We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience on Martha's Vineyard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hob Knob to your Saves list
The Hob Knob
128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% Off in April!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience on Martha's Vineyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

My cousin and I spent Mother's Day weekend at the Hob Knob, a boutique hotel, in Edgartown on Martha's Vineyard. The hotel was easy to find on Main Street, and there was available parking behind the main building. We stayed in room #1 which was in the front of the building, but it was quiet and convenient. The room was actually larger than I had expected, and the twin beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed the hearty breakfasts, afternoon teas with delicious baked goods, and evening drinks. Although we didn't use the fitness center or ask for spa treatments, they were available to us even on Sunday. We did read the Boston and New York papers and used the computer to check our e-mails. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and Jesse did a great job of making arrangements for our private tour of the island. Jon from Jon's Taxi informed and entertained us during the entire tour. We had a wonderful time and hope to visit the island again. It was a perfect way to end a positively delightful trip to Cape Cod, Nantucket, and Martha's Vineyard!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    37
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
25
151
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blairstown
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

I planned a surprise 50th birthday party weekend for my husband and a group of friends at the Hob Knob. The staff were more than happy to help me plan events for the weekend ahead of time (thank you especially to Amelia).

It turned out to be a perfect place for our friends to gather, having breakfast in one of the lovely dining rooms, by the fireplace in the sitting room or in the gorgeous sunroom. Breakfast was delicious and the staff at the hotel was very accommodating, we were never rushed. The afternoon tea with fresh baked goods was really inviting.

The rooms were spotless and the hotel was decorated beautifully. The staff genuinely wanted us to enjoy our stay. I would highly recommend the Hob Knob and I can't wait until we can go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Beautiful hotel in a renovated old island home/inn with a b&b feel... but none of the b&b drawbacks. Clean as a whistle, friendly staff (even with our frequent needs), sweet common areas to read or have a glass of wine in. The breakfasts were hearty and I went nuts for the homemade scones. SO relaxing-- in March it was cold and wet but the inn was a perfect cozy spot to warm up in. Decor is quaint and New Englandy, not hip or anything. You can walk anywhere in town. For those unfamiliar with the island, Edgartown is sort of the posh town on the island... when I was here in the summer, the place looked like a Ralph Lauren ad to me. :) But it's close to Chappaquiddick, the most unspoilt rural part of the island, if you want to get a nature fix. I miss it already!

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

This was our second stay at the Hob Knob. We were on Martha's Vineyard over Thanksgiving and stayed at the Hob Knob for the week. The service was excellent and very friendly, the room was impeccable, and the ambiance is quintessential New England.

They serve breakfast every morning; you have the choice of 3 egg options, french toast or pancakes, plus they serve fruit, cereal, yogurt and the most delicious scones. The Mag-a-Muffin breakfast (poached eggs with grilled tomato and ham on an English muffin) was my personal favorite. Every afternoon they offer tea, cookies and hot cider and at night they always had hot water and tea out for guests to help themselves.

They have free wi-fi in the hotel and the location can not be beat, it's right on Main Street, and is about a 5-10 minute walk down to the water.

We will definitely be staying at the Hob Knob next time we are on the Vineyard.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

This was my first stay at the Hob Knob--it definitely will not be my last. A local (Vineyard resident) told me it is where she sends people when she can't host them herself, and I understand why. Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, helpful and accommodating staff--I wanted for nothing, except to return

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We spent two nights at the Hob Knob, and found it incredibly relaxing! The room was lovely, and the front desk staff incredibly helpful--Anthony took care of everything from dinner reservations to driving tour routes to where to find good pizza and a movie. We enjoyed the afternoon tea service, and the cozy fire in the living room. The kitchen was also wonderfully accommodating of my husband's food allergy.

The location was excellent--a short walk into downtown.

The only critique was cleanliness--the shower was a bit dingy and the room turnover hurried, but still better than you see at many hotels.

We would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, ma
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We travel to Martha's vineyard at least once a year and normally rent a house for the family. Occasionally, my husband and I go on our own and a house just seemed more than we needed. We've tried a few places on the island but will be 'hob-knobbers' for all subsequent trips. The location couldn't be better, right on Main street in Edgartown, just above the main shops. A week before we arrived, we received a call to see if they could make any dinner reservations or other arrangements for us in advance. Although we didn't need recommendations, they were at the ready. Everyone was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. The place is immaculate. Our room was comfortable and pretty and we loved staying there. The port and afternoon tea was delightful, especially on the rainy afternoons we spent back at the inn. The only thing less than ideal is the noise of the street traffic, which only interfered with the enjoyment of the porch and garden - we didn't hear it at all in the house.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hob Knob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.