We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vineyard Tradition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Save Saved
You added Kelley House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelley House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vineyard Tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have stay at the Kelly house multiple times and it has always been a great experience.
It's one of those places shots "Vineyard". It has the dyed in the wool feal of New England. The views across the channel are wonderful and you a just a stones throw from Chappy and the hub of Edgartown.
By the way, be sure to try the "NEWES TAVERN" right next to the hotel, its great!!

Room Tip: The condo style rooms (around back facing the water) are superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    46
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family has been vacationing every year in Edgartown for the past 15 years. It's been our home away from home. The service has always been wonderful and the location is great. In the past three years we have noticed a big change in the staff and hotel cleanliness. The wonderful lady that used to be there is no longer around. Our recent stay for 2 weeks was not so great. There were clean towels in our room upon arrival and that was the only time we had a set of towels for three people during our stay. Day two we did not get any towels at all and when I went to the front desk to ask, I was told there weren't any. We finally bought towels and washed them in the laundry matt in Oak Bluffs. The bathtub was never cleaned. There was sand in it and cobwebs in all the corners of the bathroom. The floor is molded and the shower curtin is molded and falling apart. The bathroom smells of mold. The outlets don't work as the plugs are loose and whatever you plug in just falls out. The hairdryer doesn't work either. Our room had 5 hangers spots but only 4 hangers. I asked if they had another hanger or two and they couldn't understand what I was saying. The front desk help didn't understand what a washcloth was when I asked for one. There was a definate communication problem. I asked for a recommendation about a dinner restuarant and again the front desk had blank stares and could not be of any help. The sheets were never changed. One day the beds were not made and I don't believe they ever came in the room. There is so much dust on the glass table that I took everything off and cleaned them and the bathroom as well. We didn't have toilet paper in our bathroom for two days. We used up the kleenex in the room and that wasn't replaced for a few days. The television in our room is not working. The picture goes fuzzy on and off the entire time it's on. It's been that way for three years. We stayed in this same room before and I made a note of these things three years ago and nothing has been corrected. They offer water in the hall downstairs but you have to ask for a cup which the front desk has to go get from a locked closet. We bought our own cups. The pool towels were impossible to get. I waited an hour for a towel one day and then they brought out only one towel. If they are losing towels, they should have people check them out as they do in other hotels. I get the feeling that something is not right with this hotel. It's very sad. It used to be an amazing place to stay. There are many other options when staying in Edgartown. Sadly, we will not be back at the Kelly House.

Room Tip: Rooms near the bathroom downstairs are rough as they keep their cleaning cart in the hallway and peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What can I say this hotel is worth every penny. Not only is it in a lovely area but the hotel is gorgeous with larger than average rooms. The staff was wonderful as well. Parking a little difficult but other than that we loved our stay here and plan to stay here again next time we are in Martha's Vineyard.

Room Tip: stay in Edgartown, it is a lovely place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family has been coming to the Vineyard for the last 7 years. We have stayed at the Kelley House a couple of times. Overall we have been very pleased. The location is great! You can walk to anything in Edgartown. Upon making our reservations the staff was helpful in securing a room of our preference. The staff is friendly, but the inn used to have a wonderful inn keeper that is no longer here. The current staff is not nearly as knowledgable about the hotel or the town. The inn does offer muffins in the morning and cookies and milk at night. The kids love that! The pool and parking lot seem small but are adequate. The housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired. We stayed for a week and the toilet was not cleaned one time (I used my own Lysol wipes) and the bed linens were not changed. This may seem picky but for the price this stuff should be done. That is the most disappointing part of the stay. Cleanliness should be a top priority. Again, overall a good experience. Hoping they improve that area.

Room Tip: You can request rooms - room 106 is across from the public restroom. Avoid that. Room 315 & 316...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here june 25-29 and were surprised at how great everything was. Front desk couldn't have been nicer, muffins in morning and cookies at night was nice touch. Walk out the back gate by pool and there's edgartown pier and fabulous greasy cheeseburgers at quarterdeck. Walk out front door and there's everything else right in center of edgartown...very happy there was fan in closet as it drowns out footsteps upstairs. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

2 couples on 2 day stop to MV chose Kelley house based on prior reviews....the king rooms were large and comfortabe but our first floor end of hall room had slanting floor....bed was positioned with mild head down tilt...which after showing to evening staff was addressed adequately with addition of "leveling" wood blocks at head board feet.
Unfortunately our companion traveling couple was quite upset for lack of room clean-up by 3-4 PM after returning from exploration/shopping which was still not addressed by 9 PM. We were told that only one of the room clean-up staff had showed for work that day...we also found out that new ownership takeover was to occur the following week and that many if not all of the current staff were unsure of their longer term work status. The staff we encountered were helpful and friendly...and deserved to keep their jobs!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woods Hole, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My fiancé and I came here to celebrate our engagement and stayed in the Courthouse. The room was modern with all the perfect amenities and the service was impeccable. I will recommend to everyone! Great location and easy access to all means of transportation. A five star accommodation for sure! You've exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.