We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Mess” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clancy's

Clancy's
8 Upper County Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639-1120
(508) 394-6661
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 39 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Price range: $20 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Cape Cod
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hot Mess”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've been to Clancy's a number of times over the years and always found it adequate or better. The service was so bad on my last visit that I will not return. Clancy's is always crowded, but that is to be expected. It is a high volume restaurant, but clearly they cannot handle it. I must say the service was not great on visit before the management changed, but this visit was unbearable. I had to ask for silverware & condiments (I swiped my salt & pepper from another table) etc . . . They seated us outside with a lovely view of the river, but strangely the umbrella was down and blocking my view of my companion. I did the logical thing which was raise it. OK, that's when I realized that I had direct sunlight in my face for my entire meal. A professional operation would not seat someone there as the sun goes down. So there is the problem: they are packing in guests in every which way, while at the same time they cannot handle the pace of serving a large number of guests, The food was fine, but we were just annoyed as hell. The kicker about bad service in a restaurant is that you just want to get the hell out of there and, of course, you can;t find anyone to bring you your check.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    92
    42
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed ... overpriced ... mediocre... and they don't care ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Clancy's used to be a destination spot for our family. It had been a while and since we heard rumors of big changes, we decided to revisit Clancy's. Yes we were told there were big changes, and no the beloved menu items would not be coming back. So what's on the menu? Nothing you can't find in every other restaurant that offfers food but doesn't care all that much as in - we're here on Swan River, we have a great view, we have tourists to feed and we don't care so much or maybe we don't know enough to realize we should care. This may work in the summer on the unsuspecting. It doesn't work for us. That said, the choices we settled on - appetizer salad, soup- were ok fare. And we may have given Clancy's another go once the summer crowds thinned out but the price for our visit - a long drive in lots of traffic, mediocre, overpriced food and beverages (4x markup on a glass of wine) topped off with attitude from the establishment that reeked of "unhappy with the changes - well, too bad for you..." will keep us away for good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

for well over ten years coming to the Cape meant a trip to Clancys . last night we did not stay for the meal. the new owners have raised the prices and significantly lowered the choices on the menu. the once lovely dining room appears to ne transforming into a bar setting. we ordered. a once famous stuffie and thought they must have driven to Stop and Shop to get it the quality and time it took to get it was so poor. if you are a former customer of the real Clancys be prepared for disappointment.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Certainly not the Clancy's of old”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

What a disappointment! We have been seasonal residents of the Cape for the past twenty years and Clancy's has always been a reliable choice for great family dining. No more. We stopped in for dinner on Tuesday and while they were busy, it certainly wasn't as busy as we have seen in the past. They have recently changed ownership and the differences were significant - primarily in two respects, the menu and the service. They seem to have significantly reduced the options on the menu, eliminating long time favorites. And for non-seafood lovers, the choices were very limited. But the real problem was the service. Bottom line: a one hour and twenty minute wait for two orders of baked stuff shrimp, two club sandwiches, and one burger! Add to this a disoriented and completely inattentive server, who seemed happiest when we was standing watching the TV in the bar rather than attending to his tables, and it made for a very unpleasant experience. Drinks went without being refilled for a long period of time - and when they were, soda refills were no longer complimentary.

In summary, the food was average, very expensive ($11 for a run of the mill cheeseburger, $11 for a turkey club), and the service awful. The setting is still beautiful on the Swan River -- needless to say we won't be partaking of the view again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Under new management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I wrote a pretty negative review last July after dining at Clancy's for many many years. I heard it was under new management so we decided to give it another try twice just to make sure and our family of five was very happy. The service has definitely improved. There was no wait either time)prime weekend dinner time) so i think many people have been scared away.
Out of our two visits we had lobster rolls which were very good, clam chowder which was thick and rich and cream with lots of potatoes and clams, chicken Kari Anne (always one of our favorites), steak tips, and grilled chicken sandwich..the salads both caesar and garden were fresh..they have a new salad dressing a sweet onion and poppyseed that is absolutely delicious!
i would definitely go back as i think it is on the way back up again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's also viewed

 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Clancy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clancy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.