We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret on the Outer Cape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge

Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge
237 Beach Rd, P.O. Box 642, East Orleans, MA 02643   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in East Orleans
Moretown, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best kept secret on the Outer Cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I owe it to the Nauset Knoll to give it the accolades it deserves, but also want to keep this absolute gem all to myself. Read the reviews ... they are all on point. Location is top notch. Throw back 1950s motor lodge ambiance is charming, rooms are immaculately clean, plenty of room to spread out and take in the clear, wide views of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean in all her glory.

Room Tip: Bring your own mini-coffee pot, but be sure to pick up freshly baked goodies in the morning at the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at the Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge. Located overlooking what is possibly the best beach on the Cape (with an awesome shack too!), it's a very simple motel, with large, but basic rooms (no internet either)... but the views are incredible and worth the price alone. The owners are very friendly and helpful, there is a lovely lawn out front in which to relax, have breakfast or just watch the ocean. It's incredibly quiet and peaceful, and just the perfect place in which to enjoy a relaxing, romantic break. I really liked Orleans too - nicely positioned close to many other towns, and a very nice place in itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family enjoyed our stay at the Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge. The views from both inside and out are beautiful. There is a large lawn area where kids can play at the motel. Nauset Beach is an easy walk just down a small hill and across the lot. You do need to drive to get to town and any restaurants or other sites.

Our room had two double beds. It was clean and pretty roomy. The beds were not terribly comfortable, but it helps you get up to watch the beautiful sunrise.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here a few years ago for a Cape wedding at the groom's recommendation since his family lives on the Cape. The motor lodge os located directly on the beach and is run by the coast guard. I selected it among other suggestions because it was reasonably priced and I did not have to pay for two nights, a common industry tactic during the summer season to boost sales. To start off, it is not fancy by anyone's definition. It is a no-frills motor lodge with outdated rooms, no flat screen tvs (haha! Tv reminded me of my parents old tv from the 80's: tiny screen, boxy shape!) or wi-fi and certainly no maid service and a salty manager to boot. However, the rooms are pristine in terms of cleanliness and the views of Nauset Beach are second to none (each room has a huge bay window and the motel is right on the beach, offering unobstructed ocean viewd). The rooms have more of a cottage feel and a quaintness to them, with clean chenille bedspreads on the beds (honestly, linens were cleaner than at some of the high-end hotels I have stayed at! Chenille bedspread, bedding and towels were just-laundered fresh and pristine in appearance.). For me, this option was a perfect selection as the price was very reasonable, the rooms were immaculate and the ocean views were divine! I would definitely stay here again. If you like hotels with lots of bells & whistles, this is not the place for you! I was simply looking for clean and cheap and the killer beach views were the icing on the cake!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011 via mobile

Our absolute favorite beach on the Cape. My wife and I have been coming to this beach in the off season for years and always wanted to stay here. This year we did it and could not have enjoyed it more. Fantastic view from your room (every room) and literally next to the beach. The gentleman that runs the place is so friendly. We definetly plan to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Our home away from home and on my favorite beach. The view is unbeatable and the rooms are cozy and kept impeccably clean (daily). It's the simplicity of Nauset Knolls that makes it so appealing to us, just easy living for a while, and thats what my kind of vacation is all about. Over the years we have become neighbors and friends with some of the nicest people and John is just so informative and fun to chat with.
See you next year:)

Room Tip: Every room has a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Very basic but impeccably clean. Loved the peace and quiet and fantastic view and location... walk down to the beach! If it matters to you, bring a hair dryer. Would be nice if a community microwave were available. Our unit had only a shower (no bathtub). No air conditioner, but a nice big portable fan was in our room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge

Address: 237 Beach Rd, P.O. Box 642, East Orleans, MA 02643
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lodge with Cape Cod-style units with sweeping views of the ocean. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nauset Knoll Motor Hotel East Orleans
Nauset Knoll Hotel
Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge East Orleans, MA, United States

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nauset Knoll Motor Lodge to your Saves list