We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, something different on the Cape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Karoo Restaurant

Karoo Restaurant
3 Main Street, Unit 32B, Eastham, MA 02642
+1 508-255-8288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Eastham
Cuisines: Dutch, African, British, Vegetarian, Vegan
Description: Karoo Restaurant is inspired by the diversity of British, Dutch, African, Malaysian, Portuguese and Indian flavors that make up the delicious dishes of Chef Sanette Groenewald's South African homeland. Our eclectic menu ranges from VEGAN, VEGETARIAN, and Gluten free options to homemade burgers, fish & chips, native stews and exotic meats. We carry a wide assortment South African wines and unusual imported beers from all over the world. As always our entire menu is available for dine-in or take-out.
Restaurant details
Description: Karoo Restaurant is inspired by the diversity of British, Dutch, African, Malaysian, Portuguese and Indian flavors that make up the delicious dishes of Chef Sanette Groenewald's South African homeland. Our eclectic menu ranges from VEGAN, VEGETARIAN, and Gluten free options to homemade burgers, fish & chips, native stews and exotic meats. We carry a wide assortment South African wines and unusual imported beers from all over the world. As always our entire menu is available for dine-in or take-out.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Finally, something different on the Cape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We visited Karoo on Sunday night and were vey pleased to see the nice size crowd of people who wanted to try some new style (for Cape Cod) cuisine. They do not take reservations, so wanting to eat at 7pm, we decided to meet at 6:30pm. Good thing we did, because by 7pm, there appeared to be a waiting list for a table. Two of us were familiar with South African cuisine, so we had a sense of what to expect for flavors, and we were not disappointed. We shared the hummus appetizer and the veggie combo appetizer plate, which were excellent. The beef bobotie was delicious and like comfort food. The rest of us had shrimp, both the Cape Malay stew and peri-peri style, which were both good. The two specials were both burgers, albeit interesting (sausage & wild boar), were a bit ordinary (meaning offering burgers, not the meat they were made from). I hope they take advantage of the Cape's abundant seafood and add these types of specials as most people who visit (and us locals) love the fish here. We will return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    29
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We decided that we could have seafood anywhere on the Cape. What a great decision to expand our dinner experience with a trip to Karoo. Never had South African food before. What a treat! Our server explained the different dishes. We started with Peri Peri wings, which were the best wings I have ever had...somewhat charred as if grilled and then doused with Peri Peri Sauce (I brought home a bottle). We both had Cape Malay stew for dinner, mine with shrimp and my husband's with chicken. Both were richly flavored, but not spicy, with wonderful sauce and flavorful rice on the side. We shared a Malva pudding for desert, which was sweet and reminiscent of a bread pudding. I will try to recreate the stew at home, but plan to make Karoo a destination on our next trip the Cape Cod.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great change of pace in Eastham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you are tired of bar food or seafood head over to Karoo a great sit down version of the Provincetown restaurant. They serve lots of interesting sometimes spicy food and some of my favorite falafel. We have tried almost everything on the menu in a few visits and everything is great. The bar serves some great custom drinks and the staff is very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Cape Cod is filled with seafood restaurants, Karoo offers a WONDERFUL DIFFERENCE! We ventured to Karoo with my 80 year old mother. The restaurant was full so we elected to be seated on the deck. Despite the 90 degree heat this was a great choice. The deck is tucked away on the side of the building, you are surrounded by vegetation. There are ample umbrellas offering shade for every seat, and with the breeze we were blissfully comfortable.

We started with chicken wings with peri-peri sauce appetizer. Juicy wings in a sauce with flavors famiiar to me and yet undiscernable. Delicious! My mother opted for the Durban Bunny Stew (no bunnies involved, just lamb). She raved over it. The lamb was tender and moist. The curry sauce offered wonderful spices but not heat. It was perfect. I opted for the Pap and Chukaluka -- translated this means a South African porridge similar to Polenta, and a vegetarian stew of chickpeas, kidney beans, cabbage and curry. Mine was spiced well and with some heat -- perfect for me. My boyfriend had the salmon cakes, very good though I think more a nod to the Cape than South African.

Overall - a delightful surprise. I will go back and encourage you to try the south african flavors Karoo offers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The ambience and food are wonderful. We sat next to a rather loud South African gentleman who raved about how authentic the dishes were. We really enjoyed our meal there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karoo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Karoo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karoo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.