We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Further attention to detail could make it excellent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kelley House to your Saves list
Kelley House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Further attention to detail could make it excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel had many plus points e.g. "free" wifi, "free" muffins and drinks in the morning and "free "milk and cookies in the evening, classically decorated, large bedrooms, free shower gel./body wash in the bahtroom, convenient location, obliging staff, swimming pool. However all of this had minus points as well. There was no instruction manual in the room so we had to ask a few basic questions at first e.g is there a password for wifi as there had been in our previous hotel and were given a reply but rather grudgingly from the only american male member of staff we ecountered.The time and amount of the free food was a bit haphazard, we came at the same time every day, sometines it was in plentiful supply sometimes the cookies had gone. TV was old fashioned, vacuuming the corridor outside our room at 8am on Saturday morning was a nice touuch!! The taps were also ferocious in the bathroom and was a case of all or nothn! One day we had been left no bath towels or shower gel. We had half used one gel and left it by the shower to use again. It had been taken and not replaced. When we went to ask for just what we needed a whole set of everything arrived and the towels were damp! There were no instructions either in the room or at the pool about changing facilities or how to get towels and no one to ask. It is very difficult to park on arrival and fortunately after circling for abt 20 mins someone did leave from the front of the hotel so we could park there and register. We were then directed to the hotel car park which was not far away but decided not to move the car until the day we were leaving in case this should happen again. We also didn't need to move the car as everything was centrally located.
We just felt that all these little details could have been put right before they even happened with a strong hand at the helm. All the staff were obliging but couldn't really see what needed doing until it was too late, such a shame because this could be an excellent hotel with a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: We had a corner room at the back which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    59
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
61
80
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The place is not horrible but I regret not looking for a different hotel in Edgartown. The reception (foreign employees there for the summer) are friendly and helpful. The location is pretty good; lots of shops and businesses surrounding it. It also has complimentary parking, pool, and (free but weak signaled) wifi. However, it would be considered a very low end hotel anywhere in the mainland US. The issues I have are that the rooms are very outdated and have a moldy feel, small spiderwebs are located in several areas around the beds, there is no elevator, and you can hear everything going on in the building and feels like its waiting to cave in. You can hear every word your neighbor is saying as if sitting with them, you can hear and feel the vibration of every step someone down the hall makes, every door closed sounds as if slammed, and the vacuum cleaner several rooms away may as well be right outside your door. For $365/night, I hope they use that money to make some adjustments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had the pleasure staying at the Kelley House. I loved this old historic hotel. It was close to everything and we could walk. to some nice restaurants and shopping Nice view of the harbour from our room

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed on Monday night, first floor. Paid almost $400 for the night. Big room with two queen beds, fine for my daughter and I. Great location, close to Edgartown shops and restaurants, friendly staff.
The ceiling in the bathroom had significant black mold. Very out dated bathroom. Did not feel clean.
Nice towels and sheets. Beds comfortable.

Room Tip: First floor noisy, hallway enters out door pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great history - NO ELEVATOR so if you need any assistance - and do not like staying on 1st floor- stay elsewhere. It was EXTREMELY warm (read 96 degrees) during my stay - the AC was cold but could be a tad cooler. Nice pool, great location, friendly staff. The hotel could use a quick update to the bathrooms (ie: newer tub) & Tv's. The beds in my room were SOFT. The hotel is a short (5 minute at best) walk to the Chappy ferry. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have stay at the Kelly house multiple times and it has always been a great experience.
It's one of those places shots "Vineyard". It has the dyed in the wool feal of New England. The views across the channel are wonderful and you a just a stones throw from Chappy and the hub of Edgartown.
By the way, be sure to try the "NEWES TAVERN" right next to the hotel, its great!!

Room Tip: The condo style rooms (around back facing the water) are superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family has been vacationing every year in Edgartown for the past 15 years. It's been our home away from home. The service has always been wonderful and the location is great. In the past three years we have noticed a big change in the staff and hotel cleanliness. The wonderful lady that used to be there is no longer around. Our recent stay for 2 weeks was not so great. There were clean towels in our room upon arrival and that was the only time we had a set of towels for three people during our stay. Day two we did not get any towels at all and when I went to the front desk to ask, I was told there weren't any. We finally bought towels and washed them in the laundry matt in Oak Bluffs. The bathtub was never cleaned. There was sand in it and cobwebs in all the corners of the bathroom. The floor is molded and the shower curtin is molded and falling apart. The bathroom smells of mold. The outlets don't work as the plugs are loose and whatever you plug in just falls out. The hairdryer doesn't work either. Our room had 5 hangers spots but only 4 hangers. I asked if they had another hanger or two and they couldn't understand what I was saying. The front desk help didn't understand what a washcloth was when I asked for one. There was a definate communication problem. I asked for a recommendation about a dinner restuarant and again the front desk had blank stares and could not be of any help. The sheets were never changed. One day the beds were not made and I don't believe they ever came in the room. There is so much dust on the glass table that I took everything off and cleaned them and the bathroom as well. We didn't have toilet paper in our bathroom for two days. We used up the kleenex in the room and that wasn't replaced for a few days. The television in our room is not working. The picture goes fuzzy on and off the entire time it's on. It's been that way for three years. We stayed in this same room before and I made a note of these things three years ago and nothing has been corrected. They offer water in the hall downstairs but you have to ask for a cup which the front desk has to go get from a locked closet. We bought our own cups. The pool towels were impossible to get. I waited an hour for a towel one day and then they brought out only one towel. If they are losing towels, they should have people check them out as they do in other hotels. I get the feeling that something is not right with this hotel. It's very sad. It used to be an amazing place to stay. There are many other options when staying in Edgartown. Sadly, we will not be back at the Kelly House.

Room Tip: Rooms near the bathroom downstairs are rough as they keep their cleaning cart in the hallway and peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.