We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nauset House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nauset House Inn
143 Beach Road, P.O. Box 774, East Orleans, MA 02643   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Southbury, CT
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is the best Inn we have stayed at in a very long time. The Inn keepers are wonderful, very caring and attentive. The rooms are beautiful, breakfast is outstanding, service you cannot beat. John, Cindy, Diana and Judy are such wonderful host and hostesses, from getting you coffee or tea first thing in the morning to service wine and appretizers in the early evening before one goes out for dinner. They will make all you reservations for you and give ideas as to where you might want to dine. I can't say enough about this Inn in E. Orleans, MA. This was our fourth year going to Nauset House Inn and we are looking forward to returning next year and for many years to come.

Room Tip: If you are older you might want to select one of the rooms on the first floor in the main Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
140
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you want a peaceful, relaxing, and laid-back visit to the Cape, the rustic and beautiful Nauset House Inn, in East Orleans, MA, only a short walk from Nauset Beach, is the place to go. Friends and I have visited there many times over the years as our special "getaway" place. The owners, John and Cindy, as well as their staff, go out of their way to make your visit warm and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious! And the easy-going cocktail hour (mainly wine, crackers and a lucious dip) allow us to have easy-going chats with other visitors to the inn. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, and the ambiance is English Country ....I always feel like I'm in the Cotswolds. The inn is well located and a gem. I actually hate writing a good review, for fear that too many other people will read it and crowd me out of my "special" place. My friends and I would prefer to keep it our treasured secret.

Room Tip: All the rooms are interesting; but, if you want a private bath, do ask for one. Some rooms have sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a great two night stay at the Nauset House Inn, our room was everything they said it would be and the innkeepers were a big help. What really surprised me was they gave you 3 or 4 choices for breakfast and didn't just give what they felt like making that day.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have little to add to the other reviewers comments. Ideal position a few minutes walk from Nauset beach, a short drive to Orleans and an entry point to the rail trail, high quality accommodations, a friendly welcome, good service, quiet and comfortable rooms and beds and a very pleasant breafast each morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson Harbor, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was our first visit. From the moment we stepped into the Inn to the moment we left, we were treated as special guests. The Innkeepers and their team of helpers made this Inn experience one with fond memories. Being close to the beach offered a start to the day with a walk on the beach, followed by a great cup of coffee with the morning paper, a scrumptious breakfast, a walk on the lovely grounds and through the conservatory, and then on to our site-seeing and beach walking. We were offered all sorts of ideas about where to go, what to see and which dining establishments would be great to try. Every idea was a terrific one. Our day wound down with a glass of wine (or juice) and nice chat with other guests. Clean, comfortable and cozy. We will be back again next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It's the combination of clean rooms, delicious breakfasts, and friendly innkeepers that keeps us coming back to the Nauset House Inn. We have met wonderful people here every time we go and we enjoy the comfortable, homey ambiance the inn provides. Many of the guests are repeat travelers who return year after year. Jon, Cindy, and Diane really make you feel at home. What could be better? When you consider the included sumptuous full breakfast and afternoon wine and appetizer, the inn is a wonderful value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanzey, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been married for over 50 years and for nearly every one of them we have spent time at Nauset House Inn. The charm and friendliness here is like coming home. Your hosts Jon and Cindy and Diane make you feel like family. Each accommodation is unique. We like that there is no TV or pool, hence not a lot of disturbance. Actually, there is a "pool"-a big one,about a ten minute walk away. Do not miss breakfast! We have met the nicest people at breakfast, and that includes folks from all over the world: authors, artists, musicians, scientists, and more. The wine and cheese in the afternoon is as interesting as breakfast. We almost always stay in the carriage house-our favorite room is Iris. As an extra treat, when you're at the beach, try the onion rings at Liams!

Room Tip: at the height of the season the road can be fairly busy, so a room on the side away from the road is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nauset House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauset House Inn

Address: 143 Beach Road, P.O. Box 774, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nauset House Inn is a place where the gentle amenities of life are still observed... a quiet place removed from the cares of a workaday world... a place where sea and shore, orchard and field all combine to create a perfect setting for tranquil relaxation. Family owned and operated since 1983. Fourteen guest rooms with a complimentary full breakfast served everyday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nauset House Hotel East Orleans
Nauset House Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nauset House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nauset House Inn to your Saves list