We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another incredible week @ Hob Knob in MV” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hob Knob

Save Saved
You added The Hob Knob to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hob Knob
128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% OFF SUN- THURS. CALL
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Santa Barbara, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“another incredible week @ Hob Knob in MV”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What's not to love about MV and the HobKnob.... The perfect neighborhood location just steps from the action, the best staff that's attentive to your needs yet gives you privacy, delicious breakfast and afternoon tea, there's no other place to stay on MV.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    35
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
18
125
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay was perfect. Our room was beautiful and the bed was very comfy. The inn is kept in immaculate condition! They supply everything from beach chairs & umbrellas to bikes (minimal rental fee). The exercise room is a bit small but well equipped and the afternoon tea with plenty of sweets was delicious. A highlight for us was Jesse, the owner's teacup Yorkie! A real sweetie. We will return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed in Edgartown many times over many years and this was the best visit. We did not know that an Inn would have such amenities and such luxurious comfort. The room was lovely with the kind of linens that make you want to stay in bed all day , when you do get up you are seved a yummy breakfast full of local organic fruits and baked goods along with any hearty fare you might dream up. Breakfast is in the garden, very sweet and comfortable.
All the rooms have their own baths, and lush robes and mini bars and WiFi, pretty easy to settle in.
Bikes are available and you can ride to the beach, they supply towels and chairs too, they really do think of everything and make you feel pampered.cant wait to return!

Room Tip: Tell them what you want, bright or quiet or big or small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We're "veteran" Edgartown vacationers, but first timers at The Hob Knob. Absolutely perfect inn. Old New England charm, but completely updated, "like new" rooms. Customer service is impeccable, afternoon "tea service" was great, and they provided beach towels, umbrellas and chairs. Very centrally located, just two blocks off of main street, 2 minute walk to the bus stop that takes you to South Beach, so you don't really even need a car. I'm also told that this inn will take small pets.

If I were smart, I'd give this a "1" rating so that no one else finds out about this gem.

If you're looking to be right on the water in Edgartown, e.g., the Habor View Hotel, this is not your place. But, frankly this is a much nicer place.

It's not in-expensive, but it was worth the price. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Having stayed at some of the best B&Bs in the world, I'm somewhat picky about the accommodations that I select. Hob Knob surpassed my expectations! An exceedingly charming 1800's B&B in the heart of what is arguably the best town on Martha's Vineyard (Edgartown), Hob Knob provides the highest quality in accommodations for the most discerning traveler. From the luxurious linens to the homemade breakfast that is served each morning in one of the dining rooms, on the beautiful outdoor patio (suggested) or in your room, every detail is looked after! Afternoon tea is served daily with homemade scones and is a perfect way to relax and unwind after the day. Massage, bikes, fishing and boat rentals are all available to guests. The staff is always available and is extremely knowledgable about the island and all of its activities. We had a wonderful time and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Extremely charming B&B in the heart of Edgartown (Main Street!). The bed was super comfortable with linens, pillows and duvets of the highest quality. Breakfast made to order and served in the very quaint dining room or outdoor patio (and of course breakfast can be ordered in the room but honestly, the dining room is so charming that I would recommend this); tea is served daily with scones and sandwiches. The staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. The inn's owner is always about and very knowledgeable about the island and activities; the Hob Knob also has its own boat which can be chartered for fishing or sunset cruises; bikes are also on hand just outside the front door; and you can also have a massage! In brief, a B&B that offers amenities beyond a B&B! I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

A very cute spot but we thought over-priced for the size of the room (we have stayed in several places in Edgartown). The bathroom was VERY small. The air conditioning was controlled from the front desk so the room seemed too warm much of the time. The beautiful porch has the constant din of big trucks going by. The breakfast that comes with the price of the room was just okay. I have a pet peeve for pricey inns that nickel/dime you by charging $7.00 for a bottle of water in the room, don't want to change the sheets or give you fresh towels and toiletries (shampoo & conditioner) all in the name of being "eco-friendly" and charge you to rent bikes. The "noise" device in the room was hysterical. We enjoyed the stay but will not go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hob Knob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.