We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Edgartown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kelley House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kelley House to your Saves list
Kelley House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bicycle Package
Ranked #7 of 11 Edgartown B&B and Inns
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
575 reviews
378 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Edgartown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the experience. We had a King room which was a good size and very clean with views of the water. Bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. Location was great in downtown Edgartown close to everything. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Lobby was very nice with a large fireplace. Coffee and muffins were served there in the morning and milk and cookies in the evening. Umbrellas were provided which was great since it rained one of the days we were there. We also visited the Harborview which is a sister hotel just along Water St towards the lighthouse. They have a lovely deck to sit and watch the sunset. We had dinner in Henry's there and really enjoyed it. We also had dinner the following night in the Newes Pub next to Kelley House which was ok but a little disappointing. They had been closed for cleaning and still didn't seem to have a full menu but it was very busy so I think we may have just been unlucky. Would definitely give it another try. Hope we can stay here again maybe next year. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    68
    29
    14
    3
See reviews for
63
93
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the Kelley House in mid-October and had the best time ever. This was our first visit to the Vineyard and we picked the perfect place to stay. First of all, when you walk into the Inn there is a beautiful burning fireplace with a very cozy lobby. The staff was so nice, especially, Steve the Innkeeper, my 4 year old son loved him. They have chocolate chip cookies and milk in the evening and my son prefers M&M cookies and Steve went out of his way to make sure my son got his favorite cookies. The room was beautiful, very clean and beds were so comfortable. We already made reservations for the Inn next year and also reservations at the other property they own the Harbor View. We own a travel agency in the NorthShore (MA) and checked out all the properties in Edgartown and we just loved the Kelly House and the Harborview!! Everything is just steps away....also try the little breakfast place next door to the Kelley House Inn called "Among the Flowers" great breakfast and so cute!

I can not say enough about the Kelley House and all of their staff, everything was a perfect 10!!

Room Tip: The main building was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had an excellent time at Martha's Vineyard. Espacially our Cosy hotel was wonderfull. You're staying in the Middle off it all but at the Same time it's feeling quiet overall. Our breakfest we took in de Harbor View hotel, a related hotel to Kelley's. A splendid five minutes walk in the morning and you already had your part of Good sea-air for You. The Staff were extremely friendly & helpfull. They know also the very Good not touristic places to have some very nice seafood dinners and excellent American white Chardonnay's at reasonably prices. For example A ** star Steel Chardonnay 38 USD A Bottle ! And A two pounds Lobster at only 48 USD. This must be Heaven !! With pain in the heart My son and I left after 4 days. But One we'll be back !
Marius Van Cappellen, Brussels, Belgium.

Room Tip: Just ask A good room what your Needs are and They will give You a Good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We just stayed at Kelley House in Martha's Vineyard. It was very comfortable, very nice hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. They provided chocolate chip cookies in the evenings and muffins and tea/coffee in the morning. It helped save us some breakfast money (and calories!). The room was clean and they provided water bottles and a water coolers. All nice touches. Even the toiletries were nice. We balanced out staying at this hotel and some cheaper ones on Cape Cod.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We visited MV off season and Kelley House was just great for the 2 nights we were in Edgartown. An older hotel / inn. The staff is excellent. Great recommendations and service. Restaurants were steps away. Only a few blocks from the bus. Steps from the water. Liked it very much!

Room Tip: Ask for off the road and away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadensis, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I've traveled to many New England towns, many cities, many islands, many countries. I've stayed in many types of accommodations, from 1000 rooms resorts, to 4 bedroom B&B's... For me, it's about central location, an extremely comfortable bed and easy walk to excellent restaurants. The Kelley House accomplished all of this beautifully! I booked directly with the Kelley House, and got a fabulous pre-paid rate. The location of the Kelley House (we stayed in the main building), was the most central inn there is... Two to five minute walk to everything! But a very quiet street.. Check in was effortless, and front desk staff always pleasant. We stayed in a very large, well-appointed room. The bed and linens were so great that we looked for the tag to order a set for ourselves! The muffins in the morning must have been from the best bakery in Edgartown and delicious coffee to start the day...

Would I recommend this hotel to my most discerning clients who wanted to save some $$$$, without hesitation...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
150 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Kelley House is a gorgeous old inn just minutes from the waterfront and Chappy island. The night cap cookies were amazing, I swear they must have some kind of secret ingredient they add! And the muffins and coffee in the morning were a perfect start to a relaxing day of window shopping, eating, and bike riding. Unfortunately, it's not the most economical choice, but for one night it really was a treat. The room was much larger than anticipated for an establishment of its age, and boasted a good enough size bathroom and 2 windows that actually open. We could often hear people in the hallway but it was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
6.5 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wesley Hotel
Wesley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hob Knob
The Hob Knob
#2 of 5 in Edgartown
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelley House

Address: 23 Kelly Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelley House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Kelley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelley House Hotel Edgartown
Kelley House Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.