We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely vintage place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joy House Inc. Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Joy House Inc. Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Joy House Inc. Bed and Breakfast
181 Depot Street, Dennis Port, MA 02639   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Dennis Port B&B and Inns
Metrowest MA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely vintage place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a true vintage setting, and the host Peter can tell you the story behind it. Morning call with the Rachmaninov Piano Concerto #2 in full power was a classic.
For the two rooms upstairs, you need to be physically capable to climb the steep stairs.
The beagles are the sweet spots of our stay. They are lovely and entertaining.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shreveport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at the Joy House for a week of R&R. It was the best "unwinding" vacation I can imagine. Barbara and Peter welcomed me like family with a chat about my interests and connections to all that I wanted to do (and encouragement to unwind) on Cape Cod. They have many little "extras" (snacks, local books and movies, a personally-crafted idea book of local attractions) that make your stay enjoyable. Their hospitality made me think about how I can be more welcoming when I have friends and family stay in my home.

Barbara is a fantastic cook. Instead of my usual mad dash out the door, breakfast became an indulgent experience. Peter does his part with special napkin folds and music selections tailored to your interests.

Because I missed my dog, I had regular access to the house beagles. Luther, newly appointed "Director of Guest Services", appointed himself my companion for a relaxing afternoon of reading in the hammock.

The location in Dennisport is very accessible to beaches, historical areas, and experiences in nature. The Atlantic Ocean is a short walk away. If the main beach is crowded, walking provides access to a city-managed beach that would otherwise require a local's parking permit.

Room Tip: B&B, no swimming pool or fitness center. However, they do have a hot tub and easy access to many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Joy House is truly an escape from reality. I have been there on several occasion and the friendly, joyful and warm in-keepers never disappoint. The Joy House is a great place to stay whether you are with that special someone or with a family. It is extremely clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning is amazing and I am always trying to get new ideas from Barbara and Peter's recipes. It is conveniently located to many attractions; however, it is a great place to just stay and relax. Peter and Barbara are extremely knowledgable and can provide recommendation based upon your likes and interests. If you are in the mood to relax - the flowers, garden, hammock and hot tub in the backyard make it peaceful to sit outside and enjoy the day or night. We LOVED our experience at the Joy House and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with AC, TV, wireless internet, private bath, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bkk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Good place to relax with friend and family . I love to come back again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

we have been traveling to the cape for 10 years and count our stay at the Joy House as one of the best! We were upgraded to the suite at the same cost as the smaller room we requested, the rooms were super clean and super cute! The breakfast was out of this world! The owners Barbara and Peter could not have been kinder. We will for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

This was our first B&B in the US and it was fantastic. Far exceeded our expectations. Clean and comfortable rooms and great cooking, especially the little cakes waiting for us when we returned each evening. Hundreds of books, videos, DVDs to fill those rainy days and evenings. Loved the little tea table. Loads of space for guests including a hot tub. Great restaurant just across the street. If you want a place to stay in Dennisport, look no further. Thank you Peter and Barbara for making us feel most welcome.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Joy House Inc. Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy House Inc. Bed and Breakfast

Address: 181 Depot Street, Dennis Port, MA 02639
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Joy House Inc. Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joy House Inc. Bed And Breakfast Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joy House Inc. Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.