We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good wholesome food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broughton Arms

Broughton Arms
The Broughton Arms | Newcastle Road, Balterley, Balterley CW2 5PY, England
01270 820227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Balterley
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“good wholesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife & I first ate at the Broughton Arms when we moved into our home on the near by Wychwood Park housing development five years ago and it was not a pleasant experience, the food and service was first rate but the landlord was a really bad mannered grumpy old so & so and therefore we didn't return until one evening last week when we couldn't get a table at our preferred eating place the Crown at Betley, so with a bit of trepidation on my wife's part we returned, thankfully Mr Misery wasn't about and we had a very enjoyable evening, the service and food was first rate.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good quality pub meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited this pub last Friday and were impressed overall. It was busy and we had the last free table (which wasn't in the best spot). We only had one course - fish and chips and the sea bass - but we enjoyed what we had. Both pieces of fish were cooked very well. The food and the wine was reasonably priced. The pub has a pleasant eating environment (for most of the tables) and the staff are friendly. We would recommend for a pub meal and will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Friendly pub, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We ate here recently, we found it by chance as we were staying at a hotel nearby. We hadn't booked but were given a table straight away. The menu had a wide choice of traditional fare, we both had grilled plaice which was delicious. Having seen other people's desserts I managed to make room for the fruit crumble (with a lot of custard).Enjoyed that too.
The other diners were a mixture of friends and families (no large groups) of varying ages who all seemed to be having a good time. My husband enjoyed the beer (Marstons), overall a good evening. We had had a long day out and wanted a simple meal without travelling a long way from our hotel.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had dinner on a Friday evening with friends. Its the first time for a long time that we'd been here for a meal.It was fairly quiet for a Friday.
Had 3 courses and all food was very tasty,well presented etc and not over priced.I had the home made meat pie and it was very good.
Our friends also expressed their enjoyment as well,all very happy with all provided,service,quality etc.

Would recommend if like us you've not been for a while,or if you've never been then do give it a try you'll not be disappointed - enjoy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“good quality rib-eye steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Family business which has been in existence for many year, wonderful steaks plus their cod + chips dish is reknowned for its quality and quantity, pleasant atmosphere although a little on the "quiet" side partly due to the age of the clientele ? Traditional is a good key word to use with this establishment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broughton Arms also viewed

Wrinehill, Staffordshire
Wrinehill, Staffordshire
 
Rode Heath, Cheshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 

Been to Broughton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broughton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.