We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hob Knob

Save Saved
You added The Hob Knob to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hob Knob
128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off Mid Week August
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Beverly, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we were welcomed with a cheerful smile that made you feel the staff was truly glad to see you and have you as their guest. The rooms were a cool oasis on a particularly humid summer day. Thoughtful touches in the room such as robes and umbrella (which we did not need!) along with the all the attention to detail made us feel like we were visiting friends in their Vineyard home. The cooked to order breakfast was yummy too!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    33
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
120
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
verona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Last week we spent 3 days of our vacation at the Hob Knob, that definitely we don't like.
The inn is preatty but when in the morning we had breakfast in the porch, the traffic noise was terrible. Bedrooms are nice as the small commons rooms, but we must say we never felt in relax because of the fastidious gossip atmosphere: there were two women employee, both about fifthy years old, one short brown hair, the other blonde, very busy watching and investigating all the guests, they never smiled or say a "Good morning !" . We also saw them discussing loud beetween each other.
The day we checked out we kindly asked to take care of our luggage for two hours, but when got back, we had the bad surprise that the shoulder belt of our Louis Vuitton bag was broken. We asked explanations but they didn't consider us. It was really incorrect.
We will never return or raccomand this inn to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmira,ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

The Hob Knob Inn is a perfect place to relax. The rooms were well-designed, very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Attention to detail was impressive. Everything was perfect, yet comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I found the staff, location, rooms and food all to be delightful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We stayed at the Hob Knob for two nights. Tis boutique hotel is so nicely decorated with a touch of elegance and a feel of real personal touch by the owner. We did not have great weather one day so we missed sitting on the beautiful wrap around porch. The workmanship of detail is obvious throughout. We highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

My fiance and I came to the Vineyard for a long weekend for my birthday. We stayed in Edgartown last year at another b&b and were disappointed. We like a clean, actually, spotless- b&b or hotel when we travel. The Hob Knob is spotless. I could not find a stray hair anywhere (I always look). On my birthday, my fiance mentioned after breakfast to the concierge that it was my birthday and asked if there was any way they could buy me a cake-white on white with strawberry filling and strawberries on top. Mind you, it was last minute and also Mother's Day. They located a fabulous cake, and when we returned in the late afternoon, I walked into our room and was surprised by an amazing birthday cake (matching all specs)-with my name on it, on a tray, with fresh flowers, plates, linen napkins and candles. We quickly carried the cake downstairs and shared it with the other guests during the 4pm tea/cake time. They really went out of their way. When deciding on your room, we chose a deluxe room. This is the least expensive of the rooms at this establishment and we were not at all disappointed. I'd ask for this specific room again-room #8. It has two windows (beautiful gentle cross breezes) with a blooming cherry tree outside. It's been very quiet-we are light sleepers and no noise issues. This b&b is in the perfect location. You are a short walk to the local Stop and Shop grocery store if you want to keep drinks in your room's mini-refrigerator. You're close to bus transportation-the Island's busses are not at all intimidating-one dollar per town. Edgartown is absolutely beautiful. We will definitely be back to Edgartown and we will always stay at the Hob Knob Inn. No reason to stay any place else--it's perfect here. Thanks to Mark and Amelia for making my birthday so special!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Hob Knob Inn. It's the perfect location in Edgartown, close to all the great restaurants and shopping. The Inn was very charming and beautiful. The staff was terrific and helped us out so much with the best places to go on the island. Our room on the second floor was gorgeous and very clean. The bed was so big and comfortable! My only complaint, and it's very minor, is that we could hear our neighbors talking to each other. The hotel was kind enough to provide a noise machine that helped significantly. Renting the hotel bikes was a blast. The breakfast was delicious. Overall, we absolutely loved our stay and will definitely go back to the Hob Knob!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hob Knob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.