We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Earl of Sandwich Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Earl of Sandwich Motel to your Saves list
Earl of Sandwich Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   378 Rte. 6a, East Sandwich, Sandwich, MA 02537   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Hollowville, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The motel was clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and prompt. They provided a decent continental breakfast. Nice groomed grounds with a charming duck pond. Train tracks nearby but it only runs during the day so no noise at night. Thank you Tony!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    57
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
96
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

In recent past years we've stayed in hotels in Middleboro, MA for our annual trips to Cape Cod to take care of some family business. For our Aug 2012 trip it appears that those hotel rates are significantly higher during the summer vacation season for weekends and even more for weekdays. Found the Earl of Sandwich motel based on an Internet search. The Earl of Sandwich motel location is much more convenient for where we needed to be on Cape Cod, and it had lower, more acceptable/reasonable rates for us for non-weekends (Sun nights to Thu nights).

The motel has it own nicely laid out website, and link to an online reservation service, but be aware that the online service may not be providing full info on how many or types of rooms are actually available. Best to call motel directly (800 number) during the day to find out about how many/types of beds in room (affects rate) and whether a room can be used with pets. I think all rooms are non-smoking, but not sure. Motel has one week advance cancellation policy, not as good as for the hotel chains, but not unexpected or too bad for a small property in a vacation area

The room we got was clean and seem relatively well kept up, did not have any objectionable odors, had a queen size bed, LCD TV, and small refrigerator. The air conditioner unit appeared to work OK with a reasonable low noise level. I thought our room was a bit dark so it was necessary to keep a few lights on to see when entering. The bathroom sink area was outside the toilet/shower room, a convenience in the morning when there's two people using the room. One thing of note is that there is no door between between the toilet/shower area and the sink area, not a problem for us, but it's a bit different than we’ve seen in other hotels with similar setups.

There is free in-room WiFi, and computer (did not use) in lobby. However, our room WiFi signal was relatively weak, was able to pick and use with our laptop computer, but my iPhone could not detect the WiFi. There was no AT&T cellphone coverage in our room, weak coverage in parts of the parking area outside the room, slightly better coverage in front of the office entrance.

The included breakfast was small and passable, locate in a small room that also served as a local info literature area, with ice machine, microwave, etc., but no tables/chairs for eating in that small space. Food provides includes some fresh watermelon, pastries (zucchini bread, small muffins and corn bread, croissants), coffee, milk, orange juice, and hard-boiled eggs. There's a nice picnic area nearby with tables, benches, and chairs where one can have a pleasant breakfast in good weather, and enjoy the nicely laid out grounds and an enclosed area that has a pond and ducks and geese.

Not much in the way of food establishments near the hotel, but there's no shortage of eating establishments in this vacation area within a 5 or 10 mile radius of the motel.

Our stay at this location was pleasant; we would recommend it.

Room Tip: If have preference, ask whether rooms available are "pets allowed" or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Nice motel and friendly staff, we enjoyed our one night stay August 20th, 2012, wish we would have had more time to stay in Sandwich. Make sure you go to the Beehive Tavern close by for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farragut, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We found this motel to be clean and quiet. The grounds are nicely kept. We enjoyed sitting on our deck and feeding the ducks and chickens at the pond. A computer was provided on sight to research travel arrangements. The home made bread and fresh eggs at breakfast were enjoyed at the picnic tables that looked out at the pond. A camp fire was provided at night. The owners were friendly and helpful with our trip arrangements. A very charming motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at this motel for a couple of nights in July.

It is near East Sandwich and, while there is a restaurant within easy walking distance you'll need to use the car if you want more choice and to go further afield. The setting is rural with a delightful duck pond. Cars are easily parked directly outside each room.

The rooms are large with a sink area, bathroom, seating area and, in our case, a reasonable size double bed. Wifi is provided and there are plenty of points available to charge all the electronic gear that we tend to roam around with these days. Apparently, a swimming pool is availanble but we did not make use of it. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom perhaps a little dated but functional with a shower over a small bath. The replacement of the large elderly cathode ray TV with a similar size flat screen would save space.

Breakfast was provided but was a rather strange affair in some ways. No seating area is provided but picnic tables can be used in good weather. The selection of food on offer was fair though the omission of normal bread and any cutlery was rather strange. The absence of milk (only half and half provided) would seem unusual to non USA guests.

The owner and staff are friendly enough.

Overall, a pleasant rural motel. The breakfast offer could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The Earl of Sandwich harkens back to motels of my youth, before the big name chains existed. It is clean, quiet and the innkeepers have kept pace with technology by providing WIFI and cable. They even include a continental breakfast which is enjoyed in the most beautifully maintained grounds and accompanied by a wide variety of ducks and geese who are quite entertaining. A definite 5 star rating.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent a week at the Earl of Sandwich, exploring the Cape. Perfect location, quiet with wonderful wildlife all around and charming considerate hosts.
Home made continental breakfasts,( you must try the zucchini bread) were wonderful, the pool was immaculately clean and quiet and the gardens delightful.
The only problem was not wanting to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Sandwich
10.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
13.9 mi away
CapeWind Waterfront Resort
13.2 mi away
Green Harbor Waterfront Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#3 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
8.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Cape Cod
Comfort Inn Cape Cod
#13 of 22 in Hyannis
3.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#2 of 6 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl of Sandwich Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl of Sandwich Motel

Address: 378 Rte. 6a, East Sandwich, Sandwich, MA 02537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich > East Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Earl of Sandwich Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Earl of Sandwich Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Of Sandwich Hotel East Sandwich
Earl Of Sandwich East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl of Sandwich Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.