We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Dive Pretty Decent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Twenty Eight Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Twenty Eight Club
498 Main St, Dennis Port, MA 02639
(508) 398-9044
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 39 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Restaurant details
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local Dive Pretty Decent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you are looking for a decent local joint this is it. Service is good and people are friendly. Not much to look at but then again looks are geenerlaly deceiving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An absolute dive.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The place was filthy with a lot of mud and urine on the floor in an extremely tiny women's bathroom which reeked. Opened under sink to see if cleaning products and nothing but a dirt floor....no foundation explaining mud on the floor (light rain outside). On going to woman suposedly in charge to report the condition, was told, "If you don't like it, you can leave." I said, "Really." Turned to my son and said, "Finish your drink because we are leaving." He said it hasn't changed since our visit that night and he remembered that a waitress never came to our table. We had to go to the bar to ask they bring two beers to our table. Of course, did not leave a tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“99 Bottles of beer on the wall 99 bottles of beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

A local hangout for many years. If you are looking for a cold beer or a mixed drink in the octogenarian's version of The Improper then by all means stop in. The place is an icon and hasn't changed in as many years as I have known (20 plus ) It's a dump and we love it. No atmosphere, just a good drink at a cheap price. Bring your hand sanitizer.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

An outstanding dining experience from start to finish. Worth every penny we paid. Our meals were delicious and wine pairing was spot on.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis Port, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Generations of Cape Codders at Your Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The 28 Club is an enigma. There are very few "old style" places like this on Cape Cod were you can pop in after being away for 20 years and end up sitting next to your best friend in high school's son. Jack O'Connor runs the place and it's not much different than it was when his father ran it in the 60s. It's not much to look at and the menu is very limited, but a friendly atmosphere and the quality of conversation has gotten many tourists off to a good start on their vacation. Many people stop at the 28 Club just to say that they have been there. All in all, it's a great slice of traditional Cape Cod.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twenty Eight Club also viewed

Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Twenty Eight Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twenty Eight Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.