We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best oysters” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Company Raw Bar & Grill

Oyster Company Raw Bar & Grill
202 Depot St, Dennis Port, MA 02639-1703
508-398-4600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 39 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Price range: $8 - $100
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Slingerlands, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Having grown up in Wellfleet I feel like a bit of a traitor saying that these Dennis Quivet oysters are the best. But they are great! And there is a nightly special on them until 6:30. The rest of the menu and drinks are wonderful too. And there is a nice outdoor area- especially if you have kids.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    93
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Italian ice martini my new fave!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Had a nice dinner at the Oyster Company in Dennisport. The special Italian ice martini was the highlight. My new favorite drink. Lobster quesadilla also spot on, but I would go back just for the martini. Wait staff and hostess very nice, pleasant, and it was a busy summer Friday night. A little noisy, but not terrible.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OYSTERS oh YEA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We found this little gem on trip advisor. The oysters were by far the BEST we had on our Cape Cod vacation. Kerry at the bar was fantastic. She took excellent care of us and was knowledgeable in the area and some of its historic background. The Portuguese mussels were excellent also .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Crowded and noisy but great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were eating on the late side (8:30-ish) and were able to be seated without a reservation. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and steered us the right way with our selections. This restaurant had a very creative drink menu-- the one with cilantro was so fresh and summer-y tasting. The oysters to start were very good and fresh as were our entrees (fish and cioppino). We finished our wine with a chocolate dessert and that was a great ending to a good meal. The main reason for not receiving an excellent is that the tables are pretty close together and it was a noisy space-- this detracts somewhat from the good food and dining experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dennis, Mass
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant that lost its way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our third visit to the Oyster Company Raw Bar and Grill. Each time, except for this time in the height of the tourist season, we thoroughly enjoyed the eating experience.

If you love oysters you will love this restaurant. Their oysters from nearby local Dennis oyster farms. Dennis oysters are superb.

The food preparation and service matched the quality of their oysters. But their portions were disappointing. Their $29 scallop dinner consisted of only five scallops. You have to be kidding. This may be acceptable in Washington DC but not on Cape Cod where scalloping is a big industry. We live on Cape Cod and expect a generous portion of scallops for less money and there are plenty of restaurants that do. In the future we will ask how many scallops are served. We also noted the fried oyster platter, although very good was meager with five oysters on a large bed of fried potatoes. The Portuguese Paella and Stuffed Flounder meals were very good. We had one other complaint - the greens in the garden salad were limp and not crisp. The Caesar salads were far better.

The staff at this restaurant were superb and will work hard to make your eating experience an enjoyable one. Just be selective in your orders.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Company Raw Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Oyster Company Raw Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Company Raw Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.