We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clam rolls... whole belly or strips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacle Bill's

Barnacle Bill's
3126 Cranberry Hwy, East Wareham, MA 02538-4806
508-759-1822
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in East Wareham
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Taunton, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great clam rolls... whole belly or strips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Clams had light crispy batter and they had a large portion in the roll. Great cole slaw and tarter sauce and good portion of fries. Pub style cheeseburgers were also good size and taste good with lettuce tomatoe and pickles were great on the side, also with good portion of fries. Haven't been in a while and they are under new ownership for past year and a half per waitress. The service was good. The girl was pleasant and attentive. Will go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carver, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Clam Chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I stopped there today for lunch. She was pleased that they had clams on the half shell and ordered that to go with a bowl of really excellent clam chowder. I started to order a cheeseburger and asked if I could substitute onion rings for french fries. The waitress said no substitutions were possible. So, instead I had the clam chowder and a side of really good onion rings. They have a nice selection of beer including Samuel Adams, my favorite, so I was pleased about that. They have a nice menu and I'm sure we will return there soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real good place for a meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is the secret place for my son and I. We are big seafood fans and this is our favorite place to get it. This rest of the family are not seafood fans so we stop by when it's just the two of us. Been several times and not disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Reliable place for Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I like to eat at Barnacle Bill's, but the price's are a bit high considering you're eating on paper plates, and the gal at the counter has a hum-drum personality. Even though she was not necessarily being rude, she's certainly wasn't going out of her way to welcome anyone to the restaurant.
She just acted like it was a chore to wait on us, and we were the only people there. Food is pretty good fried stuff, but could have a little less oil remaining in it before it is served, although it is good and hot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good seafood at reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was the first time we had stopped there in a couple of years and were surprised; pleasantly, to discover that there were new owners and a liquor license.

We ordered the fish and chips; two large pieces of haddock that was very fresh and well cooked and a scallop and whole belly clam plate which likewise was fresh tasting and well cooked. The only thing that could be improved would be to do a slightly better job of absorbing the grease after frying.

Interestingly, the gentleman at the table next to us who had a seafood combo that included great looking fried shrimp, offered us some of his onion rings which were very good.

Overall, this was a very good experience and we will definitely stop again on our way home from the cape.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacle Bill's also viewed

 

Been to Barnacle Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacle Bill's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.