We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream anytime of day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farfar's Danish Ice Cream Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Farfar's Danish Ice Cream Shop
272 Saint George St, Duxbury, MA 02332-3811
781-934-5152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Duxbury
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
boston
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great ice cream anytime of day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very busy place, especially on a hot summer evening but worth the wait in line...love the creaminess of the ice cream and the pistachio is my favorite!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was a chilly evening in May when we stopped here for dessert, possibly not the best time for ice cream, but any time is a good time for it. The portions are large, but even though a medium cone or cup had a couple of scoops, they would not give two flavors unless you ordered a large. That seemed like overkill and a needless expense, so we made do with a single flavor for each of us. The ice cream is very rich and creamy, but my chocolate was not as flavorful as the best I have had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuck in MA
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bring lotsa cash”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Local favorite. Very creamy fare - some friends get stomachaches with this version. Very friendly staff. Overpriced. Meh...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I love the ice cream here. Rich and creamy. I would eat here more often but my waistline doesn't allow me to. I can't wait for summer to indulge in one of their great cones.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Do you like sweet? How about good old fashioned home made ice cream? Most of you reading this probably have never had fresh homemade ice cream. Well here is your chance, so visit farfars.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farfar's Danish Ice Cream Shop also viewed

 

Been to Farfar's Danish Ice Cream Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farfar's Danish Ice Cream Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.