We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad - comfortable - needs refurb!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kelley House to your Saves list
Kelley House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not bad - comfortable - needs refurb!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Kelley House no regrets whatsoever as it is what it is. A very well located old fashioned Inn which is comfortable and everything works. It doesn't merit four or five stars in our book as it doesn't compare with some of the high end B&B's we are lucky to have become accustomed to. The location is excellent however and the staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. We hired bikes round the corner to Chappy and dined in lovely local restaurants. A good time and well recommended unless you are seeking very high end luxury.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    59
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
61
80
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I recently took my first trip to Martha's Vineyard with my Family and the Kelley House made it such a great experience! We stayed for 3 nights in the Court House suite and the accommodations were immaculate. We had plenty of space for 4 adults and 2 kids, 2 beautiful bathrooms and the kitchen area was so convenient. The Newes Pub had great food for the adults and kids and was so accessible. But my favorite part of the staying at the Kelley House was that every morning the lobby has fresh muffins and coffee and tea, and every evening there was freshly baked cookies, and milk! Both the kids and us adults loved that! The lobby was beautifully decorated and you could sit right and front of a roaring fire and relax. In addition to all the wonderful features, the staff was so great and so attentive. I had absolutely no complaints! We are making this a tradition.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, MA
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to an overnight stay in Edgartown in mid-January. I already knew about the Kelley House and I had eaten at the restaurant several times, so I called up to make a reservation. Nickie was very helpful in spite of admitting she hadn't taken a reservation for a while because she didn't usually work the front desk. She did fine! The lobby was so welcoming with its fire in the fireplace when we checked in that later on we settled ourselves in front of the fire in the comfy chairs. Tea available for the asking, so we asked and we received. Too bad those evening cookies aren't available in the afternoon. Our room was really nice and the bed was comfortable. When I reported to the staff the taps were dripping, they promptly moved us rather than make everyone wait around for the engineering staff to show up. Our new room was also large with a very comfortable king bed, and as a corner room in the main house had more windows and better view. I appreciate that kind of solution to a room problem. It was very quiet in Edgartown with the holiday season over, especially on a Monday, so we had a nice walk around a very quiet town, no shopping to be had. The hotel staff were all friendly and helpful and ready to offer suggestions of places to visit and to eat, even though they do play up their own pub, Newes from America. And we did eat there because it was one of two open restaurants walking distance from the hotel! We enjoyed the meal and would recommend the burgers and beer to anyone. The next morning we had a coffee and muffin that the hotel puts out, nice touch, but we did walk up to Espresso Love Café for latte and breakfast sandwich. Normally I would recommend the Dock Square Coffee Shop, but it was closed for a few days so we weren't able to have breakfast there as we would otherwise have done. Kelley House has a great central location, and a great staff that really wants you to enjoy everything about your stay at the hotel, in Edgartown, and on the Vineyard.

Room Tip: The hotel has a variety of rooms and separate cottages, so let them know what you need in a hotel ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed at the Kelley house for a 2 night post-Christmas weekend. Our room was a fabulous suite in the Chappy House overlooking the Chappy Ferry. Beautiful space with a very large sunny deck facing east perfect for morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. Fortunately it was warm enough to enjoy while the sun was out.

The suite had 2 bed/ bath combos ideal for a large family or 2 couples.

The service at the hotel was superlative. Each morning there was coffee and muffins and cold milk and freshly made cookies in the evening. Even though this property is an "inn" the service feels more like a family owned B & B. Cute pub on-site for drinks.

When choosing which part of MV to stay in Edgartown is a little more laid back than Oak Bluffs or Vinyard Haven. There are still lots if restaurants and shops but more low key.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our room at the Kelley House featured super-comfortable beds with Mission-style headboards and a bathroom with excellent water pressure in the shower. We appreciated the convenience of an in-room fridge. In the morning, there were complimentary muffins and coffee in the lobby; in the evening, there were cookies and milk. Our only complaint was inadequate outdoor lighting, especially in the parking lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The best location, best hotel and best staff. You can't beat this hotel. Everything is 5 stars. Checked in late, in fact we were the last ones. The front desk guy was so welcoming. Spend a lot of time telling us what was going on that weekend. Super staff.

Room Tip: Chappy house is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Before I leave the USA after two weeks 'leaf peeping' I wanted to upload a comment about Kelley House in Edgartown MV. We had a wonderful stay here, from the outset of being shown to a stunning room with classic music playing quietly to welcome us, through courteous (and humorous) attention to attending efficiently to our every request, it has been a joy. Having read some of the other reviews I consider that either the hotel have taken note or that some people are over critical. Yes, the room lacked the splendour of a flat screen TV! What? Stay at home and watch TV! The room was spotless, roomy, well stocked and very well serviced. My ONLY criticism would be that not everyone wants to start the day with a chocolate overload, so vary the muffins served at the simple breakfast and include something plain. That is all! Everything else was simply perfect, the hotel is so full of character and retains a lot of the original features of an old Cape property. our room was on the third floor at the corner so we had fabulous views of Chappaquidick Island and the harbour. Edgartown has been the highlight of our trip, everyone we met en route through New England and Vermont (1,000) miles commented on the beauty of MV, to the point I was concerned we would be disappointed, it was almost 'over sold', not so......it is beautiful. Wander through the gorgeous narrow streets of Edgartown and look at the homes of the whaling captains, you will feel as though you are on a film set. The houses are amazingly well preserved. The Main Street has discreet signage for the ever present shops, but the shops are tasteful. Eat at The Wharf and enjoy a verandah lunch at Nancy's overlooking Church Pier at Oaks Bluff. We cycled for 30 miles, saw stunning and beautiful houses and fabulous neat gardens. We visited towards the end of the season which seems to be on Columbus Day, and some places had already closed with others planning to, but we did not have to endure crowds and it was a perfect end to a fabulous holiday. If you have a bucket list, put Martha's Vineyard on it, plan a trip for at least three days - and pack your credit card, it isn't cheap! But it is an experience and an unforgettable one. Edgartown was definitely my favourite place and Kelley House the perfect location. We also left our car on the mainland, it is very expensive to ferry a car across, but the local travel on MV is good, and we like to cycle so went prepared. It costs $10 per day to park in the special park for the ferry from Falmouth and a free shuttle runs to and from the car park to the ferry.

Room Tip: We had room 316 on the top floor corner, the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.