We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice for 30th Anniversary Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penny House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Penny House Inn to your Saves list
Penny House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4885 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice for 30th Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment we arrived, till the minute we departed, the Innkeepers were accommodating, made us feel welcome and more than that... treated us with the warmth and conversation one extends to family and friends. The Inn is beautiful, clean, warm and inviting. I travel a lot and can be quite picky about where I stay. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. Bed was comfortable, Jacuzzi worked perfectly, bedding was soft and there were plenty of blankets/coverings for those like me who like "heavy" covers in a cool room at night. Our airconditioner worked fine.

Breakfast was delightful. I took a picture of the fruit plate every morning. It was a work of art. Where many of the Bed and Breakfasts have resorted to continental fare, here you get a FULL breakfast. Melissa is a fantastic cook.

Melissa, the Innkeeper/Owner, went out of her way to find us restaurant accommodations and to book me a massage on a weekend where all the massage therapists were booked solid. She finally succeeded and the Inn's spa room was calming, temperature was comfortable and music perfect. Marilyn, my massage therapist, was wonderful.

I rarely write reviews, however, this one deserves to have the positive shout out, especially in light of the one negative review here. For new Innkeepers here who have had to rennovate, reinvent, and revitalize during high season while accomodating clients - what they have accomplished in such a short time is nothing short of amazing.

The breakfast room was light and airy with lots of windows and well attended.

Room Tip: Fat thumb hit Fitness center. So, count it for the spa! We stayed in the Captain's Quarters and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    22
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
5
102
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lombard, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Penny House inn last weekend. The house is lovely and and the innkeeper (Cindy) is very friendly. Our room was a bit on the small side was but was kept clean. The positives include nice breakfast (on the morning we were there, this included fresh fruit plate, yogurt/granola, and blueberry waffles with eggs and bacon), wi-fi availability, dvds available for borrowing, and a a little area with some refreshments (cookies, water, tea, port). The negatives were that our room was warm and muggy despite us cranking up the a/c (the room has an individual a/c unit and it wasn't very effective) and extremely low water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Penny House Inn with a big group (3 families, each with adults in their 50s and kids in their 20s) - and everyone enjoyed it very much. The owners and staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, which made for a very pleasant stay! The inn itself is lovely, with charming, homey decor and beautiful rooms with jacuzzis and fireplaces. The traditional weathered shingles and crushed shell driveway make you really feel like you're in Cape Cod (opposed to some of the hotels/motels in the area).

Food - Each day there was a beautiful fruit arrangement on the table, yogurt and homemade granola, followed by a tasty entree. There's also fruit infused water available all day long and cookies in the afternoon/evening.

Activities - There's a salt water pool and fire pit in the backyard. Coast Guard Beach was only a few minutes drive away, and there are tons of great restaurants, ice cream shops and mini golf within a mile of the inn.

I haven't stayed at another B&B on the cape, but compared to the other full service hotel options in the immediate area -- you'd be missing out if you didn't stay at the Penny House.

Room Tip: The suites vary in layout. While my family stayed in a suite with 1 master bedroom and a daybed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Penny Inn B&B this weekend. On Rt 6 in Eastham, this historical property is well-placed behind tall hedges and a crushed shell parking lot (so the rooms are quiet). The new owner is delightful - friendly, attentive and focused on being helpful to guests (same for the staff). The Inn offers a mixture of rooms/shared spaces - including wide slat floors and beams - so consider your options for room selection. Planned updates/renovations should make the Inn even nicer over time. The breakfast room was cozy with tasty fare and daily alternatives. Nice touches include a salt-water in-ground pool, free beverages (including fruit-infused water) and assorted cookies for afternoon treats. This is an unpretentious B&B (which we like), a convenient location and great place to "hang your hat" for a weekend of fun on the Cape and National Seashore.

Room Tip: Some rooms have attached terraces and new whirlpool tubs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my second time this summer at the Penny House Inn. The first time I was with my sister for a girl’s weekend. Despite that fact that Melissa, Cindy and Nino has just taken over from the former owners on Tuesday and we checked in on Friday, everything went perfectly. We stayed in a suite and it was gorgeous- TV and DVD player, Jacuzzi tub, fireplace. Just lovely.
Breakfast is not to be missed- I’ve had everything from pumpkin pancakes to carmelized onion, mushroom and tomato soufflé. They attend to your every need and most of the time know what you need before they do. The presentation is stunning. I wish I had taken a picture of the way the fruit plate is laid out- just beautiful.
My husband and I went back this weekend and stayed in Moonraker (the top floor of the carriage house. Once again we had an ouststanding experience. I still can’t believe how well the inn is run given they’ve had 8 weeks. The inn is run like they have been there for years.
I have to say that although the food is great, the rooms are beautiful, attention to detail outstanding, what I like most about Penny House Inn is the staff. So friendly, funny and attentive without hovering. Can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful but I like the ones that overlook the pool. The Moonraker is great- huge, fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arrived at 830 pm were welcomed in, shown all the amenities. Rooms clean, smelled nice. Inn keeper was very nice and warm. Provided a spectacular ace for dinner. Value for the dollar a little bit pricy, but i would still come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

In mid-June, my wife and I spent three nights at this Inn and enjoyed every minute. We were welcomed as special guests the moment we walked in. As newly-weds (ages 66 and 72), we treated ourselves to the honeymoon package--champagne, chocolates, roses, whirlpool, massages--and couldn't have been more pleased. The food and staff are excellent, and it is a great base for exploring the National Seashore and the culture of Provincetown. If you don't stay here, you'll miss the handcarved fruit plate presented by Nino, an Italian artist.

Les and Theresa

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Penny House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny House Inn

Address: 4885 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 12-room B&B inn. All rooms have TV/VCR, phone and private bath. Rooms and suites available with whirlpool tub & fireplace. Open year round. Outdoor heated pool May-September, full breakfast & afternoon tea included. Honeymoon Packages available. Pet friendly room available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Penny House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny House Inn And Day Spa
Penny House Inn & Day Hotel Eastham
Penny House Inn Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.