We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable in every sense of the word” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hob Knob

Save Saved
You added The Hob Knob to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hob Knob
128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off Mid Week August
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Remarkable in every sense of the word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our weekend getaway at The Hob Knob. We chose the hotel based on a recommendation of a good friend whose family has a home on the Vineyard and we were not disappointed.

I spoke with the General Manager, Diane, several times before our stay as there was a chance we would be arriving on the later side. She could not have been more accomodating and was very helpful in her restaurant recommendations and things to do on island before we got there which helped us plan our weekend ahead of time so we wouldn't feel rushed or as though we might be missing out on something.

We felt at home from the moment we opened the door to check in on Friday. The hotel is located on the main street, about a 5 minute walk from the heart of downtown Edgartown. The hotel really does feel like a house, with quaint rooms for sitting and reading the paper by the fire (New York Times and USA Today delivered daily) or for enjoying the 4-6 PM Tea and homemade cookies and in our case, Banana Bread. There is also a lovely outdoor patio for sunset cocktails and a great sunroom with a "honor bar".

I was a bit worried when our room (#6) was on the ground floor, directly off the sun room, but the hotel is remarkable sound-proof and even had a white noise machine in the room. There is a nice fitness center and a spa onsite.

The daily Farm-to-Table breakfast is made to order and everything was out of this world. It's a nice way to start the day and we naturally found ourselves in chairs by the fire, reading the paper and talking with other guests after each meal. Most of the other guests we met were back for a 2nd, 3rd and even 17th visit - which says a lot about the hotel!

Each room had unique decor; nothing about the hotel feel generic or contrived. The king-sized bed was heavenly, as was the daily turndown service and the hand-written welcome note and Aveda bath products. Make sure to indulge in the luxurious bathrobes which are hanging in the closest!

Diane and the staff were so pleasant and made our dinner reservation both nights which allowed us to relax and enjoy our days without having to scramble to ensure we got a good meal. Especially if you visit from Mid-June - August (peak season) make sure you let Diane and the staff make restaurant recommendations as things can get crowded.

The weather didn't allow us to bike around but the hotel has bike rentals and if the weather permits, I highly recommend taking advantage as this is the best way to see the island.

We are already planning our next stay and can't wait to come back. The facilities are clean, the staff are delightful and the ambiance and location are unparalelled.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #6 which is on the ground floor by the sun room. We could hear any of the activity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    33
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
120
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed our 3 nights stay at this lovely boutique hotel. It's very clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the daily breakfast and the chat near the fireplace. The location is also so great. Differently will come back!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay at the Hob Knob. Every little detail in the furnishings of this immaculately kept B&B just made our first trip to Martha's Vinyard so enjoyable. Diane on the front desk was so very helpful! My daughter had a great massage, while I relaxed in our spacious and appointed room. I particularly loved that you could open the windows and the skylights over the bed and in the bathroom. The breakfast was delicious, with the wait staff so friendly and attentive. It's just a short walk to all the shops and eateries in Edgartown.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14, and it has a kitchen with a frig with a icemaker and a microwave. It's on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernardsville, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I haven’t been back to Martha’s Vineyard in 25 years. Staying at the Hob Nob made it worth the wait. The inn is just lovely. Our accommodations were superb, farm-to-table breakfast was scrumptious and all the amenities were top notch. It was a pleasure meeting the innkeepers and the General Manager. Diane was so informative and welcoming. We couldn’t have asked for a better stay. Can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Our second stay at the Hob Knob was as lovely as the first. The courteous, friendly staff is so welcoming when you enter the hotel. Check in is super fast and you are given a tour of the facilities. They have a lovely sitting area complete with crackling fireplace, a bar area with complimentary port and an "honor" bar if you'd like to grab a beer. The rooms are VERY clean and comfortable and you can't beat the location. It's a short walk to the water and is within a block of the two best restaurants in Edgartown. The only downside is that the room we had was connected to another room (which you can unlock if you know the other party). As luck would have it we were next to a couple with a dog. The dog whined and cried whenever they left the room. Fortunately we're heavy sleepers and get up early but it did feel like the dog was actually in our room. Paper thin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My friend and I had a girl's getaway to celebrate my birthday in the fall - what a perfect choice The Hob Knob was for us! The inn is just what you would hope - beautiful wrap porch with comfy seating, cozy public areas and lots of New England charm. We enjoyed a lovely top floor deluxe room - beautiful linens, very comfortable bed and skylights for extra light. The room also had a small kitchenette which was perfect for fixing a late night cup of tea. The welcoming cookies in the room were delicious and chocolates/turndown service were waiting for us each night. Breakfast was always special - made to order- along with a wonderful assortment of scones and fruits on the buffet. Afternoon tea was a treat - a nice selection of homemade cookies or sweet breads. Jefferson and Maggie were so helpful in suggesting restaurants or spots to visit. The entire staff was wonderful and attentive. The inn is centrally located and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. We rented a car for ease in traveling to other parts of the island and appreciated the inn's convenient parking area. We had a wonderful and very memorable visit to Martha's Vineyard and The Hob Knob. Many thanks to Maggie and her staff!!!

Room Tip: top floor deluxe rooms are quiet - skylights add extra light and the small kitchen is a nice featur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Perfect for a quaint getaway. Highly recommend. It's in a perfect location. We walked to dinner. We returned to a excellent turndown service. The staff was personable and very well informed. Hurry up and book!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hob Knob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.