We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel and Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kelley House to your Saves list
Kelley House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming Hotel and Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Though the Kelley House is quite expensive during peak season, I thought the hotel was fantastic for a weekend stay. The location is perfect! It's located right in downtown Edgartown just steps from all the shops, restaurants and bus stop. They serve milk and cookies every night and coffee with delicious fresh baked muffins in the morning. Rooms were a little dated, but staff was pleasant and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
59
79
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed here a few times - in the Chappy house - a third floor one-bedroom suite. This time, my friend booked it for Labor day weekend and spoke to Heather about it multiple times before check in day. When we arrived they had "upgraded" us to a three bedroom suite with no deck or views of any kind. The Chappy House has a great deck and views - which is why we stay there. There was a "Manager's Hold" on our room. Nice bait and switch. The manager showed up after multiple phone calls to his cell. We did finally get our room back. Other conditions: needs many updates, no toilet paper holder, very late maid service during the day, cobwebs, pain falling off walls, pictures and mirrors missing, poor hair dryer. Restroom in main lobby was atrocious when I went in at about 2:30pm. The pillows in the rooms are not great at all, and there are no extra blankets or sheets anywhere - even for the sleep sofa.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view. Save your confirmation and bring it with you! The Chappy hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel had many plus points e.g. "free" wifi, "free" muffins and drinks in the morning and "free "milk and cookies in the evening, classically decorated, large bedrooms, free shower gel./body wash in the bahtroom, convenient location, obliging staff, swimming pool. However all of this had minus points as well. There was no instruction manual in the room so we had to ask a few basic questions at first e.g is there a password for wifi as there had been in our previous hotel and were given a reply but rather grudgingly from the only american male member of staff we ecountered.The time and amount of the free food was a bit haphazard, we came at the same time every day, sometines it was in plentiful supply sometimes the cookies had gone. TV was old fashioned, vacuuming the corridor outside our room at 8am on Saturday morning was a nice touuch!! The taps were also ferocious in the bathroom and was a case of all or nothn! One day we had been left no bath towels or shower gel. We had half used one gel and left it by the shower to use again. It had been taken and not replaced. When we went to ask for just what we needed a whole set of everything arrived and the towels were damp! There were no instructions either in the room or at the pool about changing facilities or how to get towels and no one to ask. It is very difficult to park on arrival and fortunately after circling for abt 20 mins someone did leave from the front of the hotel so we could park there and register. We were then directed to the hotel car park which was not far away but decided not to move the car until the day we were leaving in case this should happen again. We also didn't need to move the car as everything was centrally located.
We just felt that all these little details could have been put right before they even happened with a strong hand at the helm. All the staff were obliging but couldn't really see what needed doing until it was too late, such a shame because this could be an excellent hotel with a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the back which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The place is not horrible but I regret not looking for a different hotel in Edgartown. The reception (foreign employees there for the summer) are friendly and helpful. The location is pretty good; lots of shops and businesses surrounding it. It also has complimentary parking, pool, and (free but weak signaled) wifi. However, it would be considered a very low end hotel anywhere in the mainland US. The issues I have are that the rooms are very outdated and have a moldy feel, small spiderwebs are located in several areas around the beds, there is no elevator, and you can hear everything going on in the building and feels like its waiting to cave in. You can hear every word your neighbor is saying as if sitting with them, you can hear and feel the vibration of every step someone down the hall makes, every door closed sounds as if slammed, and the vacuum cleaner several rooms away may as well be right outside your door. For $365/night, I hope they use that money to make some adjustments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the pleasure staying at the Kelley House. I loved this old historic hotel. It was close to everything and we could walk. to some nice restaurants and shopping Nice view of the harbour from our room

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed on Monday night, first floor. Paid almost $400 for the night. Big room with two queen beds, fine for my daughter and I. Great location, close to Edgartown shops and restaurants, friendly staff.
The ceiling in the bathroom had significant black mold. Very out dated bathroom. Did not feel clean.
Nice towels and sheets. Beds comfortable.

Room Tip: First floor noisy, hallway enters out door pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great history - NO ELEVATOR so if you need any assistance - and do not like staying on 1st floor- stay elsewhere. It was EXTREMELY warm (read 96 degrees) during my stay - the AC was cold but could be a tad cooler. Nice pool, great location, friendly staff. The hotel could use a quick update to the bathrooms (ie: newer tub) & Tv's. The beds in my room were SOFT. The hotel is a short (5 minute at best) walk to the Chappy ferry. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.