We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely pub, good food great beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Den Lane, Wrinehill CW3 9BT, England
+44 1270 820472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Wrinehill
Price range: $14 - $31
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
South Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Homely pub, good food great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were staying at the De Vere Hotel 2 miles from the Crown Inn and decided to it out rather than the very average food and beer served in the hotel.
The Crown was a great choice the pub was warm and friendly and the landlord made us feel very much at home. The ales were in excellent condition and the menu was varied and interesting. The food was of good quality and ample portions, my only criticism was that the service was a bit slow, although to fair the pub was quite busy on a Tuesday evening.
If we are back in the area and staying at the De Vere we will definitely return

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    97
    26
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A NICE EVENING OUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you want a good pub meal and good beer this is the place Ive been going here for years and never had a bad meal standards are always maintained Thank you Crown Good Job!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audlem
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just moved to the area and are eating our way round the local pubs and restaurants. Having first tried another large pub round the corner, The Crown was next on our list. I hadn't read any reviews beforehand so didn't not know what to expect and was almost tempted to revert to that other pub just for familiarity sake. However, we are so glad we didn't, inside we found a very welcoming atmospheric pub with roaring fire at one end. We were there for Sunday lunch, which excelled, there was a generous helping of local beef, served with some perfectly cooked sides. There is plenty of depth on the menu to keep coming back, and looking at what our dining neighbours were having then we will be back. There is a great selection of beer, and a decent wine list. The staff were very friendly and Mark the manager was attentive without being overbearing. To sum up, I'm glad we moved to be in walking distance of The Crown.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe, cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

What can you say, value for money excellent food, staff very attentive, we visited here with friends from Stockport, who were really impressed with the ambiance and the quality of the food, just one small criticism you cannot book a table and have to take pot luck,usually have to wait for a table to become vacant, but inevitably it is worth the wait.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great home cooked pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Freshly cooked high quality pub food, it was worth the wait. Generous portion in a warm, cosy pub. Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Wrinehill, Staffordshire
Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire
 
Madeley, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.