We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend the Hob Knob” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hob Knob

Save Saved
You added The Hob Knob to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hob Knob
128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off Mid Week August
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
De Pere, Wisconsin
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommend the Hob Knob”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I loved our recent stay at the Hob Knob. We couldn't have asked for a better place to celebrate our 10 year anniversary in Martha's Vineyard. Diane, the hotel manager, was extremely welcoming and accommodating throughout our stay. The rooms were spotless. In fact, everything throughout the hotel was extremely clean. We really enjoyed the sitting area on the front porch. It was the perfect place to relax after a busy day of shopping and exploring. Everyday, we looked forward to waking up and having the delicious farm to table breakfast. I commend Diane and her entire staff. No details are missed when it comes to providing top notch service and accommodations on the island. We can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    34
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
121
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
newburyport
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is a sweet inn but I think a bit pricey for the size of the room and the fact that every time we opened our door we could smell bacon. It's a quick walk to the restaurants and shops in Edgartown. There were plenty of places to curl up with a book inside or out and the tea in the afternoon was a nice touch. There was breakfast every morning which I didn't have, maybe if I was a breakfast person it he bacon smell wouldn't have bothered me. At night there was a noise that was annoying, there was a white noise machine in the room for our use. Not sure for the motor sounds we could hear or because the walls were thin. I could hear a woman reading a story to a child one night. We have stayed at the harbor view for years and decided to try something different. Not sure what we will do in the future.

Room Tip: Wish I had a chance to see the size of some of the other rooms, you might want to ask if they vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

17 room pretty boutique hotel- rooms are perfect and private. Patios, porches and gardens quintessentially mv. Staff welcoming and friendly. Walk to downtown edgartown- bike to south beach or oak bluffs. Have always gone the Harbor View Hotel route- now sold on the Hob Nob. Breakfast - delicious!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ma.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We found a 1/2 price deal during the week and decided to try someplace new. WOW, we travel a lot and this place exceeded our expectations. It's lovely, tucked away yet close to everything. Free breakfast, afternoon tea with goodies, complimentary port wine, perfect beds and service make this place very special. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We just returned from a fabulous stay at the hob knob. The room although on the smaller side, was extremely charming and well equipped. The king bed was very comfortable with lovely linens. The breakfast selection is fabulous and very fresh. The staff is extremely knowledgable and helpful, we will most definitely return and recommend to our family/ friends. The only negative comment is the spa services are very overpriced, the massage was excellent but far too expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

What a great place! We stayed here 2 nights as part of a Backroads Bike Tour Group -- and we were very impressed with The Hob Knob.

It's obvious that a lot of thought & effort goes into making this an elegant place to stay, while it is at the same time -- so comfortable. Lovely sitting rooms and porch.
We had a very nice private wine party on the back patio.
Breakfast was very good.
Unfortunately we weren't around to take advantage of tea time :-(
Excellent location / easy walking to everything in Edgartown.

Night on our own - we did dinner at Newes Pub based on staff recommendation. Great suggestion.

Wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Babylon, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Clean and quiet, my two most important requirements. Great breakfast and afternoon tea. Nice spa as well. Close to town. Only slight drawback was street noise which would probably be worse at high season, so take one star off if that's important to you.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hob Knob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.