We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fried seafood, but noisy, slow and crowded.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Original Seafood

Original Seafood
527 Main St, Dennis Port, MA 02639
(508) 394-1123
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
CT
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great fried seafood, but noisy, slow and crowded.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great whole belly fried clams and fried scallops. Amazing onion rings. But the place is incredibly noisy and slow to serve. Not the place to choose for dinner conversation. Prices are fair, but no bargain.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, CT
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Everything was excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A little no frills restaurant on a non-descript side street in a boring part of town--but the food is terrific. Fried clams are fresh, flavorful, not fishy and not greasy. The haddock sandwich was one of the best I've ever had anywhere in New England and the cole slaw is smooth and creamy and is a great complement to the seafood. Onion rings are lightly battered and tasty. And if you don't like seafood, they make an amazing cheeseburger that is just perfect. This is a great place for a summer lunch, and they have take away too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erving
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great choice for fried seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent, no frills dinner. The fried sole was probably the best i have ever had. I heard no complaints on the calamari either. My husband was a bit disappointed in his clam belly roll as he said it was strips and bellies, not just clams with bellies. I do not eat them so couldn't tell the difference. Each order came with a huge order of onion rings and french fries. Took a big bunch of them home as well!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“best fried clams ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Went here based on reviews read on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. My husband had been craving fried clams. These were perhaps some of the best we have ever eaten...light and not greasy. Cooked so they had just the right texture. Delicious. Looking forward to going back to try other items on the menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Maine
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Good Seafood Without Frills”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From some of the descriptions we'd seen and the recommendations we'd heard, we expected a larger place with a bit more atmosphere, but found the order-at-the-counter with a very short wait for great seafood to be accurate. When we were here during a pre-Memorial Day visit to the Cape, we;d describe the weeknight atmosphere as steady but not crowded. Lots of folks stopping in briefly for to-go orders. It was great to see a menu in a counter-service place that included broiled seafood options as well. But tonight we were both in the mood for deep-fried seafood (as it was meant to be). Our fried scallops and fried full-belly clams both came with generous servings of both French fries and onion rings. We thought the seafood was great, the fries quite good, and the rings just okay. The highlight of our meal was the light, flavorful breading on the seafood, which had obviously been dropped into light, fresh frying oil -- great look and great taste.
The atmosphere here tends more toward utilitarian than fancy, but the emphasis really seems to be where it should be -- on the food !! If we'd had more time in town, we suspect this place could have quickly become one of our "local favorites."

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Seafood also viewed

 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Original Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Original Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.