We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel on Martha's Vineyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kelley House to your Saves list
Kelley House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel on Martha's Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently returned from a brief trip to Martha's Vineyard, and we can't say enough good things about our experience at the Kelley House in Edgartown. First, the property is immaculate and everything is lovely. Second, the management and staff were the most friendly, courteous, and accommodating that we have ever experienced! And third, the location is perfect - right in the center of Edgartown, next to the Chappy ferry - where you can walk to everything and enjoy the stroll. The manager, Steve, could not have been more gracious and he thought of everything to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

The rooms are beautiful/spacious and so are the bathrooms. They are obviously cleaned with care. The hotel has double, king, and suite room options, as well as two condo-type (2 story) options that are separate from the hotel. In your room you will find some very nice, generously sized, unbreakable, aqua drink containers with lids - to take water or other beverages out to the pool in. The pool is lovely, with bright, cheerful yellow and white towels, an outdoor shower/changing room and umbrella tables on the patio where you can relax with family and friends. The muffins and coffee that were put out in the lobby for guests were delicious and included in the room price. They also put out large chocolate chip cookies and cold milk in the lobby between 8-9PM for a snack - heavenly! There was a lovely fire burning in the lobby fireplace and everything about this hotel just glowed - comfortable, welcoming and just perfect.

We ate dinner at the pub that is managed by the Kelley House and we had the best fish and chips I have ever experienced (it was a very generous portion!). There was off street parking nearby and you did not hear any noise from the street when you were in the room. I woke up early and wandered down by the wharf with my coffee and muffin (while my husband slumbered) and then brought him a little 'breakfast in bed" of his own muffin and coffee. Since we had a late ferry back to the mainland, the hotel manager graciously offered us a late checkout, which was so kind (we had not thought to ask...) and is indicative of the superior service provided by this establishment. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Martha's Vineyard.

Room Tip: Fitness Center and Room Service are not applicable here. There is no elevator in this hotel, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
59
79
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We just returned from a short trip to Martha's Vineyard to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in essentially an efficiency apartment at the Chappy House, one of the many out-buildings attached to the Kelley House. It was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We understood that our unit was "pet-friendly" and I'm happy to report no unpleasant odors nor stains anywhere! Every morning the hotel supplies muffins and coffee and every evening they supply cookies and milk! A very nice touch. They also have beach towels and chairs for guests' use and are very accommodating about arranging activities. A very nice experience which we would repeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel could not have a better location. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rates are reasonable. They do not offer a full breakfest, but the muffins and coffee are delicious. The rooms were spacious and there were plenty of drawers for heavy packers. I have been to Martha's Vineyard before and had my eye on the Kelley House, so I was glad I got the chance to stay there.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I have been occasional visitors to Martha's Vineyard over the years, but this was our first stay at an inn in Edgartown. The staff was extremely pleasant and welcoming at every turn, including long after check out when I returned and asked for the use of a rest room to make a quick clothing change. During our stay, we found our room very comfortable and clean, nicely appointed and of good size, and with a very nice shower. A good value in this upscale town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed at the Kelley House for two nights. It is literally a one minute walk from the Pied Piper (ferry). Hotel is everything you would imagine: quaint, cozy and charming. The staff were friendly and helpful. The lobby has significant seating and a working fireplace. Coffee and muffins are out in the morning and chocolate chip cookies in the evening. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious with nice, crisp linens. The location couldn't be better! A short walk to everything! The only "downside"? No elevator.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just stayed at Kelley House last weekend. They were one of the few places who accepted us for only two nights in August. I expected a small bed and breakfast, but they were a wonderful quaint hotel - located one block off the main street and the water. The lobby was decorated with comfy overstuffed leather chairs, a fire was in the fireplace, the desk help was wonderful, polite and professional.

Our room was large, comfortable and overlooked the water. Bedding was fluffy and clean. The room was very clean. The bathroom was also very clean.

We had a wonderful trip and would highly recommend the Kelley House and would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: We had a "garden king" which was on the 3rd floor of the main house. Very spacious and ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We usually stay at Harbor View but could not get in this time so chose Kelley House; not sure what to expect but was really happy with our "default" choice! Lovely atmosphere--cozy and quiet--and the staff is exceptional. Steven at the front desk was so welcoming and warm and helpful in every way, really taking a personal interest in our having a good "Vineyard" experience. The rooms are just right, although the bathtub needs updating; the rest of the bath is fresh and pretty. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. Great location, parking easy and tables in back adjacent to pool make it easy to grab a bite from the Quarterdeck and enjoy a quiet lunch in the shade!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.