We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt away from it all...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Katama Beach

Katama Beach
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 attractions in Edgartown
Type: Beaches
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Jump the waves or ride the great surf on the Atlantic Ocean side of this three-mile barrier beach, or enjoy a more relaxed pace on the tranquil Katama Bay side, a protected salt pond with lovely views of the bay. Katama is the largest public beach on the island.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Felt away from it all...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I enjoyed all of the beaches on the Vineyard for different reasons; Katama Beach felt like the most remote of all we visited...a vast, gorgeous beach. Nice and sandy (vs. rocky.) Fairly rough seas while we were there in September that made swimming a no-go, but a great beach for relaxing in the ocean air. Loved the bike path that leads to the beach, too--a very nice bike ride from Edgartown.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“wind and waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

we love this beach for its surf and breeze. not so great for little children who haven't learned how to handle the waves and undertow.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellep4
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Years of visit MV and our first trip here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wow. We had a perfect beach day here.
Probably the best beach I've ever been too. The day was extremely hot but the breeze on the beach kept us cool. It was almost chilly. We parked in the "middle" thanks to an insider tip and found it was hardly crowded. A great beach for waves, people watching and relaxing and reading.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great clean beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Rode bikes over the beach. There is plenty of parking along a parallel street and some stalls to change clothing. The beach is clean and the waves strong. Great place to spend a lazy day!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Wonderful bike and a great getaway within the getaway. Loved the general store on the way. A good use of our time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katama Beach also viewed

Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Aquinnah, Martha's Vineyard
 
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
Edgartown, Martha's Vineyard
 

Been to Katama Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katama Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Katama Beach to your Saves list