We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!!!! Informative, pretty and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Pond Visitor Center

Salt Pond Visitor Center
Route 6, Eastham, MA 02642
508-255-3421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular replica of an Indian settlement.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great!!!! Informative, pretty and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a nice walk on the ocean here, saw an informative little film about how the Cape was formed and changes over time, and explored a little museum. It was perfect for a drizzly afternoon on the Cape! Our little ones (4 and 2) found some great books in the gift shop. Very clean, open and bright. (There were a few volunteers, young people, who didnt seem to know much at all about the wildlife on the Cape, but the more seasoned staff answered all our questions about horseshoe crabs and hermit crabs.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nora_S57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“All the answers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

obviously this is the place to go for info on the area beaches, and things to see. This is a National Park Service center so it is maned by Park service Guides. They can tell you about places that may or may not be open because of storm damage, weather, etc. There is also and interesting gift shop there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vincent Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went with two small children and found a couple of short trails we could all enjoy together. The trail designed for the visually impaired actually worked great for my two-year-old, as she could follow the rope along the path to keep her on track. A section of one trail was closed due to a washout but a warning sign was posted at the head of the trail. We also enjoyed two interpretive films and the please touch area with shells in the visitor center itself.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Momoftwo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful guidance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stopped by the Visitor Center to obtain some direction before we headed off to see the beaches, lighthouses and walk the Cedar Swamp Trail. The Park Ranger was very knowledgable and provided us with maps and recommendations. The Center is built in a picturesque spot right off of the main road. Stop here before driving through the National Seashore area--invaluable!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrailsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

You must go. See one of the movies. Use the clean bathrooms. Visit the really neat gift shop. Stroll through the small museum. Ask the rangers any question you like! sign up for any of the tours or classes for children. Go clamming on Sundays!! walk the 2 mile trail and bring you camera. Take the tram to the beach (seasonal) . GO. Go GO! Please leave a donation .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stargazerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Pond Visitor Center also viewed

 

Been to Salt Pond Visitor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing