We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Harborside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Inn is in a great location. Room is very small though and there is only a central kitchen, first time I've experienced that. Inn is very clean and service is very good. Very nice and helpful staff and beautiful view of the harbor

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    26
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
40
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a perfect place to start our honeymoon tour of New England.

Room was clean and comfortable, and a reasonable size. Price was very reasonable. But the views from the bedroom were outstanding. Overlooking the harbour, the grounds and Chappy island, you couldn't ask for a more stunning scene to wake up to.

Staff were all lovely and helpful. We arrived late, around 10pm, and were relieved to find a room still available (it was mid-Sept just after the end of the busy season, I wouldn't recommend turning up during the holiday season without a booking). The price was very good, and the location is fantastic. Seconds from the high street with its lovely shops, restaurants and cafes, it is the kind of place where it's impossible to feel stressed.

We ate at Chesca's restaurant, the food was stunning. As good as you would find in any major city. Also worth a trip to Aquinnah, with its beautiful beach and lighthouse.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting MV, and we would certainly return here.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the harbour. What a view to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is a great place to stay. So convenient to be right in town and walk to everything. Wonderful to be right on the harbor, to relax by the pool and enjoy the spa services. Friendly staff, nice rooms, awesome location. Can't wait to see the renovations next summer.

Room Tip: The Balcony rooms overlooking the harbor are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had an excellent stay The bed was tolarable but not perfection The rooms were clean and well light. shower head was set at a height designed for a quaker from 1700 but was still a nice bath. Location was quiet and only a few late nighters traversing the streets in fornt of our room We went late in season to avoid the crowds. the Parking was not very good as it was 3 very Large city blocks away but you could luck into a space on the oneway street sometimes. For Food I would recomend the News of America Pub was very nice also the Seafood Shanty were excellent I was not impressed by The Wharf Pub someone needs some training in the kitchen. I have never had such a horribly prepared scallop dinner very greasy. Among the Flowers for Breakfast was excellent. As with all things MV or island for that matter it is a little pricey ever where you go so bare that in mind Dinners ran $90 -120 and full breakfast ran $28 for 2 plus tips. Also fill up if you are taking your car over as gas is a dollar more on the island save a few bucks.

Room Tip: we stayed in 210 had a lovely 4 x 4 window overlooking the boats moorred in the bay. Little to no di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent just one night, and were so impressed with this lovely, classic hotel. The decor of the rooms was a bit dated and fussy, but it's what you'd expect in an old, historic building and it was absolutely charming. We had a room in the Chappaquiddick House on the first floor, with a gorgeous view overlooking the Harbor. The walls in the hallway seemed freshly painted and wallpapered, and the rooms were positively immaculate. Oh, and did I mention it'slocated right in the middle of downtown and withing walking distance to absolutely everything?! This was our first time in Edgartown, and what a wonderful first impression it was! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copper Canyon, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Harborside Inn this past week. We had a wonderful time! Our room was on the third floor... no elevator, but it kinda added to the charm of it. The view from the balcony was absolutely breathtaking. It was our first visit to Martha's Vineyard and this hotel is very centrally located in Edgartown.
Pros- Great location, friendly staff, Beautiful view and clean.
Cons- Rooms are kinda dated, small bathroom with no counterspace, no elevator and they do not have an onsite restaurant.
I would stay here again :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn.
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This Inn has a great location right next to the docks and downtown Edgartown. Our room was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. The lobby has coffee and tea in the morning. I was nervous since we reserved a garden room and the photo on line was of the outside but it is the same as the king size bedroom photo on line. The other major positive not mentioned on the website is yes there is air conditioning and the site should consider adding that data to the room descriptions.

A few details from our stay. The Wifi and cell service (Verizon) were both spotty (sometimes non-existent) in our room and when available it was not very powerful. You will just have to relax with friends or family while here. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.