you'd overhear the conversation between "manager" and desk personnel taking place a few feet away--awkward. An angry disagreement between a hotel guest and a front desk person escalated in front of all without being facilitated or moved to privacy--just all bad form.
Access to the nicer parts of the property are restricted to "owners", which I assume means timeshare owners, which was never made clear really, but the doors to lounge areas and food prep areas are all on key locks. When we returned from the wonderful 4th parade, we headed out to the back lawn to watch the fireworks--and were body blocked by a bellman, who had held a door open for us earlier in the day with a friendly and familiar hello- who now looked like he was taking us into custody. My husband showed him his room key and he let us through, but it sure felt "icky". We decided to cut our trip short, asked to check out a day early, and of course, when we requested that they refund our last night's payment, the manager behind the curtain via his desk clerk, said he could only do it if he could rebook the room and we never heard from him again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed here in peak season (July).

Pros: Great location in Edgartown proper near dining and shopping. Exciting view of the active harbor, the pool and manicured landscaped grounds. Mini split AC was very quiet but came with no instructions for the remote control.

Cons: Front door to the lobby was never locked so anyone could walk in off the street and attempt to enter a room. Room doors have to be slammed shut (noisy). Bathroom is tiny, shower water pressure somewhat weak, shower with no tub, only three bath towels provided instead of four, hand towels hung above the toilet where they can easily fall in, hair dryer also stored over the toilet with a cord long enough to allow it to fall in but short enough that you must stand in front of the toilet to dry your hair. The mattress was squishy like a marshmallow (not comfortable), linens were cheap and fitted sheet did not cover the 8-9" depth of the sides of the mattress, mattress and box spring did not have encasements, synthetic blanket on the bed had what looked like moth holes (the blanket should have been thrown out and replaced).

For the price, I think we could do better than this. There are other options in the price range which we will consider next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard so we really didn't know what to expect but we were so pleasently surprised. The hotel was quaint and it a great location, smack in the middle of Edgartown. Surrounded by great restaurants and shops. The hotel was clean and rooms were spacious and comfortable. On a telatively expensivr item, the hotel was worth the money. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here two weekends in June and had a blast. The rooms have been updated and ours was really nice. The resort staff is friendly and there are always people on the grounds eager to help with luggage etc. The grounds are immaculate with an incredible view of the harbor and Chappaquiddick beyond. There is a dock on the property and it is fun to watch the boats come and go. The thing that is so great about the Harborside is its central location. When you stay here you can get along without a car because you're able to walk everywhere. Restaurants and shops are all just steps away if you need them. Be sure to visit "Wheel Happy" if you want a bike! The ride to South Beach is a lot of fun. And if you like cool shops check out "Portobello Road."

Room Tip: Request a water view (not street view) room. You'll love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a beautiful and updated combo timeshare/hotel in the very heart of Edgartown right on the water. Its ultra charming and old from the 1800's and you cant beat the location. I was lucky enough to get an exchange here for a nice week. Rooms have been updated this year and there is nice bedding a mini fridge and small 19" flat screens. Nicely updated bathrooms on the small side but fine. My room did not have a view but was by one of the front doors and the noise from that was loud, people coming and going tend to slam that door hard and the walls are thin. Also my room was on the front street however the windows are soundproof and I was not bothered by street noise, just the doors.
If your an RCI member or owner here you can use the community kitchen and washer/dryers. There are shared fridges and stoves and plenty of everything to cook with. Theres also a semi-heated pool. Daily maid service is nice too. The resort closes 6 months a year in the winter. I would stay here again its a good choice but try to get a room overlooking the harbor with the balcony for the most bang for your bucks.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with the balcony views away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, ca
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We traded a week of our timeshare for a week at the Harborside Inn. It is centrally located in Edgartown. You are close to hotels, restaurants, the main dock. The hotel staff was very cordial and helpful. The room, although somewhat smaller than we had anticipated, was comfortable and tastefully furnished.

Room Tip: The rooms with two beds were spacious and lovely. We found our room a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.