We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel got excellent and very honest staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Town Crier Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Town Crier Motel to your Saves list
Town Crier Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3620 Rt 6, PO Box 457 Rt 6, Eastham, MA 02642   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“This hotel got excellent and very honest staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have never been so impressed in my life as when I experienced the honesty and goodness of the people who tended to our room in Town Crier Motel in Eastham Massachusetts on August 10, 2010. On this day I thought I lost my Rolex watch during our day trip to Martha's Vineyard. When I came back to our motel in the evening, my watch was there on our clean and made-up bed. Amazing!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    47
    13
    14
    19
See reviews for
48
53
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever been to. When we walked into our room it smelled like vomit and the rug was stained and filthy. There were numerous flies in the room, probably because the screens didn’t fit the windows properly and you had to open the windows to air out the stench. The beds and pillows were cheap and uncomfortable, after tossing and turning all night we all woke up with new bites all over our arms – fleas or some kind of bug.
We spent the first morning of our vacation on the phone trying to find another hotel but everything was booked. Realizing we had to spend another night, we then asked if we could switch rooms or get a cot, and were rudely told ‘no and there’s nothing wrong with the beds’.
The bathroom was beyond gross – the floor was filthy. When I put a white towel on the floor, the underside turned black. The sink faucets didn’t work properly.
There was no free wi-fi as advertised, and the indoor pool closed at 8 PM, early for any vacationer who goes out to dinner.
The worst part was the inexcusable way the hotel staff treated their guests. They were insulting and rude, they did nothing to address our complaints, and told us we were the ones with problems.
I have never seen such low class human beings before as I saw in this hotel staff. Save your money and save your vacation—keep away from this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We usually go to the Upper Cape every Sept. and stay at the Eagle Wing Guest Motel which is really excellent. This year we traveled in August w/ our teenagers. (Eagle Wing doesn't normally allow children and besides, they were booked solid). We arrived by 10 a.m. and not surprisingly our room wasn't ready; but they allowed us to park in the shade and from there, since they are almost directly on the bike path, we took our bikes and biked 4 miles up the path to Marconi Beach for the day. Easy!
The rooms were larger and brighter than we were expecting, even w/ some nice trendy wall art. Beds were great and the place was quiet even though it was peak season.
The indoor pool was large. The bathroom was a bit dated, no frills, but certainly clean!
An added bonus is that you are right next door to Arnolds which has excellent mini-Golf and Excellent ice-cream. The kids even had me march over one night for 4 large scoops of hard ice-cream, w/ 4 spoons, all in one container. Each scoop a different flavor!
Easy!
We did not have B-fast here but mostly because we like getting up early and eating across the street at The Fairway. (Better atmosphere).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

it's very outdated. That can be part of the charm of the place when it isn't filthy with non-working door locks, backwards faucets, foot prints on the walls, and make up on the light switches with mold in the bathroom. I have a toddler, cleanliness is much more important than the design of the place. My child is not allergic to anything that we have discovered yet, but work up covered in a weird rash after staying there. We arrived late so hadn't even gone to the beach or anything, the source was certainly the motel. They were rude, unhelpful, refused to refund, and double charged me. After several phone calls trying to rectify the situation and get them to honor their stated cancellation policy, they still refuse and are completely unhelpful. I'd rather spent the gas money to travel back and forth daily from CT than to stay a single night there ever again. They have a AAA sign yet won't provide a discount and say they are no longer affilliated - FALSE ADVERTISING IS PUNISHABLE BY LAW. These people need to be shut down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Throwback to the old mom/pop hotels of yester-year. My niece loved the mint green tub/sink/stool combo. The rooms were clean and retro 1970s. Slept well but the mattress was not the most comfortable. It was by far the best value for the money our entire trip.....clean and reasonably priced. Have an on-site breakfast buffet for $7.50 (juice or coffee) that includes individually made omelettes. Oh yes, take the bike path in back and walk to Arnold's Restaurant for some of the best seafood on the Cape.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Arrangements to stay at this quiet, quaint, cosey motel was made thru Diamond Tours. Our group was there from 10/19-22/09 and was welcomed with open arms. Ms. Judy and her staff went out of their way to accomodate our needs completely. They even prepared GRITS for our breakfast. The food was great and the service at our morning meals was rated high. The staff was there to assist with our luggage in aiding us to get our proper luggage and to the correct rooms. The rooms were clean and took you back to an easier time of life. No one lacked anything they required. Our group would highly recommend this motel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I recently stayed there 4 nights with a group that occupied 24 rooms. For the most part everyone was very satisfied. Any needs were quickly taken care of as soon as they where reported to the staff. The owner,Judy , and her son ,Joe ,cooked us a wonderful hot breakfast every morning. We would stay there again. Our room was spotlessly clean and well maintained for a motel built in the 50's..The rest of the staff did a great job also,from helping with our luggage, to clearing the tables,or making our beds.The lush green garden made it seem so peaceful around there,we didn't even lock our door when we went to breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Town Crier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Crier Motel

Address: 3620 Rt 6, PO Box 457 Rt 6, Eastham, MA 02642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Town Crier Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a break from your busy day-to-day with a stay at Cape Cod's idyllic, welcoming Town Crier Motel! Family owned and operated for over 25 years, we are the perfect destination for your relaxing weekend getaway. At Town Crier Motel, we are known for our charming, old-fashioned Cape Cod hospitality. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is nothing short of amazing. Let the Town Crier Motel family help your family to have a great stay! We'll get your day started off on the sunny side with our Poolside Restaurant's all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet featuring fresh homemade breads and muffins. Later, you can challenge one another to a game of pool or enjoy a friendly ping pong match in our family-friendly game room. We also have free wireless access in common areas and LCD flat screen TVs in every room. Though you may be tempted to spend all day in our heated indoor pool on summer days, there are plenty of nearby attractions to fill your days. Enjoy a restful afternoon with whale watching along the world famous Coast Guard Beach and elegant dining or seek out a little more adventure while surfing or biking the Cape Cod Rail Trail. Whatever you're in the mood for, we're located near all of Eastham's beaches, lighthouses, and natural attractions. Town Crier Motel's dedication to quality service and proximity to Cape Cod's many attractions are sure to guarantee a lovely getaway for you and yours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Town Crier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Crier Hotel Eastham
Town Crier Eastham
Town Crier Motel Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Crier Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.