We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edgartown Commons

Edgartown Commons
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Edgartown Commons to your Saves list
Edgartown Commons
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   20 Peases Point Way, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

There's a reason that this is one of the most economical places in Edgartown though, I would stay there again (unless my travel budget increases). We had a group of 14 consisting of four families. Two families, with three kids each, stayed in rooms around the pool, and the older couples stayed in the main building. The pool area was great for the kids, though I was happy to be able to get away from the noise. The main building was quiet. There were also little side cabins that looked cozy, which I'll look into next visit. All units have kitchenettes. The rooms and furnishings are dated, which is probably why it's economical.
It's two to three blocks to shopping and restaurants and maybe five or six to the harbor and the Chappy ferry.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool rooms if you want quiet - unless of course you have kids, then it's grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in Edgartown before but at a much more expensive resort. This trip we were 5 family members and we found a great "apartment"-room at a great price here. It was in the main building on the bottom floor just off of the reception. This may sound scary but we made no notice of people coming and going to the reception desk.
There were 2 bedrooms with quaint but simple New England decor. A fully equipped kitcken and a large living room with dining room table. It was clean with a nice homey feel and the only thing I can complain about are the livingroom drapes. One side wouldn't open and some of the hooks were missing. With the rest of the apartment in such good condition, this should be the simplest thing to fix before guests arrive.
You can tell that this building is a large old home and along with it comes sounds from upstairs.
Nothing against Edgartown Commons but guests staying on the second floor of an old building should be considerate enough to make sure that their small children don't run and jump indoors. You can hear every 3-year-old "stomp" from
the room above.
Still, I loved this place and will definately try to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_Julio_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The new management is not friendly and welcoming like Rick. New policies, everyone used to have same room year after year but new guy says NO. The location is great but will not stay due to new management

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Laxmom421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edgartown hotels

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at the Edgartown Commons for two nights. It's in a quiet location close to the main street of Edgartown. Our beds were comfortable and we loved having all of that space. Our suite was nicely decorated and very clean. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoMathTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very disappointed in a formerly great vacation spot. New management is disorganized, rude and resent any suggestions for change. Rooms not well cleaned, little supervision of cleaning staff. Pool not well maintained, water cloudy most of the time. Nice to have a functional kitchen but cookware and dishes are very outdated-- 1980s?

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mitch2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Most recent stay at EC was June 2013. I won't mention which unit we stay in because we really enjoy our two week vacation in this unit year after year and don't want anyone else to book it for next year.

But, have to say, after always returning to this unit and Edgartown Commons, we, obviously, are pleased with the accommodations

No, EC isn't A/C. Our unit does have a window A/C in the closet and if it gets rainy/humid/hot, we put the unit in the window. No complaints from management.

What really bothers me after reading all the above reviews from past dates is some have negative comments about the cleaning staff. Hey?????????What's with you guys?

If something isn't just perfect when you arrive - if you go to the front desk and mention your dissatisfaction,, it definitely will be taken care of. The cleaning staff of 4-5 Jamaican women, such caring and friendly women, will care for you according to your wishes . They strive to help you and have always been friendly and helpful to us. Some of them have remained friends beyond the high season.

This is a family condo vacation spot, privately owned by individual owners for each unit. Every unit is different, decorated with the owner's wishes but all share common kitchen requirements such as kitchen tools/pans to cook with, etc. Some are really pretty and some aren't, needing updating.

Ours has been updated every other year and we are happy. We are definitely happy with the cleaning staff as they have been wonderful to us. Just ask and you will get. You do have to take your kitchen garbage bag to the dumpster when it's full and if you stay over 3 days, you get your bed linens changed but if overnight or for two days, nope, you won't be seeing the cleaning staff unless you need something.

We enjoy Edgartown Commons because it's in the heart of town and if you don't expect world class accommodations, but just clean accommodations, friendly staff, you will be happy here. If you want 4* accommodations, choose the HarborView! It's gorgeous and very expensive!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flysully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 in a two bed suite in the main house. The location was fantastic, we were able to walk everywhere, accommodation was very clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and obliging. Only problem was not being able to stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.5 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#3 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vineyard Square Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#2 of 5 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgartown Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgartown Commons

Address: 20 Peases Point Way, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgartown Commons 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Edgartown Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgartown Commons Hotel Edgartown
Edgartown Commons MA - Martha's Vineyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing