We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Wing Guest Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eagle Wing Guest Motel to your Saves list
Eagle Wing Guest Motel
960 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
saratoga springs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Caring owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2006

Mary & Gerry, the owners, always go out of their way to make our stay perfect.
The ambiance is wonderful, and caring. The rooms are immaculate, spacious, and quiet. We think the guidelines established add to the mutual enjoyment for all the guests. Mary's artwork, and Gerry's eclectic musical background are an additional plus that we always appreciate. The location, so near the Orleans traffic circle, place it at an optimum location for us to enjoy the Orleans/Eastham, and nearby Cape experiences. A rare jewel, even for New England.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    41
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
141
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, KY
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

The facility was immaculate, with the cleanest room in which I have ever stayed. The grounds were quiet, while conveniently located for touring the entire Cape. The owners were very friendly and helpful, having genuine concern for the comfort of their guests. They also were concerned with conserving the beautiful environment of the Cape. Overall, a pleasant and relaxing experience for us. Thanks Gerry and Mary!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delmar, ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2006

Accessible to all parts of Old Cape Cod
Clean, newly renovated
Caring owners who live there in the central house
Was appreciative that it was a no smoking motel strictly enforced
Free coffee and muffins each morning
Affordable rates

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

I have stayed at countless hotels and motels over my 45 years, and I have never felt so uncomfortable in my life as my stay at the Eagle Wing. It started badly, and got worse. My girlfriend had called to make reservations for us, and the gentleman that answered said to her you don't sound like you're 21 years old and asked her age. He reminded us children and pets were not allowed on site. She was offended by the age question but we took the room because everything else was booked on this busy August weekend.

So we arrived on site and the first thing we noticed when we arrived were a woman and her small child, approx 2 years old, out by the pool. Then we checked in and noticed the owner had two dogs running around. We were puzzled but the place looked neat and clean so we just shrugged it off. We were reminded of the rules at length by Gerry, the owner, that there was to be no smoking (we are non-smokers) and to turn the air conditioners off when we were not in the room and to leave the refrigerator settings only halfway, and not to waste water, and several other "rules". Suddenly I felt like a school child who had to be told what to do and what not to do because I didn't have any common sense of my own.

The next morning we were having coffee at a table in front of the office and were bombarded by the sounds of an inconsolable, screaming child. We had to get up and leave and finish our coffee in our room. I believe the child belonged to a relative that was staying with the owners. So apparently there are two sets of rules at the Eagle Wing, one for the owners and one for everyone else.

The thing that finally took the prize was we left the "do not disturb" sign hanging on our door when we went out for the day, because we left some items of high value in the room and did not want the maid to go in that day. When we came back to the room later that night, there was a note taped to the door. It stated (exactly was written) "We service the rooms daily. When it is obvious that the room has been vacated, but the do not enter sign has been left on the door, we assume that the chambermaid sign was posted incorrectly. To further ensure the integrity of service and security, we personally service the room. If there is a problem with this, please come to the office to discuss".

Well, after reading that, we were simply floored. The "do not enter" sign was left there because we meant "do not enter". As paying guests of the motel, privacy in our room is our right. Not only was this privacy violated, but the tone of the note was disrespectful and condescending.

To top off our uncomfortable experience at the Eagle Wing my girlfriend was watched as she took some coffee and muffins back to the room and was asked by Gerry, "Are we all set here?" with the implication that she was taking too much.

To sum it up Eagle Wing is not a place that we will stay at again and want others to be aware.

  • Liked — Rooms were neat and clean
  • Disliked — Felt that we were being watched like a hawk
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeCodsBest, Mary and Gerry Orris, Owner/Managers at Eagle Wing Guest Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2006
We fully anticipated a review of this nature from this person. Our response is based on this person’s demeanor and attitude. The overwhelming majority of our Trip Advisor reviews attest to the quality of our property and service. Even though we did not charge this person for canceling the first night of a three night stay less than twenty four hours prior to his scheduled arrival, he still had a problem with our operations. At check-in, we were very open and straightforward about how we manage and maintain our facility. If he had any problems or issues with our approach to the business, it could have been addressed at that time. We did not see or talk to this guest again until his departure.

The Eagle Wing Guest Motel is not only our livelihood, it is also our home. We have always had two toy poodles on the property. They have never been and never will be allowed in our guests’ rooms. Nor will anybody else’s pets be allowed in the rooms. Our pets are very quiet, well behaved, and extremely friendly and go outside only when they need to. Otherwise, they stay in our house. Our family does occasionally visit and were here this particular week-end. When they do visit, they stay with us in the main building, our home. Our granddaughter and her mother utilize the pool only when there are no other guests poolside.

Upon check-out, he was rude and condescending and was informed that he should make future reservations elsewhere. Since in his review he has recommended our property for pet owners, families with young children and families with teenagers when we are for couples and adults and we do not permit pets, one should consider the source when reading this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, VT
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2006

It has been about a month since returning from a perfect week of fun and relaxation at Cape Cod. Our stay at the Eagle Wing Guest Motel was just what we wanted and expected. From the time we pulled in the driveway until the time we returned home our needs were not only met but were exceeded. We had a truly wonderful time. The care and attention given to the grounds and rooms was clearly the work of proprietors who truly cared about the property and the guests who visit.

The rooms were impeccably clean, attractive and comfortable. The pool and grounds were most inviting and a nice place to relax. The location just minutes to the National Seashore and from Orleans making it a great central location to enjoy the Outer Cape. Requests for suggestions from the owners, Mary and Gerry, on where to eat or find other things to do met with excellent results. They would even offer to make a reservation for us at restaurants, and when we accepted would find ourselves in great seats with wonderful service again.

I don't know how I neglected to mention the wonderful "continental breakfast" of juice, coffee and delicious muffins that are freshly baked every morning?

This has been our fourth year staying at the Eagle Wing where we truly feel welcome as valued guests and look forward to returning again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

My husband and I completed our second stay at the Eagle Wing Guest Motel in July '06, and were as pleased this year as we were last year. The rooms are large, immaculately clean, and tastefully decorated. Crisp white bathrooms, crown moldings, chair rails and the owner's original watercolors firmly set these accomodations apart from the typical motel room. Homemade muffins with fresh juice, coffee and a newspaper every morning are a welcome touch.
The owners, Mary and Gerry, are available throughout the day, and take the time to chat as well as provide dining suggestions and other helpful information. They are vigilant in maintaining their mon-smoking standards, so guests can be assured they will find no lingering evidence of smoking in the rooms.
After our visit last year, we recommeded the Eagle Wing to acquaintances of ours, who visited earlier this summer and were very satisfied. We also brought friends with us this year, knowing we could be confident they would enjoy their stay.
Finally, the location of the Eagle Wing is extremely convenient for exploring the many attractions of the Cape. The National Seashore is nearby as are wonderful beaches on the bay side. Provincetown and the villages in between there and Eastham are easily reached, or you can travel in the other direction and find a multitude of things to do and see.
We couldn't be more pleased that we discovered the Eagle Wing.

  • Liked — Clean, tasteful, and spacious
  • Disliked — the pillows
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2006

I thought I was in heaven. A hotel set back off the main road where even in the height of the season, noise was not an issue AND the added plus of a 100% non-smoking property. The room was EXTREMELY clean and the owners very friendly and obviously concerned about providing their customers with a flawless stay. For my husband and I who have no children, it was also very nice to find a property that caters to 'non-family' travelers. Too many times I have been woken up by the excited squeals of young ones up at the crack of dawn ready to hit the pool, not to mention the crying baby in the middle of the night. Nice, personal attention that is lacking in chain hotels. In all my years of traveling, I have never been left a thank you note for gratuity left for the housekeeping staff - until now. The Eagle Wing will definitely be 'our' hotel for future visits to the Cape!

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Wing Guest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Wing Guest Motel

Address: 960 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eastham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Wing Motel is a unique property that combines the personalized touches identified with a guesthouse or inn with the modern conveniences associated with a larger, more upscale facility. The philosophy of this quaint, quiet property is to provide clean, comfortable and hospitable accommodations and personalized services. It is conveniently located to visit and enjoy the entire Cape. The property is for couples and adults only and is totally NON-SMOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eagle Wing Guest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Wing Guest Hotel Eastham
Eagle Wing Guest Eastham
Eagle Wing Guest Motel Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Wing Guest Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.