We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the cozy intimate feel of this tavern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milepost Tavern Restaurant

Milepost Tavern Restaurant
581 Tremont St, Duxbury, MA 02332-4939
781-934-6801
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Duxbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Love the cozy intimate feel of this tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It's like going back to the colonial days when you enter the door of the Milepost. High pitched wooden beamed ceilings, small intimate rooms, candles in the windows. Hubby and I sat at the bar for a few drinks and some chowder. The chowder was very good, nice and thick. The bartender was nice, she seemed a bit flaky, but she was friendly to customers. She forgot our crackers but quickly got them when we asked. It was a Saturday night and the bar was packed. They also have tables in the bar area rather close together, so it's a pretty tight fit, but I guess that adds to the coziness. The bathroom had a pinkish/baby blue tile coloring, could use some updating. We've only ever gone to sit at the bar so I can't comment on the meals or the dining room. However, the person next to us had a salad that looked really good. Prices were a bit on the pricey side, but then again, it is Duxbury. The piano player is a nice touch. Overall, it's a charming tavern and we'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location and great food and atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Milepost is very quaint with lots of choices for dishes. Good wine list; and always busy. Closed on Mondays, this lovely establishment has a regular restaurant side, which is a little more elegant as well as a tavern/pub side. Maybe 8-10 seats at the bar, with a few tables, it's the perfect place for a mid-week dinner for two. Always good food!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Milepost is a restaurant where you can expect to have a delicious meal. They are a staple in Duxbury and surrounding area.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is our "go to" restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The best thing on the menu is the escargots!!! Absolutely to die for!!! I really do not like to share when I order these!!! They are delicious, and the garlic bread served with this is scrumptious, too!! warm homey atmosphere, delicious food... a real charm in the neighborhood!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“almost a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Bay basket and fried clams. Yummy! The waitstaff are friendly, the hostess greats you at the door with a smile. The place is well maintained and clean. Never had a bad meal here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milepost Tavern Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Milepost Tavern Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milepost Tavern Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.