We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bargain on the Cape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earl of Sandwich Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Sandwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Earl of Sandwich Motel
378 Rte. 6a, East Sandwich, MA 02537   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in East Sandwich
Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Bargain on the Cape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I and another couple just spent three days on Cape Cod and stayed at this little motel in Sandwich. We had stayed here about 15 or so years ago and thought it was reasonably priced and very clean and quaint then. It still is. Accommodations can be very pricey on the Cape, and this place is a real bargain. The owners are hospitable and gave us good suggestions for restaurants. The rooms are good sized and clean but furniture needs a little painting and shower needs to be recaulked. All in all, though, it's very clean and neat. There is a small pond out behind the motel full of ducks and geese who will gather around the fence for a handout. So after dinner, bring back a left over roll to feed them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    39
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
74
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a charming find! This small hotel harkens back to the motor hotel days, but has been totally remodeled. The rooms are immaculately clean, the grounds are filled with lots of flowers and trees, there is a pond, and many ducks walking around this lovely place. There are St. Francis statues around the grounds which he would approve of with his love for all of God's creation. There is a continental breakfast with muffins, croissants, and don't know if they serve it all the time, but the pumpkin bread is amazing.

Room Tip: Stay here for several nights if you are touring Massachusetts as it is in the center between Boston...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the "Earl" twice this year, most recently for a week on Sept. 10th. It was great, as always! The Innkeepers, Brian & Nancy, are the nicest people in the world, they run a clean, neat and comfortable motel in a nicely wooded area on Route 6A. They still serve a really nice continental breakfast and they have "The Cape Cod Times" every morning which I really appreciate.
I wrote a review of the "Earl" about 3 or 4 years ago, I loved it then and love it now, it hasn't slipped at all!!
We hope to stay there a couple of times again in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollowville, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The motel was clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and prompt. They provided a decent continental breakfast. Nice groomed grounds with a charming duck pond. Train tracks nearby but it only runs during the day so no noise at night. Thank you Tony!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

In recent past years we've stayed in hotels in Middleboro, MA for our annual trips to Cape Cod to take care of some family business. For our Aug 2012 trip it appears that those hotel rates are significantly higher during the summer vacation season for weekends and even more for weekdays. Found the Earl of Sandwich motel based on an Internet search. The Earl of Sandwich motel location is much more convenient for where we needed to be on Cape Cod, and it had lower, more acceptable/reasonable rates for us for non-weekends (Sun nights to Thu nights).

The motel has it own nicely laid out website, and link to an online reservation service, but be aware that the online service may not be providing full info on how many or types of rooms are actually available. Best to call motel directly (800 number) during the day to find out about how many/types of beds in room (affects rate) and whether a room can be used with pets. I think all rooms are non-smoking, but not sure. Motel has one week advance cancellation policy, not as good as for the hotel chains, but not unexpected or too bad for a small property in a vacation area

The room we got was clean and seem relatively well kept up, did not have any objectionable odors, had a queen size bed, LCD TV, and small refrigerator. The air conditioner unit appeared to work OK with a reasonable low noise level. I thought our room was a bit dark so it was necessary to keep a few lights on to see when entering. The bathroom sink area was outside the toilet/shower room, a convenience in the morning when there's two people using the room. One thing of note is that there is no door between between the toilet/shower area and the sink area, not a problem for us, but it's a bit different than we’ve seen in other hotels with similar setups.

There is free in-room WiFi, and computer (did not use) in lobby. However, our room WiFi signal was relatively weak, was able to pick and use with our laptop computer, but my iPhone could not detect the WiFi. There was no AT&T cellphone coverage in our room, weak coverage in parts of the parking area outside the room, slightly better coverage in front of the office entrance.

The included breakfast was small and passable, locate in a small room that also served as a local info literature area, with ice machine, microwave, etc., but no tables/chairs for eating in that small space. Food provides includes some fresh watermelon, pastries (zucchini bread, small muffins and corn bread, croissants), coffee, milk, orange juice, and hard-boiled eggs. There's a nice picnic area nearby with tables, benches, and chairs where one can have a pleasant breakfast in good weather, and enjoy the nicely laid out grounds and an enclosed area that has a pond and ducks and geese.

Not much in the way of food establishments near the hotel, but there's no shortage of eating establishments in this vacation area within a 5 or 10 mile radius of the motel.

Our stay at this location was pleasant; we would recommend it.

Room Tip: If have preference, ask whether rooms available are "pets allowed" or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice motel and friendly staff, we enjoyed our one night stay August 20th, 2012, wish we would have had more time to stay in Sandwich. Make sure you go to the Beehive Tavern close by for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farragut, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We found this motel to be clean and quiet. The grounds are nicely kept. We enjoyed sitting on our deck and feeding the ducks and chickens at the pond. A computer was provided on sight to research travel arrangements. The home made bread and fresh eggs at breakfast were enjoyed at the picnic tables that looked out at the pond. A camp fire was provided at night. The owners were friendly and helpful with our trip arrangements. A very charming motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Sandwich
Independent Hot...
Show More
13.2 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
Free Parking, I...
Show More
13.9 mi away
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
Free Breakfast...
Show More
11.0 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#2 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, R...
Show More
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Cape Cod - West Yarmouth
Independent Hot...
Show More
1.9 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#1 of 3 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl of Sandwich Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl of Sandwich Motel

Address: 378 Rte. 6a, East Sandwich, MA 02537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in East Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Earl Of Sandwich Hotel East Sandwich
Earl Of Sandwich East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl of Sandwich Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Earl of Sandwich Motel to your Saves list