We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hob Knob

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Hob Knob to your Saves list
The Hob Knob
128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CALL HOTEL DIRECT NOW!!!!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Bluffs, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here the night of our Wedding and it was great, The room was very clean and big - comfy bed and friendly staff. Breakfast in the am was great, would go back there again & highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    43
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
32
174
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here. Wonderful place to stay, very convenient to walk to main street area and to catch the bus to see the area. We stayed in room #17, I believe, as there was 3 of us. There was a pull out couch for one of us to sleep on, that I highly recommend be replaced. There are newer models that are much better, this couch/bed has definitely seen better days. That was the biggest disappointment in our room. The breakfasts were amazing! Definitely a real plus for staying here, along with the afternoon tea. There were bikes to use, which we used for a short trip to the lighthouse, but it would have been a nice touch to offer their use for free. We were charged $25 per bike and were only gone about 2 hours. The biggest plus was the food, location, and great porch to enjoy afternoon tea!

Room Tip: Don't get room #17 for 3 people unless they get a new bed for the 3rd person, pull out couch is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hob Knob Inn - this was a real pleasure. Jerry saw to it that we had everything we wanted. The breakfasts were fabulous, good choices available, beautifully cooked and presented. My other half said the blueberry pancakes were his best ever breakfast in the whole trip. Jerry suggested good nearby places to eat within easy walking distance for dinner and we borrowed bikes and rode around for the second afternoon. All in all very pleasant. On the first night, as a light sleeper I was aware of creaking noise from the floor above and fortunately Jerry was able to move us which he did without complaint. I would suggest trying for the top floor if you can. Otherwise the place was fabulous.

Room Tip: Go for top floor room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsgrove, nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our first time to Martha's Vineyard and we just loved this island. There are many places to stay and we were very thoroughly satisfied with our choice. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Our room was on the first floor in the back of the hotel. A bit noisy at times but there was a "white noise" machine in the room to drown out the sounds. I would request an upstairs room next time. The wrap around porch is so relaxing. Really enjoyed it in the late afternoon and again in the evening where the gentle lighting just beckons you to sit down and relax. Breakfast was delicious as well as afternoon tea. Edgartown is just a quick walk down the street and there are many quaint side streets in the area to lose yourself in.

Room Tip: I would choose an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just back from a few nights stay in room 15 on the top floor of this boutique hotel.

Is probably the best hotel I've stayed in. Faultless.

Staff couldn't do any more to help. Room was fab. Small bath - but that seems the norm for American hotels.

Also lovely location. Could easily come back for a return visit

Room Tip: If you can get a top floor room - go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Hob Knob is the perfect inn for a relaxing, comfortable stay. The rooms are decorated in very good taste mixing antiques with comfortable beds and attractive furnishings. Our room on the third floor was quiet and large enough with three stuffed chairs to sit and read without feeling cramped. The full tub with shower and the abundant shelf space in the bathroom made it a very user-friendly space for a couple.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They tracked down our lost luggage, advised us on the best way to get to tourist destinations, etc. They introduce themselves and from then on we addressed each staff member by name.
The public areas are lovely. The porches with the wicker furniture and the beautifully landscaped and maintained garden provide great spaces for relaxing, visiting, and reading. The parlor and garden room with an honor bar provide additional areas for relaxing. A full breakfast with a wide variety of items that one orders from the menu and a tea time are held in the lovely two breakfast rooms decorated with blue Willow Ware and antiques. The food is tasty and beautifully displayed. The waiter V was extremely personable and made breakfast even more of a delight.
The other guests at the inn were friendly and shared information about attractions on the island. Many of them were annual visitors and provided great tips that were helpful.
The Hob Knob is located on the Main Street of Edgartown, and is ideally located for both touring Edgartown and the whole island. The inn rents bicycles and also has a cruise boat for rental.
I have only positive things to say about this inn and can't wait to go back. This week-long stay for my husband and me was one of the most relaxing trips we have ever taken, and I give all the credit to the Hob Knob Inn.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor because I requested a quiet room. Room 15 was very quiet. Also, I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Tucked in between two main traffic arteries nestled in a neighbourhood setting lies the precious Hob Knob Inn. Attentive but not intrusive staff, knowledgeable and the breakfast is starts your day off on the front foot.

Rooms are spacious and seem to attract a very amiable clientèle with whom you'd are happy to take an afternoon tea.

This Inn allows you to be 'in it not of it' and the location affords you great getaway avenue to the best beaches the Vineyard has to offer.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edgartown
0.6 mi away
Harbor View Hotel
Harbor View Hotel
#4 of 5 in Edgartown
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#1 of 3 in Vineyard Haven
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pequot Hotel
Pequot Hotel
#1 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Inn Martha's Vineyard
5.1 mi away
Wesley Hotel
Wesley Hotel
#3 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
3.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
4.9 mi away
Nashua House Hotel
Nashua House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Oak Bluffs
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hob Knob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hob Knob

Address: 128 Main Street, Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA 02539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Martha's Vineyard > Edgartown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Edgartown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Room Luxury Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hob Knob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
Hob Knob Edgartown
Hob Knob Hotel Edgartown
The Hob Knob Edgartown, MA - Martha's Vineyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hob Knob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.