We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, very close” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kelley House to your Saves list
Kelley House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Sale
Ranked #6 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Close, very close”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently during our honeymoon and there is much good and some not so good things to say about our stay. The location is perfect and you couldn't ask for better. The staff was very attentive and we both appreciated the help we got in planning our excursions and even the cookies were excellent! However, the first night we both woke up with the room above 80 degrees and even opening the windows didn't help much. The next morning the hotel manager explained that a valve had accidentally been switched to the "hot" setting. Well, stuff happens so it's hard to mark down too much over that. Then during the day, through the night and into the next day the party staying above us decided to take dancing lessons, or play twister I'm not sure, which kept us awake and was quite annoying. Again, hard to blame the hotel, but it certainly detracted from our visit. I would certainly be willing to try the place again. The room and the rest of the inn were attractively furnished and really it was a very nice place other than the two items which hopefully wouldn't be repeated.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    59
    29
    11
    2
See reviews for
62
82
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very nice 2 night stay in early June. The weather was chilly but the atmosphere and staff at Kelley House were pleasant and warm. Comfortable bed and very clean room. Great location - walking distance to everything in Edgartown. Given the opportunity to visit the Vineyard in spring again we will definitely stay at Kelley House.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel was very charming and right in the middle of town. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The warm cookies in the evenings were delicious as were the morning muffins.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was our first visit to MV and Kelly House is certainly the best location for restaurants, shops and the ferry. The staff are willing to go the extra mile to meet every request. We stayed in a suite in Chappy House that had a balcony with a view of the harbor. I have to say that the furnishings looked tired and need an upgrade. That would be our only negative. We took advantage of the offering of a sunset cruise and it was a highlight of the trip. Mike and Corri were knowledgeable and rightly proud of their vintage boat. I highly recommend booking some time w/ them for the cruise. They also do charter fishing trips. We can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Kelley House is very clean and comfortable. My husband and I enjoyed MV and loved The Kelley House's grounds and room. The morning coffee was the best I had during my stay on the island and I love my coffee!!! Charlotte couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We keep returning to this inn every time we decide to go to the vineyard and are never disappointed. The friendliness of the staff, cleaniness of the room and establishment, location, location, location always meet our expectations. For the experience of all that Edgartown has to offer you can not go wrong staying at this inn.

Room Tip: must have a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Kelley House was a great find. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Our room had 4 large windows and looked out at the Chappy Ferry. The hotel manager, Steve, made dinner reservations for us on a very busy Memorial Day weekend. We also decided to go to the beach one day and when we asked about beach towels they not only gave us the towels, but 2 bottles of water and beach chairs. We can't day enough about the great accommodations and services. We are bookiing next year. Also, make sure you try The Newes (their restaurant). Excellent food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.