We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Capellini, St. Andrea-di- Bozio, Corsica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Capellini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Capellini to your Saves list
Casa Capellini
Poggio, 20212 Sant'Andrea-di-Bozio, Corsica, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casa Capellini, St. Andrea-di- Bozio, Corsica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This summer my wife and I enjoyed a wonderful and unique three day privately guided hiking vacation at Casa Capellini in northern Corsica. This five guest room bed and breakfast is perched at 2500 ft. in the small mountain village of St. Andrea di Bozio, just 15 minutes from Corte. We were warmly greeted by residence manager and chef, Ann Marie, who along with owner and hiking guide Jean Francois, took us immediately to our top floor, like new, corner room. Behind our bright blue door was our room containing a large comfortable queen size bed and separate toilet and shower rooms decorated in beautiful ceramic tiles. New thermo pane French doors opened up to a large tiled patio/deck with comfortable chaise lounge chairs that afforded a spectacular panoramic view of the rugged mountain ranges that are home to the famous and demanding GR20 hiking trail. These first rate accommodations exceeded our wildest expectations. Right from the start of our three day stay Ann Marie and Tracy hit it off. Ann Marie prepared a delicious lunch of nicoise salad and to die for fresh fruit (melon and peaches). After a short rest Jean Francois took us on a two hour introductory hike around the village, past the church and up through a forested landscape to a neighboring village at 3,500 ft. We passed under and around huge old Chestnut trees, green and white oak trees that provided cover for domestic Corsican black pigs and blond cows foraging through the woods. For our first evening meal, Ann Marie placed us by ourselves on the outside terrace for a romantic dinner overlooking the village and mountains in the distance. For the next two days we hiked 6 to 8 hours each day in varied terrain, we trekked through dense forest, scrambled up and around waterfalls, climbed to small alpine lakes, and even lunched with shepherd friends of Jean Francois in a mountain pass. Each day Ann Marie prepared our picnic lunches consisting of pasta salad (the best I ever ate), local cheese and dried meat, Corsican French bread, fresh fruit and a dark chocolate bar. In the evening we relaxed in this tranquil setting, dined with other guests, enjoyed local wines and ate healthy, local Corsican dishes expertly prepared by Ann Marie. We loved our stay at Casa Capellini.

Charles Nisbet and Tracy Kupferberg, Chicago

Room Tip: two top floor corner rooms have outside deck/patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mol, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I visited this 'chambre d'hôte' in the summer season so me and my friends paid a lot of money for it, certainly because we couldn't share a room with three people so we were forced to take a double and expensive single room (100 euro per night). In that case one can expect some service and even luxury. When we arrived, the host was little friendly but we were thinking it had to do with being all by herself and taking care of dinner. We booked dinner since it's in an isolated location. That night there seemed to be a plague of flying ants. The host didn't do anything to keep them out, the door and windows were open so they came flying in and disturbed the meal terribly. The host kept saying that it was the way it was and that insects were a part of life. By the time dessert was served, the ants were eating our pear tart and us alive! The host was angry with us because 'we didn't understand'. The next day, she tried to make up for it but not really very spontanous. Besides this, the rooms have a wonderful view but are small and the including breakfast not worth the price. The food at dinner is average (fish to salty, poor explanation of the ingredients, ...) and the host is really unfriendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed in Casa Capellini for two nights and Casa Vanella for two nights and then on to Porto for two nights. The two B&Bs are wonderful and with beautiful views...the food was delicious and authentic. Pascale went out of her way to accomodate every one of my suggestions/requests. They did a great job evaluating the hiking abilities of their guests and making hiking recommendations that gave us a taste of the various terrains on Corsica.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The service upon arrival was warm and inviting.
Pascale's English was extremely good and more than made up for any shortfall in our French.
We took advantage of their evening meal option and we certainly didnt regret it as the variety of local foods accompanied with regional wine was a real treat.
For the evening meal all the guests are seated around one table, which at first glance might put some people off, but please be assured this is all part of the beauty of this place and the other guests make the experience an evening to remember.
The evening flew past and the night was as quiet as you could wish for.
The views from the property and surrounding gronds are both beautiful and relaxing.
The are many walks from the accommodation with one taking you along a crystal clear river with pools for a quick dip.
Needless to say we wouldn't think twice about booking again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

We recently spent 2 nights with Genevieve and Laurent and their 2 sons at the Casa Capellini and enjoyed our time there. We were given the family room on the lower level which consists of a large bedroom with a king sized bed and window looking out over the valley (not as good of a view as those above) and another room with twin beds as well as a twin bed in the entrance area and a bathroom with a separate toilet. For 2 people it was enormous, but would work great with kids. The room comes with a small patio in front of the door with a table and 2 chairs. Access to the room is down a fairly steep unpaved path, which might give people with mobility issues some problems, but we were fine. Everything was spotlessly clean.

We didn't have a chance to see the other rooms, but it looks like the 2 on the upper level with the terraces must be wonderful. There is one small room on the ground floor that has no view which I'd stay away from since it looks like it would be small and dark.

The B&B is a good 20-30 min outside of Corte on typical Corsican roads - ie 1.5 lanes and MANY curves. We didn't have a chance to do any of the local hikes, but there's a map in the front hall with several to chose from. JeanFrancois who owns the hotel and is a noted hiker was frequently around, although I don't think he speaks much, if any English. Genevieve does speak English, although knowing French is helpful since the evening meals were family style in the dining room and the 2 nights we were there all the other guests were French speakers.

Since the B&B is in the middle of nowhere and there are no stores/restaurants around, we opted to eat in. The meals were homemade and very good and included 3 courses. Bottled wine was available to purchase. Breakfast was included and was the typical Corsican bread and jam and juice and coffee/tea, with the option of some chestnut cake.

It is in a wonderful location, but is definitely isolated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed in July 2009 following recommendations of other reviewers on Tripadvisor. Agree that this is a fantastic setting, and good access for walking etc, but we were really disappointed by the whole experience. For a start our room was like a prison cell - make sure you ask for a room with a view! The other problem was getting there - it is at least 30mins from Corte on narrow windy roads. This meant that you are almost forced to have dinner there which costs about €30 per head (excluding wine) - which is a real shock if you are on a budget. We also found the owners unhelpful and unfriendly, and the worst shock came when we left and had to pay -€90 per night for an awful room, and a tiny breakfast.

Look elsewhere for accommodation!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in Corsica, "hiking in comfort", and as luck would have it, we discovered Vallecime, a family-run business which offers tailor-made hiking tours, exquisite B&B accommodations, gourmet local cuisine, transportation to and from the two B&Bs, luggage transfer from one B&B to the other, pick-up at your hotel, drop-off at the airport, and unparalleled hospitality. We chose a 7-day package which included three nights at Casa Capellini in San Andrea di Bozzio, three nights at Casa Vanella in Casamaccioli, and one night at a beautiful hotel overlooking the bay of Porto. Also included: three Corsican meals a day, the services of the best guide in central Corsica (Jean-François was born and raised there and knows hiking trails that most tourists will never find--we were lucky enough to see bighorn sheep!). We learned so much about local culture, history, language, flora, fauna and politics!
We were privileged to be staying with Corsicans, because we felt we experienced real life in the heart of Corsica. Since Pascale, Jean-François and their two charming children reside at Casa Vanella, we had the opportunity of getting to know a local family who are fiercely proud of their heritage, and rightly so.
Whether it be a one-night stay at one of their B&Bs, two days of hiking in different locations, or a tailor-made week of hiking to suit your athletic ability, Vallecime has something for everyone and will take care of everything.
N.B. Pascale speaks Corsican, French, Italian, Spanish, as well as English.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Capellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Capellini

Address: Poggio, 20212 Sant'Andrea-di-Bozio, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Sant'Andrea-di-Bozio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Andrea-di-Bozio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All around Casa capellini in the freshness of the chestnut trees and beeches groves, among the high schist houses, you will be in a true historical village, and not far, you can even visit beautiful Romanesque chapels with splendid frescoes. You are 20 min far from CORTE, historical Corsican capital, where you can hike and swim in the valley of Restonica and Tavignano. Unique panorama, perfect cooking, an air of paradise far from everywhere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Capellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Capellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.