We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One trip which will lead to more...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whalewalk Inn & Spa

Save Saved
You added Whalewalk Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   220 Bridge Road, Eastham, MA 02642   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Eastham B&B and Inns
Plainville, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One trip which will lead to more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This establishment was wonderful in all respects. It was clean, well maintained and the hosts were very hospitable. We missed all the summer blooms as we were there in October, but we could see evidence of the flowers that were there earlier...probably lending even more to its beauty. It was charming with a gazebo, adirondack chairs and a swing from one of the trees behind the main building. There were cocktails available at night (Irish whiskey and Bailey's when were were there) as well as cookies. We never made it back for the cheese and crackers offered in the afternoon. The breakfasts were amazing and after the first one we found ourselves wondering what we'd have the next morning! The suite we stayed in was beautiful, relaxing and very clean. Located just off of the Orleans rotary, we found it to be in a very good location on the Cape. Very easy access to Chatham, Orleans and Eastham and not a bad drive out to Provincetown. We absolutely loved it and will surely stay there again!

Room Tip: We were in Barn Room 1, which is a corner suite. It was bright and sunny in the mornings due to wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    12
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
75
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent two nights after our wedding in Orleans at the Whalewalk Inn. The rooms were well appointed.

I think our favorite thing though was breakfast. It was delicious- and the service was superb.

Due to the fact we were exhausted we really weren't able to partake in any of the activities at the hotel but would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay on Cape Cod. Tucked on the Eastham/Orleans border headed towards Rock Harbor, a beautiful resort run by a wonderful couple. We stayed in the Carriage House which is situated behind the main Inn, #3 is a great room with a gas fireplace, private little porch and a Jacuzzi tub. Bed comfort was fair at best, to be totally honest.

Breakfast in the main Inn was Grand Marnier Croissant french toast drizzled with chocolate sauce served with sausage links. WOW! We only could stay for a short weekend. We will definitely be back. Kevin & Elaine are consummate professionals and wonderful hosts. They make you feel like you belong and are welcome,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently returned from our third stay at The Whalewalk Inn. It is beautifully maintained and very comfortable. The innkeepers are very accommodating, and the breakfasts are amazing. It's quiet but convenient location near Route 6 and the Orleans Rotary is perfect if you want to see a lot of the lower and outer Cape. We highly recommend it and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The Carriage House rooms are more private and have a deck or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently completed a weekend getaway at the Whalewalk Inn and Spa - the owners were very gracious and made the experience great. The rooms were spectacular, clean and very home-like. We were treated like family instead of guests. This is a trip worth doing over again. Thank you to the staff.

Room Tip: The room we had had a living area and a bedroom - it was spacious enough for the 2 couples to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I recently started staying at the Whalewalk after many years of staying elsewhere on the outer Cape. I have found my new home away from home. I have stayed in 5 different rooms of varying size and location on the property and all were very charming, good size, clean and nicely decorated. The property is lovely, the location is terrific for terrific restaurants, beaches, shopping, galleries and exploring and the hospitality and warmth from the owners is top notch. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our first B&B experience and we loved it. I loved the attention to detail and Kevin and Elaine were extremely pleasant. Room was very clean and had everything we needed. Location was great as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whalewalk Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whalewalk Inn & Spa

Address: 220 Bridge Road, Eastham, MA 02642
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whalewalk Inn & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reader’s Choice Silver Award Winner for the Outer Cape for 2011Readers of Cape Cod Life Magazine have voted, and we are the Silver 2011 winners of the Best of the Cape and Islands Bed & Breakfast Inn on the Outer Cape!The Boston Globe Magazine Travel Section, Sunday, May 15, 2011 highlighted different summer destinations for New England. Eastham was described as a “Cape Cod retreat, home of the National Seashore, where rolling dunes serve as a soft welcome mat for the steady surf.” Only two businesses were mentioned -- The Whalewalk Inn & Spa, as the lodging choice; and Arnold’s Lobster House on Route 6, as the restaurant of choice.Get away from the hustle and bustle of your every day life. Come and relax at Cape Cod’s most romantic and secluded country Inn – quietly tucked away on a country road, but centrally located to all the attractions that make Cape Cod so special. Walk the ‘Outer Cape’ beaches, listening to the soothing sound of the waves, lapping on Cape Cod Bay or crashing at the National Seashore. Partake in some of the finest dining that the Cape has to offer, beginning here each day with a gourmet breakfast served to you at your own private table.Become a part of the history that makes this Inn so special. The Inn was built in 1830 for Henry Harding, a renowned whaling captain. In the early nineteen hundreds it became a gentleman’s farm, known as Whalewalk Farm, then owned by the Kent family of PR Lorillard tobacco fame. With a cow and horse still living in what is now the Salt Box Cottage, the farm was purchased in 1953 and turned into an inn. Since that time it has been authentically restored and creatively redecorated. The common rooms are filled with the Innkeeper’s extensive Waterford Crystal collection, 19th century country antiques from England and France, fresh flowers, and oriental rugs for a warm welcome to start your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Whalewalk Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whalewalk Hotel Eastham
Whalewalk Inn And Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whalewalk Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.