We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big surprise in a little place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eighty Ates Bar & Grille

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Eighty Ates Bar & Grille
8 Airport Rd, Dudley, MA 01571-5947
508-949-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 restaurants in Dudley
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Colchester, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Big surprise in a little place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Visiting the local college and asked for a referral for where to have dinner. This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but inside is different. Spacious, but plain interior. Varied menu. Nice wine and beer selections. Excellent specials including a deal on a 3 course meal which some in our party had and weren't disappointed. Food was plentiful, hot, and very tasty. Prices were very reasonable. Service was excellent as well. Our server was bright, informative and right on top of things. Can't wait to go back there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    6
    4
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bistro in a small town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Eclectic menu, with a twist on the standard fare, the food is always good and always consistent. Attentive waitstaff. Seems to be a favorite stop for the Nichols College parents as well as locals. The menu hasn't changed much over the years, though, so after a few visits there's nothing new to try. But what's there is always good. The cedar plank salmon gets 5 stars.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast ! Webster location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The last time I was at this restaurant, I thought it was over priced and the food was really blah! My son convinced me to give it another try for breakfast. It was actually really good, I loved the strawberry pancakes. My husband and son both had omelets that were great. You certainly get enough for your money. The atmosphere was great very upbeat. Our server was nice and polite.

We will go back again for breakfast and maybe even appetizers or dinner.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bar and restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Try the specials - always interesting combinations and delicious. Friendly group. Special attention to the potatoes - smashed, garlic, etc. - always something great!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Changed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a geat restaurant a couple of years or so ago, now I would only give it OK. It's probably a better hang out to have drinks and a couple of appetizers. There is another Eighty Ates Bistro in Webster, MA. The food at this location is very good and they have a fabulous menu for $12.88 or $14.88 (depending what you chose for an entree) Sunday through Wednesday offering appetizers, dinner and dessert. I always have to take home the dessert. Also a trivia night on Wednesday and ladies night thursday with appetizer and drinks specials.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eighty Ates Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Eighty Ates Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eighty Ates Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.