We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Owners - Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penny House Inn & Day Spa

Save Saved
You added Penny House Inn & Day Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Penny House Inn & Day Spa
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4885 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Eastham B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“New Owners - Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Penny Inn B&B this weekend. On Rt 6 in Eastham, this historical property is well-placed behind tall hedges and a crushed shell parking lot (so the rooms are quiet). The new owner is delightful - friendly, attentive and focused on being helpful to guests (same for the staff). The Inn offers a mixture of rooms/shared spaces - including wide slat floors and beams - so consider your options for room selection. Planned updates/renovations should make the Inn even nicer over time. The breakfast room was cozy with tasty fare and daily alternatives. Nice touches include a salt-water in-ground pool, free beverages (including fruit-infused water) and assorted cookies for afternoon treats. This is an unpretentious B&B (which we like), a convenient location and great place to "hang your hat" for a weekend of fun on the Cape and National Seashore.

Room Tip: Some rooms have attached terraces and new whirlpool tubs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    18
    8
    3
    9
See reviews for
4
86
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my second time this summer at the Penny House Inn. The first time I was with my sister for a girl’s weekend. Despite that fact that Melissa, Cindy and Nino has just taken over from the former owners on Tuesday and we checked in on Friday, everything went perfectly. We stayed in a suite and it was gorgeous- TV and DVD player, Jacuzzi tub, fireplace. Just lovely.
Breakfast is not to be missed- I’ve had everything from pumpkin pancakes to carmelized onion, mushroom and tomato soufflé. They attend to your every need and most of the time know what you need before they do. The presentation is stunning. I wish I had taken a picture of the way the fruit plate is laid out- just beautiful.
My husband and I went back this weekend and stayed in Moonraker (the top floor of the carriage house. Once again we had an ouststanding experience. I still can’t believe how well the inn is run given they’ve had 8 weeks. The inn is run like they have been there for years.
I have to say that although the food is great, the rooms are beautiful, attention to detail outstanding, what I like most about Penny House Inn is the staff. So friendly, funny and attentive without hovering. Can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: They are all wonderful but I like the ones that overlook the pool. The Moonraker is great- huge, fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Arrived at 830 pm were welcomed in, shown all the amenities. Rooms clean, smelled nice. Inn keeper was very nice and warm. Provided a spectacular ace for dinner. Value for the dollar a little bit pricy, but i would still come back here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

In mid-June, my wife and I spent three nights at this Inn and enjoyed every minute. We were welcomed as special guests the moment we walked in. As newly-weds (ages 66 and 72), we treated ourselves to the honeymoon package--champagne, chocolates, roses, whirlpool, massages--and couldn't have been more pleased. The food and staff are excellent, and it is a great base for exploring the National Seashore and the culture of Provincetown. If you don't stay here, you'll miss the handcarved fruit plate presented by Nino, an Italian artist.

Les and Theresa

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This could be a great Inn. Breakfast delicious, rooms clean. Good location with privacy from road. Biggest problem is innkeepers, they don't seem to like their job. They don't know who the guests are, Melissa seems overworked and even though her words are polite, she makes you feel like you're imposing. We both felt this as soon as we arrived and it didn't change over the few days we were there. Also a/c noisy and bed sheet corner constantly come off of bed. These little touches are what separates the great BandBs from the so so. So some very good, some annoying aspects.

If they could learn to be more gracious and welcoming, and do a little fix-up, they could have a winning property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My wife and I spent a few days at the Penny House and it was like being in your own vacation home with staff of servants. It was so relaxing and comfortable. the grounds and rooms are meticulously kept and Melissa and her staff are there to serve you. The breakfast was amazing! I will return to the Penny House next summer. Cant wait!

Room Tip: Get "Pennies from Heaven", it has a balcony over the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Melissa and her crew made us feel so welcome and cared for. The breakfasts were works of art as well as nutritious. She upgraded our room without our asking. Very lovely and gracious setting, close to all the activities we love on the cape.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penny House Inn & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny House Inn & Day Spa

Address: 4885 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penny House Inn & Day Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 12-room B&B inn with on-site private day spa. All rooms have TV/VCR, phone and private bath. Rooms and suites available with whirlpool tub & fireplace. Open year round. Outdoor heated pool May-September, full breakfast & afternoon tea included. Spa & Honeymoon Packages available. Pet friendly rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Penny House Inn & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penny House Inn & Day Hotel Eastham
Penny House Inn And Day Spa
Penny House Inn & Day Spa Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny House Inn & Day Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.