We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earl of Sandwich Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Earl of Sandwich Motel to your Saves list
Earl of Sandwich Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   378 Rte. 6a, East Sandwich, MA 02537   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Juneau, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Had a great stay at this relaxing and pleasant motel. I enjoyed my first stay so much, in fact, I came back for a second night later in my trip. Owners were very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean, comfortable and it was convenient to have a small fridge included. I enjoyed muffins and banana bread in comfortable chairs in the yard, overlooking the duck pond.

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    48
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
89
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is such a quaint little place to stay. We had a really good visit. It was clean. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My sister and I spent Columbus Weekend there. The Cliffords never disappoint! We go every summer and they are always very accommodating to us. My sister and I go there because they make you feel at home. I love it there! Their rooms are always clean and spotless. We love feeding the ducks too :) A must stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This August we clocked 300 miles on a bike trip. Earl of Sandwich Motel (378 Rte. 6a, East Sandwich, MA) was one of our stops. The room was quiet, clean, and quaint. The bathroom was okay ... nothing fancy ... very small but functional. The owner was wonderful! He provided extra towels, brought in a space heater (we were very cold from a day of biking in heavy rain), suggested to eat at The Bee Hive next door (awesome restaurant!), and served a delicious continental breakfast which we ate outside on picnic tables. This place is a throwback to the 50s. Nothing fancy, but a nice stop. It has a quaint pond with ducks and pretty gardens. The pool looked very inviting, but we had to get some miles in on our bike. I got the impression that this was a family-run inn since several kids were helping out. The owner said he's owned it for a couple of decades. I would stay again on a bike trip or with my family. Bottom line: it is quaint and a good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We love the Earl of Sandwich motel for it's unique country settings. Pond with ducks and geese add to the fun. Lots of gardens and quiet sitting areas. The Cliffords are welcoming and their homemade Continental breakfast is an unexpected pleasure. The rooms are clean.We enjoy the romantic canopy bed. Earl of Sandwich is our special get away. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are nearer to the pond. We like that .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to CapeCod for little one night getaway. The place is very stylish, with old style furnitures, but not overloaded. Outside area is perfect to relax and get some fresh air - big yard, wood tables and chairs, very quiet. Coffee, tea, OJ and hard boild eggs, crossaints, muffins and banana bread for breakfast. Place very clean. The only thing that room had strange smell, but i oppened the window and smell was gone in a little bit. Warning for young couples: the bed was little bit unstable and it's to old for sex (am glad I was to pregnant for it anyways). We pushed bed towards the wall and it made it more stable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My wife and I planned to stay at the Earl of Sandwich Motel for the Labor Day weekend because there were few alternatives to take our pooch and because of the rave reviews here on Tripadvisor. We are enticed by the descriptions of the lovely grounds and the "pet friendliness" of the place, including Rex, the dog-like turkey. While we saw reviews describing the rooms as rather basic, we were unprepared for the 50's style motel room we were assigned. No clock, no radio. 15 inch analog TV without a digital converter. Gloomy f aux knotty-pine walls. Tiny room, paper-thin sheets (perhaps 150 thread count?)... All this for $140 per night. We asked for a change of room and were refused. Are we dog-lovers being punished because Rex is now in the great beyond after a run in with a Golden Retriever? We stayed one day and checked out to the nearby Sandwich Lodge, which gave us a much nicer room for much less money (heck, if we didn't have a dog, we would have stayed in a whole suite there for the same $140 per night!) So much for the Earl of Sandwich Motel being "pet friendly."

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Earl of Sandwich Motel, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
As we have had only a few negative reviews and most of our guests tell us that they can "read between the lines", I have never before felt compelled to respond to a review. However, this review touches upon several issues that I feel I need to address. First, the unfortunate demise of Rex, our dog-like pet turkey. Unfortunately he was run down by an unleashed and uncontrolled golden retreiver in July. The owner/guests could not control or retreive their crazed dog. An Xray showed Rex had snapped his femur in two places, so we had to have the vet put him down. The vet said he was 30 lbs and was bred as a meat bird and that his legs could not withstand the stress (and no, we did not eat him). We truely miss watching his antics and watching the guests as they were entertained by Rex. Guests continue to ask for him all the time. Two in the last two days. We have since instituted more strict guidelines for pet owners. Such as, pets must be leashed at all times. Some of this has been met with resistance. We only allow pets in six of our twenty four rooms. These rooms are located in the two back buildings with tile floors. We continually struggle with whether or not we wish to remain pet friendly. We ourselves have two dogs, geese, ducks, chickens, a horse, so it is not that we do not like animals.

Secondly, ComCast finally came this week and installed all the converter boxes. Cape Cod was the last area for the upgrade. Half our rooms currently have flat screen TV's and half have the old reliable 19 inch TV's with tubes. By next year they should all have flat screens. The time is now displayed in all the rooms for those without watches or cell phones.

Thirdly, the two back buildings that overlok the duck pond (one of which this particular guest stayed in) was built in 1985 by the previous owners. Yes, they used walnut paneling throughout. The main building which we just finished renovating was built in the 1960's. So we concentrated on that twelve unit building first. We are now working on the back building opposite the pool which was built in the 1970's. The third building is several years away from having it's paneling replaced. But these rooms, as are all our rooms are SUPER CLEAN and comfortable (some have canopy or 4 poster beds). The two back buildings are requested all the time because they are clean, quiet, off the road, and have views of the ducks and backyard. The very next guest was very dissapointed because she could not stay longer as the room was already booked. The guest checking out of that room this morning was equally as happy with the room.

We do not pretend to be for everyone, nor do we want to be for everyone. Every now and then if someone is unhappy and we cannot remedy the situation, we recommend that they look for other accomodations and we quickly and cheerfully refund their remaining money. That is exactly what we did in this case (and they were not refused another room, it was Labor Day Weekend and we did not have another room available.) There was no haggling about the 7 day refund policy or having to re-rent the room first. Although we knew we would and did re-rent the room. We realize that we will never make everyone happy 100% of the time. Unhappiness can be infectious.So we are glad that the Sandwich Motor Lodge had an available room for them and their dog and that they were happier there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Earl of Sandwich Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl of Sandwich Motel

Address: 378 Rte. 6a, East Sandwich, MA 02537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Earl of Sandwich Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Earl of Sandwich Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Of Sandwich Hotel East Sandwich
Earl Of Sandwich East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Earl of Sandwich Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.