We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, well-run motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Shores Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Viking Shores Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viking Shores Motor Lodge
5200 Route 6, P.O. Box 1899, Eastham, MA 02651   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Eastham
Bethesda, MD
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“clean, well-run motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Viking Shores is a older, typical, 60's motel. We were a little skeptical because of its age but the place is very clean and the staff are incredibly accommodating. The rooms are average size with room for queen-size bed, a small table, and lounge chair. The beds are firm and the bathroom although old was spotless, and water-pressure in shower was strong. Towels are a bit thin. AC worked well (and it was over 90 degrees while we were there). There is a continental breakfast (juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruit, English muffins, cereal, toast and donut holes), which is fine.

The property is very close to the Cape Cod Rail Trail for cycling, running, walking and a local bike shop will deliver rental bikes to the motel. (We didn't use that service and instead just went the shop (Idle Times) and rented bikes. The CCRT is 22 miles long, so you can get a good workout just cycling the trail.)

Overall, we were pleased with staying at Viking Shores and would recommend it for what it is: an older, well-maintained and well-run old-time motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing Rte. 6, because it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Thanks Zach and Shelby for a great stay at your family owned motor inn. We took our kids there for a few days of beaches, biking and relaxation. You guys have a great spot for all of that and more! The rooms were freshly painted and clean and my kids loved the pool. We loved the value and the great breakfast bar that was included...we rented bikes one block away and the motel is even right on the bike trail...so convenient! You two were so sweet to us and so accommodating. Loved that it's a true motor inn...we could actually park in front of our room...super convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield,MA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed last week at this many- time- returned- to lodging spot. Many rooms have been painted and the rooms continue to be very clean and comfortable if that is what you are looking for-a basic place to stay and have continental breakfast each morning,and enjoy the Rail Trail, which we continue to do. Traffic lights nearby make it easy to enter and exit when you are on your way to visit the attractions on the Cape including the beaches. Yes, it is fairly close to the road, but in the summer the air conditioner drowns out most of that noise, excluding any ambulances. Again, if attending the Cape Cod Institute or New England Educational Institute you are 5 minutes or so away from both locations. There is also a convenience store a block away-walking distance. If a Fall trip to the Cape interests you, checkout when the Viking Shores closes for the season but take advantage of the low off season rates.

Room Tip: If you believe that road noise will disturb you, request one of the rooms away from the road, especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The inn is pretty clean. The room is basic as basic can be, but what more do you need. The location is tough...but only because we mostly went to Skacket and Naucet beaches about 15 mins away. Also didnt care to be put right against the road, which was crazy noisy. After it is all said and done, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Room was adequate for a value motel...nothing special but we didn't need anything special. Grounds were well kept except for what appeared to be a "permanent" guest with his car being torn apart and repaired right in the parking lot.
Was looking for a pleasant start to the day by having a shower, only to find not one drop of hot water. Only thing worse than no hot water was the management response to my question of hot water....."we'll have to look into that."
Very disappointing to receive that level of dis-service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbury, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My family and I stayed in two rooms from 8/11 - 8/14. We LOVE this location and have been to this motel before - it's close to P-town and the best beaches on the Cape. Nauset Light (best beach EVER) and Coast Guard are super close (don't even need to travel 6 to get to either). My daughter and I stayed in room 128. All kidding aside, we both felt a malevolent presence in the room and each night we would hear strange noises inside the room itself. My phone would suddenly lose its battery charge and my daughter's phone would light up in the middle of the night as if a text or call was being received but nothing came thru. During the last night of our stay, the alarm bell right outside our door went off twice (unexplained by staff). Very strange and unsettling for a non-superstitious person.... Regardless, I would recommend - just not room 128!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield,MA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

If you are looking for elegant and spa like, this is not the place. But it is clean, provides a basic breakfast in a breakfast room (included in the price), has refrigerators in the room, and backs on the rail trail in case you want to do an early morning no muss, no fuss walking or running or biking workout. Not as expensive as many places this size, it also has a nice small pool. Location is great, close drive to Nauset Light beach unless you want to walk the 1+ mile distance, and at the end of the driveway is a traffic light for easy access back onto the major road. Close to National Seashore center and beaches, bayside beaches, Orleans, and WEllfleet. Great if you are attending a summer conference, less than two miles from conference sites.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Book early and you might want to look at the location diagram and talk to the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Viking Shores Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Shores Motor Lodge

Address: 5200 Route 6, P.O. Box 1899, Eastham, MA 02651
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Affordable Eastham, MA accommodations near the Cape Cod National Seashore. On the Cape Cod Rail Trail / Bike Path *Choose from 40 smoke-free rooms, perfect for day or weekend trips, family reunions, wedding guests and group getaways. Our Motel offers a spacious coffee bar area great for family gatherings or conference center. Thoughtful, family-friendly amenities include in-room refrigerators, Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary continental breakfast daily, Direct access to the Cape Cod Rail Trail / Bike Path, Outdoor Pool & No minimum night stay required. Plus, a number of Cape Cod restaurants and beaches are within easy driving distance from our relaxing Cape Cod motel. Guests at our Cape Cod motel get the advantage of two motels in one. All the amenities at the Blue Sea Motor Inn located in Truro are available to our guests. Amenities include a heated indoor pool & whirlpool, Private Beach Access to the Cape Cod Bay & Free parking for the shuttle into Provincetown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Viking Shores Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Shores Hotel
Viking Shores Motor Lodge Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Shores Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.