We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful & Peaceful.........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheel In Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wheel In Cottages
5490 Route 6, Eastham, MA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Come make some memories!
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful.........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just got back from spending a week at Wheel In Cottages. We stayed at Cottage #2 which was a two-bedroom cottage. We went away with another couple. The cottage was spotless - I mean spotless. If you knew me, you would know I don't say that lightly. It was extremely well kept and well equipped. It had everything you could ask for.

There are only 3 cottages and they are right off of Route 6 - which can get really busy. When you drive in, you honestly feel like you stepped back in time. The grounds are beautifully kept. The 3 cottages are not right on top of each other, so you have privacy. You also don't hear any noise from the road. There is a nice trail that leads to a bike path - in my case a walking path.

The best part of spending the week at Wheel In Cottages was Elke. She was so nice and helpful. We honestly felt that we were spending the week at her home.........which in reality - you are. She takes extreme pride and care in her property. If you are looking for some peace and relaxation - then this is the place for you. If you prefer a chain hotel/motel - then this is not the place for you.

We highly recommend Wheel In Cottages. Thank you Elke for opening your home to us!

Thank you!
Linda, Bob, Fran & Fred (AKA Fritz!)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent a week there at the beginning of the August. Certainly place to be. We are family of four , and the smallest cottage is big enough to accommodate us comfortably. There are three cottages and Elke's house is on the property, and the distance between them is just right, not too far and not too close. Interesting enough, there is no noise from the road. The cottage itself is very clean, the kitchen is fully equipped. The only regret is that we have not had enough time to talk to Elke, we were busy running from ocean to bay to pond and back. Elke is wonderful. So until the next year Elke!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We (two moms and our 8-year-old daughter) just got back from out third stay at Wheel In Cottages (or as we call it, simply "Elke's"), and it was wonderful as usual!

The property itself is lovely: It's just Elke's house and the three cottages, all unique, but all very Cape Cod quaint with cedar shingles. The cottages are spaced out nicely for privacy, but close enough that it feels like a little neighborhood. There are mature trees for shade, and many flowerbeds, window boxes, etc. We always stay in Cottage 1, and love it -- so cozy! It's not fancy, but it is clean, comfortable and cute. There's a regular bathroom, as well as an outdoor shower which is great for rinsing off sand -- both have nice hot water and good water pressure.

The kitchen is compact but has everything you need -- it's not one of those "What can I really cook with a single dented frying pan, a rusty spatula, and a couple of plates?" situations. You'll find all the utensils, pots & pans, colanders, coffee mugs, wine glasses, bowls, plates -- even tupperware for packing beach picnics -- that you'll need, all decent quality and in good shape, as well as a full-sized fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker and blender. We save a lot of money eating at the cottage 1-2 times a day. We bring some groceries, and then supplement with the Eastham Superette (5 minutes away), Orleans Stop & Shop (10 minutes away), Mac's Seafood Market (5 minutes away), and produce from the many farm stands along Route 6.

The location is perfect: It's right on Route 6, but clever landscaping insulates you from the traffic. The back of the property borders the bike path, which is great for running, walking, or of course biking -- it's an easy 10 minute ride to Nauset Light Beach, a beautiful ocean beach that's part of the Cape Cod National Sea Shore, and which is a lot cheaper if you bike in! Many great bay beaches (run by the town of Eastham) are 20-30 minute bike rides, or a 5-10 minute drive (I recommend a weekly Eastham beach sticker). The Salt Pond Visitor Center is right in town too and is great way to learn about the many fun activities run by the National Sea Shore rangers. Provincetown is a 30-40 minute drive to the north, and Yarmouth/Chatham/Brewster are about 30 minutes to the south, so there are plenty of day trip options for whale watches, dining, antiques, people-watching, historic sites, nature hikes, etc.

Elke herself really makes Wheel In Cottages the best though. She is so friendly and welcoming, always available to share tips and advice (or provide extra trash bags!), yet not at all overbearing or intrusive. The cottages are obviously a labor of love, and she does such a great job. One day this trip, we were in Provincetown when an unexpected storm hit. It absolutely poured the whole drive back to the cottage. Of course we had all of our towels, beach blanket and swimsuits out on the clothes line from the day before and were sure they'd be drenched -- but got home to find that Elke had pulled everything off the line as soon as it started raining, folded everything neatly and brought it all all into the sunroom. So we had dry beach stuff the following morning thanks to her!

I can't imagine staying anywhere for a Cape Cod vacation! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 year old and it was perfect. The cottage was a great size which meant that we were able to relax in the evening while the little one was asleep without worrying about waking her up. It was really well equiped so if you wanted you could cook almost anything. Although it looks close to a main road the cottages themselves are surrounded by trees and wildlife so you can happily let little people run round. There is easy non-road access to the bike path and woodland walks. Unfortunately the weather while we were there wasn't great but having the extra inside space was great. Elke provided everything we needed for chldren- cot, high chair and even a drawer full of toys and books which is great when you are travelling.
All in all a great trip. Really good for families. Its not state of the art but if you want clean, comfortable family accommodation then definately recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

My family and I stayed here a couple months back and loved it. It was quiet, clean and peaceful. It made for a truly memorable vacation. There was proximity to a number of picturesque beaches and was able to watch the sun rise over the ocean in the morning with my son (an early riser) and watch it set in the evening over the bay with my daughter. We brought/made lots of food while there, but there was access to quite a few places to eat as well.

The cottages themselves were very well equipped and were just like mini houses. The layout of the cottages was such that we had our privacy and space but could easily visit with family in the other cottages.

Elke was great, very welcoming, accommodating and quite a good conversationalist!

Bill and family, MA

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife, daughter and I just returned from an enjoyable week away at the Wheel In Cottages. The cottage itself was immaculate, and had everything you could think of for an enjoyable week away from home. Elke was like a "mom" making sure we had everything we needed... I initially found Wheel In Cottages on the Internet. and I liked what I saw, not only are the Wheel In Cottages centrally located to many of the Cape's best beaches and the National Seashore, there were many other family fun activities close by like the bike path, the Drive-In movie Theater and the Flea Market, Ice cream, Mini-Golf courses, and many great restaurants.

We look forward to returning to Wheel In Cottages for many years to come.

David, Ellen & Sarah Macone
Milford, CT

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

There is still something special about a Cape Cod vacation. Wheel in Cottages is an ideal place from which to explore the Cape. Cottages are spacious, clean and comfortable. We had everything we needed. Elke is a gracious and welcoming host. We found the cottage to be well-located especially for the needs of our family. Beaches, activities, restaurants and amenities are all nearby. Provincetown is less than half and hour away for those in need of some city life. The Cape Cod National Seashore is still gorgeous, and its beaches are so much fun. It is the classic summer holiday – a day at the beach, followed by some ice cream (or fried clam strips!), and a quiet dinner (as quiet as can be with two kids) in a cottage surrounded by pine trees. Kind of hard to beat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wheel In Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheel In Cottages

Address: 5490 Route 6, Eastham, MA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty lodging in Eastham
Also Known As:
Wheel In Cottages Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheel In Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wheel In Cottages to your Saves list