We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Antother Great Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nauset Light Beach

Nauset Light Beach
Ocean View Drive, Eastham, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Eastham
Attraction details
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
747 reviews 747 reviews
371 attraction reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“Antother Great Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Near the Coast Guard Beach and Visitors Center, this beach is expansive so as to accommodate large crowds. The parking lot is set on a bluff with a set of steep stairs that leads to the beach below. Good rest room facilities as well as changing rooms. A periodic visit by a food truck meets the needs of snackers. Check with the Visitors Center to find out if the parking lot is full. Visit the Nauset Light on the north side of parking lot to catch the red and white flashing lights. Check out the Three Sisters Lighthouses about 1/3 mile up the road for a rare view of a unique experiment in a three-fold signal to mariners off the Cape Cod shore. A National Park Service fee is collected during the season.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    21
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Long Wide Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I were on the Cape for a long weekend and decided to check out the terrain at the various Cape Cod National Seashore beaches. This beach is wide and stretches forever, it seems. There was hardly anyone there when we went (too early in the season?).

We've recently become enamored of sunbathing nude, and it seems that with the limited parking lot, we'd be able to walk for a while to find a spot off by ourselves. For now, we were just scouting.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice quiet beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited this beach this weekend. I liked that it had ample parking and was relatively quiet. The facilities were clean and the staircase from the top of the cliff to the sand at the bottom was well maintained. The main drawback for us for this beach were the small flying insects that swarm and bite as one descended down that staircase. The sand also seemed a bit rough with the various debris.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticonderoga, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Closed/ restricted”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Got there only to find the deck and stairs to the beach were blocked off! Off limits! Denied entry to beach! They feel that due to the erosion that collapse could occur and therefore it is all closed. Wish we had known before driving all the way there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful - Cold Water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've been a fan of this beach for years. We were delighted to find an oceanfront cottage 9/2013 here as it's on the protected Nat'l Seashore which I believe limits buildings to those grandfathered in before its declaration. There has been a lot of dune erosion recently so the long staircase has been rebuilt (again) but this time they split the long case into 2 wings, which helps with traffic flow & provides a breather to rest mid way. There are outdoor showers and flush toilets. Large parking lot that does fill by mid-morning in season. The beach is quite long on either side and offers seemingly endless walks. There are now many more seals swimming along shore, but we never saw them beach themselves, even when the beach emptied at day's end. Seals means sharks though, so if you dare to brave the icy water & swim, this thought can dampen the experience. It is hard to find smooth sand without seaweed here, but it is a wonderful beach for simply sitting or walking. Hardly even saw boat traffic.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauset Light Beach also viewed

 

Been to Nauset Light Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nauset Light Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.