We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cutty Sark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cutty Sark to your Saves list
The Cutty Sark
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   396 Old Wharf Road, Dennis Port, MA 02639   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just What We Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently stayed here for a 2 day, 1 night mini weekend getaway for our anniversary on Cape Cod. The owner, Pat, gave us an upgrade to a room with a king bed for the same price as a double - much appreciated! It was reasonably priced considering the time of year and comparing to similar places in the area.

If you're looking to be on the beach, this isn't the place to go. The beach is a very short walk away down one little street, but it's a very small beach that smells and has seaweed and other assorted things all washed up on the edge of the shore... not exactly inviting. There are a few other similar places to stay within walking distance that we had considered before picking this place - however, they all charge more to "be on the beach!" ... don't be fooled & pay a premium for this tiny little "beach". I'm sure glad we didn't.

With that being said, it's extremely convenient to many beautiful beaches and other attractions on Cape Cod, it provides a central location and worked great for us! There is also a pool here if that's important to you. We didn't use it, but it looked clean and inviting!

No problems with noise from other guests or anything. The room had a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV and an air-conditioner. It seemed very clean. Only complaint is the water pressure in the shower... it was definitely lacking! But all in all, the room was just what we needed. Nothing fancy but who goes to Cape Cod to sit in their room? :) I would go back when in the area.



Other small tip: there is an Irish pub in their book of local places that is in the room... stay away! It's called the "Cape Cod Claddagh Inn & Pub" or something. It's in West Harwich and claims to have live Irish music, etc. Instead it's like you're in someone's basement straight out of the 70's with reggae music blasting. It was disgusting. They must have changed owners in the last few years or something but needless to say, it should be taken out of that book!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    21
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Old Lyme, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a double queen room and enjoyed it very much. The beach was directly across the beach on a short road and there were plenty of upscale restaurents within walking distance of the hotel. There's also a lovely pool which was pristine, however, it was raining and a little too cool for a dip. I definately recommend this quaint little motel for a get-away or longer as it is convenient to all areas of the Cape.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are just a couple steps from your door. Great for Seniors/handicaped!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Room was very clean, painted all white! Ammenities were more that one would expect from a small motel: frig/micro/ coffee pot/ toiletries. Staff was very friendly, considerate, accommodating. Beach is just down short street, a 5 min easy walk. And, is private to residents in the area. Would definitely stay again. Thanks, Pat. Janice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have stayed at different motels on Cape Cod for many years. We decided to stay at the Cutty Sark for the first time after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were happy we did!
When we first arrived, we were greeted by the friendly owner, Pat. We stayed in a spacious first floor room with a king size bed. The room had been renovated and was very clean and pleasant. There was a pool, also in wonderful condition. The beach was a short walk across the street. The rates were very reasonable for a motel so close to the ocean with a pool and an air conditoned room. We have finally found the perfect Cape Cod Motel and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: This motel is only opened seasonally. Pat, the owner, said he opens Memorial Day weekend and closes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's always nice to get away to the Cape after the summer crowds are gone. My family and I stayed at the Cutty Sark for 2 nights in September. We stayed in room 106 - first floor with 2 queen beds. The room was spacious and clean, thought it smelled musty when we first entered. Only other complaint was that the bathroom was very small. Definitely couldn't get two people in there at once! The proximity to the beach was wonderful, just one short block away. The location was also convenient to several restaurants and the local sites. My children enjoyed the pool as well. All in all, the Cutty Sark has a lot to offer for the low price point!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Having been to the Cape quite a bit, we chose the Cutty Sark this time for its pricing & proximity to the beach. We had not stayed there before. We were not disappointed. We had a pretty good-sized room with 2 queen beds, carpeting appeared to be new, bathroom was super clean and our chambermaid, Daria made sure it stayed that way the entire stay. She even lined up our shoes in the room….cute. Although the place was full, it was a relatively quiet and definitely relaxing location.
The pool was always cleaned and with the beach right across the street, we loved it! There were several casual restaurants within a short walk, so we didn’t have to do much driving (route 28 stays pretty crowded on the Cape in the summertime).
Overall we had a superb stay and were very satisfied. We intend to return and highly recommend the Cutty Sark for couples who don’t want to pay $350/night to stay near the beach, but need clean rooms at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed here a couple weekends ago and had a wonderful experience at the Cutty Sark. The owner Pat McGrath was very helpful in providing us advice on where to eat and which beaches to check out close by. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend the Cutty Sark to anyone looking for a nice place to stay close to the beach, and the price of the room was very reasonable for the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cutty Sark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cutty Sark

Address: 396 Old Wharf Road, Dennis Port, MA 02639
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cutty Sark 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Cutty Sark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cutty Sark Hotel Dennis Port
Cutty Sark Dennis Port
The Cutty Sark Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cutty Sark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.