We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place On The Docks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harborside Inn to your Saves list
Harborside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Conn.
Level Contributor
233 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place On The Docks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This Inn has a great location right next to the docks and downtown Edgartown. Our room was spotlessly clean, quiet and comfortable. The lobby has coffee and tea in the morning. I was nervous since we reserved a garden room and the photo on line was of the outside but it is the same as the king size bedroom photo on line. The other major positive not mentioned on the website is yes there is air conditioning and the site should consider adding that data to the room descriptions.

A few details from our stay. The Wifi and cell service (Verizon) were both spotty (sometimes non-existent) in our room and when available it was not very powerful. You will just have to relax with friends or family while here. :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    14
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
rafe99
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I spend four nights at the Harborside Inn in Edgartown at the end July 2012. The staff at the end were all very nice and attentive. The Inn is well located in downtown Edgartown close to shops, restaurants and the harbor. The room was very basic, but clean. The price was very expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I spend a weekend at Harborside Inn this past August. Since we did not have a car the location of the hotel is great as you can walk to restaurants and shops and the bus stop (if you need to get to another part of the island). The property is very nice, with beautiful flowers in the courtyard and a very nice pool with harbor views. There is also a nice common area by the reception desk that overlooks the harbor and is a nice place to read. These features of the hotel make up for the small rooms (we had a standard room) that are decent for a couple, but would be tight for a family. We found the rooms to be simple and clean overall. Overall, we had a pleasant stay and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I love this place due to service and location, however rooms need to be updated and it is a little pricey! The grounds are beautiful and your right in the center of everything. The staff goes above and beyond.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at the Harborside Inn in Edgartown, MA. for two nights. This was our first trip to Martha's Vineyard and I chose this hotel using Trip Advisor for reviews. We were not disappointed as this turned out to be great place to stay with a with a nice, homey room and a great view of the harbor. Added bonus was a pool, which given the sweltering weather that week, was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Room with a view not necessary to enjoy Martha's Vineyard but was lovely and very relaxing to si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My friend and I had a girls get-away and stayed at the Harborside Inn - it was simply perfect. The location was ideal, steps from everything! The service was fantastic and the views were to die for. It was so much fun, we booked another trip in 2 weeks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

At the last minute we decided to stay another night on the Vineyard. This was the only place in the area that had a room available. The price is what it is, gotta remember where you're at. Extremely convenient, step out the front door to walk to all of the restaurants and shops in the area. Room was of a generous size, clean, large balcony. Parking is free but the drawback is that the lot is 3 blocks is the opposite direction of everything else.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.4 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wesley Hotel
Wesley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Inn

Address: 3 South Water St, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harborside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Harborside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Edgartown
Harborside Inn Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.