We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nauset House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nauset House Inn
Save
You added Nauset House Inn to your Saves list
143 Beach Road, P.O. Box 774, East Orleans, MA 02643   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a magnificent and well-managed B&B. Everything about the Nauset House Inn captures the essence of summer on the Cape. The rooms and common areas are comfortable, the atmosphere is relaxed, and the staff are simply wonderful; to a person, they are friendly, professional, and attentive to detail. It's really hard to imagine a more pleasant stay.

I had a range of breakfast items during our stay, and they were all wonderful. The walk to the beach (12 minutes at my clip) was pleasant, even in the heat of the day, and we made good use of the complimentary beach towels & chairs. We will definitely return in future.

Room Tip: The little cottage in the back has extra privacy and good A/C (apparently uneven quality in some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    15
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
155
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milford, ct
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The owner/operators of this B&B are an incredibly warm and friendly couple, and the B&B itself is full of charm and has a good amount of outdoor open space. Breakfast warm and delicious as well. Some of the guests we met at breakfast had been coming back for years and it was easy to see why.

It's a solid 20 minute walk to Nauset beach. We walked since the roadsigns said the beach parking was full (July 4th weekend), and other than the sweltering heat it worked out just fine. The beach was very very crowded, but the sand stretched on and on and on, so there was still plenty of room. It took over an hour to get ice cream at the food shack though :(

The night we stayed was just hot, hot, hot, and there was no wind. I ended up sleeping on the floor about five inches away from the stand up ac unit that we'd had on max for 12 hours. It was still too hot too sleep. If there was a breeze and it had been cooler (not uncommon from what the other guests said) this wouldn't have been an issue. But I don't think I'd risk staying here again till they re-wire the house to handle industrial strength AC units.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I decided that this past trip to New England was our most successful domestic vacation EVER! A large of that success is due to the incredible hospitality of the Nauset House Inn. (stayed 4 nights) From Judy & John our hosts, to the 5:30-7:00pm happy hour socials, to the amazing Outermost Cottage in the rear of the property...perfection. Also, I must say that the breakfasts were beyond expectation. Normally you are served what is being served that particular morning but at the Nauset, there was actually a daily menu with 4 or 5 choices. Whoever was making the eggs truly understands how to prepare them without sacrificing texture, flavor, and appropriate moisture. If you're fortunate enough to get a reservation at this special place, consider yourself blessed.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a rustic cabin feel, try the Outermost Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is our second visit to the Inn,It just gets better
Meet guests who we had meet the previous year & guests who had been returning for the last 29 years!
That should be a good indicator for how good this place really is!
Thank you Cindy. John & Judy for making our stay so great, The breakfasts so good,Such a great trip.
Thanks again.
Karen & Stewart, Uk

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My parents have been going to the Nauset House for 30 years, and this summer they finally let me and my husband share their special place. We’re so glad they did! Cindy, John, Diane, and Judy are all so welcoming and are a joy to talk to. We stayed in the Rosebud room which has a private interior stair next to the dining room and a balcony with two chairs (and a little peek at the ocean!). You can feel the love and creativity that has gone into this place everywhere you look. It’s the true definition of charming.

The breakfast each morning was excellent – fresh muffins and a selection of omelettes, pancakes/waffles, granola, etc. which changed daily. There are no TVs in the rooms, which is great in my opinion! More time to focus on the people you came there to spend time with. And you can’t beat the location – close to a beautiful beach and a short drive to pretty much everything on the Cape.

I can see why my parents have been visiting for 30 years! We’re already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rosebud has a balcony with a little ocean view and direct access to the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stay once and you'll return whenever you can. An oasis even in the midst of all the Cape has to offer. And down the road from Nauset Beach.....the best in the world. Cindy, We first came in 1974 and were hooked immediately. Cindy, John and Diane have carried on a tradition of warm welcomes, inviting rooms and have become great friends. And the breakfasts are really good, too.
We'll be back in August.

Room Tip: Take your pick. They are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, MA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It's not surprising that people, including us, come back to Nauset House year after year. Cindy, John and Diane are family and they make you feel a part of theirs, and now Judy has joined as well. You can have lots of time to yourself, out in the garden, in the conservatory, or in your warm, inviting room. Or you can join the conversation each evening in the living room as people plan their dinners out and other night-time activities. There has to be at least one walk each day to spectacular Nauset Beach, about 1/2 mile or so down the road. There are lots of things to do in this lovely part of the Cape but what keeps bringing us back is the relaxing, familiar and welcoming atmosphere at Nauset House Inn. Not only do we run into other guests whom we have met before, almost every trip we meet an international family or group at breakfast or in the evening. It is great to hear about their country, their travels and what brought them to Nauset House. We have many wonderful memories from the past more than 30 years we have been coming, and hope to have more. This past visit, our 26 year old son joined us and was surprised at how fun it could be to sit and chat with other guests in the living room and over breakfast. At Nauset House people remember the simple pleasures.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and when you reserve they will help you find the one that is right for you. Hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nauset House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauset House Inn

Address: 143 Beach Road, P.O. Box 774, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nauset House Inn is a place where the gentle amenities of life are still observed... a quiet place removed from the cares of a workaday world... a place where sea and shore, orchard and field all combine to create a perfect setting for tranquil relaxation. Family owned and operated since 1983. Fourteen guest rooms with a complimentary full breakfast served everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nauset House Hotel East Orleans
Nauset House Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nauset House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.