We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere ok to poor food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bee-Hive Tavern

Bee-Hive Tavern
406 Route 6a, East Sandwich, MA 02537-1441
508-833-1184
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere ok to poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We wanted to like it, but the food was just a little to weird for us. We have eaten there on previous trips and the first time it was very good, but since then the quality of the food has fallen off.

The location and the building are very nice, a rustic cabin 18th century feel with plenty of parking.

We stopped for lunch and my wife and I had a bowl of "clam" chowder and split a Reuben sandwich. I say clam chowder, but it didn't taste like any clam chowder we have ever tasted,and we have sampled a lot of New England Clam Chowder. The taste was more along the lines of a mix between navy bean soup and clam chowder. We were told there were several different spices that were included in the soup (like an old family recipe), but that just didn't cut it.

The waiter was great. The sandwich OK, but the third trip to the tavern will be our last.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    40
    42
    30
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always a Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We've eaten here off and on during many weekend and day trips to Cape Cod. One word comes to mind - Cozy. Food always good, warm environment. Wish I had a place like this right in my own town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Have been here before and liked it, but this trip was a big disappointment. The taco salad was a plop of chilli on top of iceburg lettuce with some cheese and bland chips on top. No salsa or other condiments. Hamburger was good. Apple crisp was made with canned apples, was gooey, and another disappointment. Will think twice about going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tried and true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've eaten at the Beehive for over ten years and choose it when we want a casual meal with good food and drinks without spending a fortune. It's always consistent and reliable, with good service and decent music on the weekends. Even when it's busy the high booths ensure privacy. The drinks are reasonably priced and so is the food, which is well-prepared, with duck, prime rib, swordfish, or lamb chops all for around twenty dollars. While not gourmet, it's good, it's consistent, and has a relaxed ambience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect Port In A Storm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was a cold and rainy day on the Cape and we stumbled upon The Bee-Hive Tavern. We were looking for lunch and were greeted warmly on entering the tavern. It was warm and cozy with lots of atmosphere. We were seated in an old fashioned booth with a high back that gave us lots of privacy. I had the lobster roll and my hubby had a hamburger, we both had the French fries. The fries were very tasty but the lobster roll was outstanding. One of the best lobster rolls I have ever had. My hubby enjoyed his hamburger as well. Service was friendly and every staff member we encountered was very welcoming. We enjoyed our lunch very much. One item we did not try but looked interesting was their " adult ice cream". They make it right at the inn and this day's flavor was Bailey's chocolate. It sounded wonderful but we were satisfied from our lunch so we couldn't try it. I would highly recommend this tavern for a lunch that was very good with reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bee-Hive Tavern also viewed

East Sandwich, Cape Cod
East Sandwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Bee-Hive Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bee-Hive Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.